India China LAC & International Border Discussions

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
Is this news and source any reliable?

World War 3: Pakistan army launch 'unprovoked attack' on India – intense gunfire and shelling on border

India’s Defence Ministry spokesperson, Colonel Devender Anand said: “At about 10.45am today, Pakistan imitated the unprovoked ceasefire violation by firing with small arms and intense shelling with mortars along the LoC in Nowshera sector of Rajouri district.”

Indrajit

What do you mean be ACTUAL ??
Is actual a permanent line subject to shifting?
Who makes it shift? That is the threat.
If it is military tat can shift it ten you have no option but to military that line.
There can not be any arguments on that.

It unmistakenly is a military line subject to change, ingress, occupation and violence. Therefore militarisation of that line can not be avoided.
Right you are. You hit the nail on the head.

Explained: What happened to the Mountain Strike Corps?
Funds had always been a major issue for the raising of the strike corps, even when the initial raising expenditure of about Rs 65,000 crore was not additionally allocated but considered to be a part of the normal budget.

As tensions between India and China remain high on the disputed border following death of at least 20 Indian soldiers, a search for military options is leading to questions about the current status of the mountain strike corps, sanctioned seven years ago but stalled two years ago for lack of funds. With only one of its two divisions raised, it now exists in a truncated shape while being tested for Army’s new integrated battle group (IBG) concept.

“Preliminary role for the truncated mountain strike corps is for an offensive – not limited to the east, but in Ladakh as well – in that sense, it is a dual role. It will definitely come into play if a war breaks out,” a military official told The Indian Express. But others contend that had the full raising gone as per schedule, the mountain strike corps could have been an effective deterrent, raising costs for trans-LAC incursions by China.

Used as testbed for the IBG model devised under the previous Army chief General Bipin Rawat, the Panagarh-headquartered 17 Corps now exists in a different form than was sanctioned in 2013. The new IBG model was tested in a major exercise, Him Vijay, in the eastern theatre last October, to validate the concept of a swift offensive in the high mountains along the China border.

Explained: What happened to the Mountain Strike Corps?
The first division of the mountain strike corps was raised in the eastern sector but the raising of the second division at Pathankot in 2017-18 was never completed. The raising was stopped due to a paucity of funds with the government, along with a rethink within the Army over the limitations in launching a full-fledged strike corps at the current levels of border infrastructure.

Funds had always been a major issue for the raising of the strike corps, even when the initial raising expenditure of about Rs 65,000 crore was not additionally allocated but considered to be a part of the normal budget. This led to the Army dipping into its resources for equipping the newly raised units, which caused an alarming fall in its War Wastage Reserves (WWR). WWR are collections of military material and ammunition with the Army that can sustain a 40-day intense war.

As the then defence minister, the late Manohar Parrikar, explained to journalists, the mountain strike corps was not a financially viable project and those funds could be better utilised to modernise the Army. When the concept of IBG was finalised in 2018, this mountain strike corps became one of the testbeds along with the Pathankot-based 9 Corps.

Under the new concept, 17 Corps is supposed to have three IBGs, each comprising around 4,000 soldiers under a Major General, directly under the operation control of the Corps headquarters. The IBG concept is envisaged to create in the mountain strike corps, an ability to move, deploy and launch limited offensives in the mountains very quickly.

The aim of raising the mountain strike corps in a non-defensive role was to create capabilities to deter China’s aggressive behaviour along the 3,488 km long Sino-India border. This had followed the raising of two new divisions in 2010 to strengthen the deployment in Arunachal Pradesh, along with an armoured, artillery and infantry brigade for other sectors of the LAC.

What do you mean be ACTUAL ??
Is actual a permanent line subject to shifting?
Who makes it shift? That is the threat.
If it is military tat can shift it ten you have no option but to military that line.
There can not be any arguments on that.

