India China LAC & International Border Discussions

SRao

This is where my thoughts of inviting 50 or so US troops to do "acclimatization drills/training" with Indian troops at the borders will work. No US prez, Dems or Reps, will go against their Defense dept and oppose this arrangement. We dont need much from the US- just an impression that they are hands-in-glove with us is enough to give the chinese a pause.

But, as some people think, if it is question of our "sovereignty", our "izzat", and what will others think of us- this prevents rational analysis of any such thoughts.

This is where my thoughts of inviting 50 or so US troops to do "acclimatization drills/training" with Indian troops at the borders will work. No US prez, Dems or Reps, will go against their Defense dept and oppose this arrangement. We dont need much from the US- just an impression that they are hands-in-glove with us is enough to give the chinese a pause.

But, as some people think, if it is question of our "sovereignty", our "izzat", and what will others think of us- this prevents rational analysis of any such thoughts.
Foreign troops on the ground will: 1. make India look weak/panicked, 2. motivate the Chinese to call our bluff (test whether the foreign troops will fire at the PLA).

So we don't need anyone here. On the other hand, if there's any Pakistani participation in this standoff (even at the eastern front facing PoK, it ends up making China look weak/panicked, and emboldens India to call China's bluff.

So neither side will involve third-parties.

It were remote regions of Slovakia and Cz.

Not at risk of sounding insensitive, I have seen circumstances under which US troops operated when they were placed in Afghanistan early 2000.

Their residence was looking like a big slum with troops handwashing clothes in muddy water while make shift toilet was throwing foul smell upto their rooms.

Chinese have pampered their PLA and it looks like made up of little princes. It may backfire when hostilities break out and they couldn't stand living conditions.
I am talking of pitiable conditions even after 50 years stay there. They are not airlifted troops like in Afghanistan. Though US established one of the best COBs / FOBs / Depot bases and Logistics hubs in Afghanistan with lots of Indians and Nepalese working there with Army contractors.

CI/ CT operations are mobile operations including CI/CT Grid and it is difficult to create permanent assets. Have you seen the RR habitat in Kashmir? It is not good / not supposed to be good either and COB existed even in between an apple orchard.

HawkisRight

Here we go again :frusty:

Perhaps you are not aware that Foreign Armies including the Americans and the Russians have been conducting joint training with the Indian Army in Ladakh for a long time. Exposure to high-altitude operations is in great demand. Reciprocally Indian Army participates in joint training in Alaska and Siberia.... :pound:

cereal killer

Yar get out of this colonial mindset. Even Porkies who were part of CENTO did not have this kind if thinking. Were any US troops patrolling Indo-Pak border prior to 1971? Indian Army is more than enough to handle any kind of mischief these chinks are planning. US is already supporting us diplomatically & will give us arms as well if required. India aims to become a global power & we are not a tiny nation like S Korea who needs Uncle Sam to save its a**

SRao

India will not entertain such thoughts, because of what others will think etc. izzat ka sawaal, and all that.

China has no such qualms. It will, and perhaps is already using Pak to keep us tied down, in this and every other incident. Heck, I think they are also egging Nepal to cause trouble simultaneously now. Wouldnt be surprised if BDesh and SL also come out with statements asking India to tone down, and cooperate with china!

India will not entertain such thoughts, because of what others will think etc. izzat ka sawaal, and all that.
What good does 100 US soldiers do are they superhumans or do we lack in numbers?
As for showing assistance goes better hurry up on those M777 and clear way for emergency procurement and mount pressure in SCS, that's way better way of showing support than sending 100 odd soldiers.
Hell better give us docking rights in Diego Garcia which anyway belongs to us.

China has no such qualms. It will, and perhaps is already using Pak to keep us tied down, in this and every other incident.
Pakistan is China's bitch are we Americas bitch going by your logic.

Can't leave gora mai baap behind can we?

cereal killer

China has no such qualms. It will, and perhaps is already using Pak to keep us tied down, in this and every other incident. Heck, I think they are also egging Nepal to cause trouble simultaneously now. Wouldnt be surprised if BDesh and SL also come out with statements asking India to tone down, and cooperate with china!
This is called foreign policy & pro active diplomacy. This is no secret China wants to tie us down in South Asia only aka string of pearls. That is why our policy needs to change & we should drop "one China" stand first thing. But you are clearly saying we should drop our sovereignty like scared kittens against 10 foot tall Chinese giants. Respect is earned by showing strength not weakness.

Even Israel doesn't do that, and it's an accepted satellite state of the USA and under far overwhelming threat than India.

No one fights wars for other states and bringing in USA just shows the Chinese that they can bully us and we'll go running to papa.

