India China LAC & International Border Discussions

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Mountain terrain is a terrain for 1:10 ratio.

Why do we keep forgetting that the Pakistani Army even without proper reinforcements and Air support of any kind was able to hold the Indian Army in Kargil which came with heavy artillery and air support plus full reinforcements?

I think the Indian Army is much better placed to tackle China.

Russians are no longer a superpower and they have declining population. Chinese in few decades will have better military infrastructure than Russia in naval department they already have more capabilities than Russia.
India should not be scared of what Russia sells to Pakistan because in the end of the day Pakistani will get Chinese copies anyway.
In long term the only way we can get edge over Chinese and Pakistan is by indigenous platforms.

Russians are no longer a superpower and they have declining population. Chinese in few decades will have better military infrastructure than Russia in naval department they already have more capabilities than Russia.
India should not be scared of what Russia sells to Pakistan because in the end of the day Pakistani will get Chinese copies anyway.
In long term the only way we can get edge over Chinese and Pakistan is by indigenous platforms.
True, and one thing chinese cannot have that russians have is the institutional knowledge of being a true super power. that can come only thru experience & trial and error.

Don't want to derail this thread, but Libya is seeing the biggest activity ever. Rafael's flying over Libya, Turkish massive air campaign on its way. Italians doing ISR.

Most importantly, Russian now deploying more Jets Mig29s recently.
Shit's heavy there.
This is for the best.
When the world is in chaos they won't get to pick sides there.

I personally think This recent indo-china conflict should not be used by dalle and Babus and military to import more useless junks from foreign nation's economy is going down it's time save bucks and develop indigenous capabilities aka atmanirbhar bharat.
India since independence is always in conflicts rather than using these things to build infrastructure we kept importing and importing till the time it's have become serous military flaw.

THAAD is a good system but cost a ton and we already have developed our own anti anti-ballistic missiles system and these system are very expensive we can for now deploy PAD only in Mumbai and delhi.

India has made a mistake of losing a friend in Russia. Russia may not be a superpower but it is still a major power; and has considerable influence at least in Asia.

True, and one thing chinese cannot have that russians have is the institutional knowledge of being a true super power. that can come only thru experience & trial and error.
When Soviet Union was superpower it only had USA as peer enemy.

China has India USA Japan as enemies . 3 of the largest 5 economies on planet.
Others in top 10 barring Russia aren't sympathetic to china either and most are treaty bound to USA. China may never have power that Soviet had during cold war.

Perhaps that's why nato never disbanded. They were waiting for the next enemy and they have got one.

India has made a mistake of losing a friend in Russia. Russia may not be a superpower but it is still a major power; and has considerable influence at least in Asia.
We Are talking about worst case scenario.
It's in russian interest to maintain relationship with india.
And i don't think Russia itself want super dependency on Chinese.
And let's see how things go forward everyone knows that russian diplomacy have class of it's own.

Jailor

Why do we keep forgetting that the Pakistani Army even without proper reinforcements and Air support of any kind was able to hold the Indian Army in Kargil which came with heavy artillery and air support plus full reinforcements?
Because we limited the conflict to kashmir and refused to cross the LOC which stopped us from counter occupation of Pakistani territory at other places.
In chinese case they are building up all over Indo-china border and they will not limit the conflict to laddakh and won't hesitate in invading from other places.
Basically Pakis knew our psyche and we don't fully know chinese psyche.

ninja hattori

How did we loose Russia??
We never lost Russia, and will never lose one.

Russia is going through tough economic sanctions and its us who are helping them after china.

They know only we can balance china in terms of other infra of oil exploration which they have in abundant for them.

and Russia needs us now more than anytime in history

Read news that full AMCA prototype will be build by 2025 ?

Is this realistic or just pipe dream .
Serpentine air ducts are ready.
Uttam AESA will be ready by then.
Canopy Material and yellow tint Coating is Ready
Engine will be ordered
Designed is probably in the final stage.
Paint is ready.
Composite materials are ready. (A Professor of my mine was in it as well)
DSI intake are planned for ORCA so they are probably ready for AMCA.

Don't expect the first prototype to be full on stelath 5+ gen, we will need 2 to 5 prototypes to perfect it.

I think we are seeing a US policy since Bush II of polarization (with us or against us). India increasingly leaned towards USA/West which I think is natural too. But India lost traditional ally USSR/Russia in the process. The power balance in Asia is upset which may not get restored without some upheaval.

Either India grows stronger and protects its turf; or India makes concessions to neighbours. We will see soon which India emerges from these turbulent times.