CFL is arrived at by an agreement between two sides and is well defined like 1948 CFL between India and Pakistan.
Is India China-LAC is the result of CFL ? and What is that CFL?
Is it a line up to which the Chinese had come or a line where the Chinese withdrew after the war?

India China LAC thus is a complex issue which so far has been based on understanding, control expressed in various forms, traditions, customs as also various agreements.

It unmistakenly is a military line subject to change, ingress, occupation and violence. Therefore militarisation of that line can not be avoided.
Every understanding needs to be converted into a written and binding agreement; else it is open to interpretation.

Anyway there too many moving parts at the moment. The issues are escalating all over the world.

I also feel that Mr Modi should be careful with wording. Other leaders had dedicated speech writers. Mr Modi seems to write his own speeches. But international diplomacy is complex so words are very important.

What is the status of the Indian missile defence systems? As far as I know I remember that the missile defence system was a success. So have we placed the missile defence system along the chinese border. If we have it in place then what is the radius it covers, how many missiles are there to counter the enemy missiles, do we have enough missiles to counter the enemy missiles. The chinese would also think of this scenario. Hence they have a large chunk of their Airforce in the Tibetan plateau. Next question is how many Brahmos missiles do we have? Given the scenario we must have at least 1000 - 2000 Brahmos missiles for both offence and defence. The number might exaggerated but it is a hypothetical number so as to be safe and secure given the might of the enemy like the chinese. Now then the Nepal is also acting weird. They have thier army stationed at the border with India. The chinese are even trying to woo Bangladesh now. How are we going to handle this situation? Pakistan, Nepal and Bangladesh together with China...... Do you have a counter plan to counter these 3 chickens who are getting cocky......

Because the situation has changed now. There isn't a grey area anymore. In the bargain, we have come backwards from our claim lines. We wouldn't be able to patrol as far as we used to. Modi legitimised that today.
Chinese claim up to F-2 has been denied as well. You must add it every time when you make comparisons.

afako

Hindufying India
I should hope so . Certainly economic and diplomatic immediately.
Look up Modis speech. Try to understand the change in status quo. Coming from PM publicly to the world it's massive. The ROE wrt China have been changes in every sphere forever. All Chinese neighbours have taken a note.

Everybody is fixated on facts of incursion and debating that.

Modi has purposefully framed the ambiguous statement as the dectrators, opposition, Chinese lovers and Pakistan will be fixated on whether Modi lied about incursion and they will keep speculating and debating to death.

This is classic strategy deployed heavily by Trump and Modi.

Check Trump's Twitter timeline. You shall see in big caps : MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN. You will see 1L comments on such posts and massive reaction from nationalist haters crowd. This is like throwing a bone to a dog. The dog shall be busy for a long time while the bond thrower will do his job and get lost even before the dog realises.

The OSNIT(rather ASSNIT) crowd and their followers are busy in moaning and questioning the Govt. Let them do.

Meanwhile it's in front of their eyes what is Modi is upto. He is stated publicly. And when Modi announces something big these will be the first ones dashing out unverified facts and information, maps left and right. Their followers will have orgasms and orgasms after that.

Diplomatically now India allys with USA and formally Anti China alliance.
Economic The trade deficit is tagreted to come down. The investments from China have been choked up with scrutiny.
Militarily The Army has been given full impunity to strike. The response has been decentralized to local commanders just like Paki borders.

Pandora

So can any person summarises what modi said ? Did we lost any land or anything ? Lately am not following news.

tsunami

I don't understand why so much crying on his statement...

China have not captured any area which was fully under our control as on 30th April. (Seriously you want him to say every small detail in his speech - Kyu uski or Country ki bhad pitane pe tule ho)

This is how I understand it... Correct me if I'm wrong....

There is...
1. Fully Chinese controlled area.
2. Fully Indian controlled area.
3. Gray area.

China tried to take control of this gray area which created the standoff. Fight also took place on this area only.

fyodor

India's strategy is to keep the conflict 'sub-conventional'. Full scale war is to be avoided. The same strategy is followed by Pakistan. Right or wrong is to be decided by military minds.

You are wrong that Modi is directing this war. The war is planned and executed by military. The GOI chooses an option from options presented by the military.

The cost of war will always play in the minds of planners in democratic countries. This is a deficiency of India's political setup.
How is it different from what I said? You are saying the same thing which I mentioned. There can be 10 scenarios here presented by Armed Forces one of which is to not go to war and just sit tight and the other 9 is to wage war using different tacticts. The political dispensation led by Modi chose this option because its suits it well. It suits it well because this is what he is fed by his sycophants who believe that "salami slicing" or loosing territory slowly is preferable to going into the uncertainty of war.

Ghuma phira ke baat yehi pahunchi naa ki modi has decided to do nothing because it serves his goals of winning elections better by twisting narratives and putting the blame on Nehru.

Nope, ITBP just won't do anymore. This conflict has fundamentally changed the rules on ground and turned the LAC into LOC - a hot zone. Army needs to take over and ITBP should be merged. Policing the Chicom frontier won't cut it.

It might also be a logistical, command, training challenge having 2 parallel armies with same kind of equipment/firepower however under separate ministries, specially since ITBP is under home ministry which is not specialized in this kind of warfare.
After what happened at PP14. Pengang Tso and Nakula The undefined LAC regime that China had crafted as a trap for India with the consent of our Marxist / Communist MEA through five agreements is almost dead.

Our China loving MEA was largely banking on Chinese goodwill and Communist sympathies loving the Chinese Comrades more than those adamant reactionary fascist general of the Indian Army who needed to be taught what the diplomacy was all about.

ITBP is a force and should not be disbanded but our outlook to LAC needs to change. Management of LAC must be handed over to the Army with ITBP under operational command. The present dual force dual tasking and dual command is hazardous to the National security. I do not know why Army brasses do not put their foot down or alternatively get aside from LAC.

Why should General Rawat be quite about it. Management of LAC is an issue of national importance and it is primary task of CDS to sort out military and security issues related to LAC. Instead of getting after pension of veterans he should address real issues. Same is true for Gen Narvane and Four Army commanders. LAC simply is not a policing issue and MEA should not dictate unrealistic terms on its management.

Otherwise ITBP is a fine force minus its officers cadre and Mahila battalions.

What is the status of the Indian missile defence systems? As far as I know I remember that the missile defence system was a success. So have we placed the missile defence system along the chinese border. If we have it in place then what is the radius it covers, how many missiles are there to counter the enemy missiles, do we have enough missiles to counter the enemy missiles. The chinese would also think of this scenario. Hence they have a large chunk of their Airforce in the Tibetan plateau. Next question is how many Brahmos missiles do we have? Given the scenario we must have at least 1000 - 2000 Brahmos missiles for both offence and defence. The number might exaggerated but it is a hypothetical number so as to be safe and secure given the might of the enemy like the chinese. Now then the Nepal is also acting weird. They have thier army stationed at the border with India. The chinese are even trying to woo Bangladesh now. How are we going to handle this situation? Pakistan, Nepal and Bangladesh together with China...... Do you have a counter plan to counter these 3 chickens who are getting cocky......
You are asking a lot of questions and I think you will not get ready answers. First of all it is a developing situation and we do not know for sure where all these actors stand. So give time until fog gets clear.

Does a war with China mean a war with all other neighbors of India? Such voices are getting shriller but I think it is unlikely.

India has a lot of tools to control situation in Nepal. Some barracks in a border town or some increase in patrolling troops will not change the situation as quickly as people think. However if the situation continues to go down a slippery slope, it may become incontrollable at some point in future.

We should not place too much faith in a single weapon system. Many weapons will be used in a war; and wars can be exceptionally bloody. A single soldier with a rifle can be as potent as a Brahmos missile. Never discount soldier in this equation.