SRao

Yar get out of this colonial mindset. Even Porkies who were part of CENTO did not have this kind if thinking. Were any US troops patrolling Indo-Pak border prior to 1971? Indian Army is more than enough to handle any kind of mischief these chinks are planning. US is already supporting us diplomatically & will give us arms as well if required. India aims to become a global power & we are not a tiny nation like S Korea who needs Uncle Sam to save its a**
Haan yar, chinki to hamaare bayen haath ka khel hai!

And whole of Europe must be suffering from colonial mindset for they want US troops on the ground just in case Russia gobble them up- these poor and weak Europeans! SKorea/Japan and every other pro-west country must be suffering from this colonial mindset. Heck, recently, Philipines' Duertete, after being so free and hailing China as a true friend, has come down with this colonial mindset again.

Lagta hai yeh colonial mindset ki bimari sabko hai. Gadhe hain sab.

ataru09

Jeez dude. Cut it out with your white man fetish. Why the fuck this need to run to daddy at the slightest hint of escalation? 100 troops ain't going to change diddly squat. Do you think China would actually be tricked into thinking us troops are going to fight them? Like someone said that would be easiest bluff to call. This is not USAs fight. They will run away at the first shot.

WARREN SS

You do not need troop carrying capacity over Pangong Tso ... you need capacity to hold the area around it. Capacity is not limited to the troops alone but political will.
Sir Iam talking About Steep bridge Btw gora Post And finger 4.No AFV can pass throw it But Chinese can Take AFV there as wee have seen in video this make us vulnerable against there ambush in future

SRao

Even Israel doesn't do that, and it's an accepted satellite state of the USA and under far overwhelming threat than India.

No one fights wars for other states and bringing in USA just shows the Chinese that they can bully us and we'll go running to papa.
Heck, I suggested 50 US troops doing "training/drills" with Indian troops, and here you are saying that I am suggesting they fight our war! Somebody else is saying we "should not drop our sovereignty like scared kittens". Another one is saying we can easily beat the chinese, no sweat. Infact, some one else said we should learn history lessons and remember how a few British East India company traders colonized India, and the same will happen if 50-odd US troops are present with hundreds of Indian troops at the border!

Oh well. So much for out-of-the-box thinking.

And whole of Europe must be suffering from colonial mindset for they want US troops on the ground just in case Russia gobble them up- these poor and weak Europeans! SKorea/Japan and every other pro-west country must be suffering from this colonial mindset. Heck, recently, Philipines' Duertete, after being so free and hailing China as a true friend, has come down with this colonial mindset again.
The case of Europe.
Europe is mulling over Joint European force that will consit of 1. 5 million troopsf for a while now.
They can't do it because of NATO and disagreement between States and recent events such as Brexit and possible Itexit.
They don't want to rely on US anymore.

The cae of Small countries like Japan, South Korea and Philippines.

All these countries are at least 10 times smaller than China combined. If they didn't had the US defence Umbrella China would have rolled over them by now.

The case of India.

We are a nation as big as China, 10 times bigger than Russia, 4 times bigger than USA.
We have the Largest standings army in the world, if we still need US boot to match China then it's honestly a matter of shame.

SRao

Perhaps you are not aware that Foreign Armies including the Americans and the Russians have been conducting joint training with the Indian Army in Ladakh for a long time. Exposure to high-altitude operations is in great demand. Reciprocally Indian Army participates in joint training in Alaska and Siberia.... :pound:
I am very aware of this, and not only in Ladakh, but they train all over India/US. I guess the hyper-ventilating janta on this forum see nothing wrong in this! So, if we are shrewd, we will suggest to make it a permanent joint "training"- call it what you want, at such border outposts. Why bring in emotional suggestions about sovereignty, or that we want them to fight our wars, or any other zillion such objections?

As long as china gets needled enough, and scared enough to not do mischief, knowing US troops are patrolling along side Indians, that is good enough.

In addition to Bhopal, jungles of Assam, Kerala and what not, we can add Pangsong Tso/ Galwan borders as another "training" locale.

HawkisRight

Heck, I suggested 50 US troops doing "training/drills" with Indian troops, and here you are saying that I am suggesting they fight our war! Somebody else is saying we "should not drop our sovereignty like scared kittens". Another one is saying we can easily beat the chinese, no sweat. Infact, some one else said we should learn history lessons and remember how a few British East India company traders colonized India, and the same will happen if 50-odd US troops are present with hundreds of Indian troops at the border!

Oh well. So much for out-of-the-box thinking.
Us india already does exercises together

HawkisRight

I am very aware of this, and not only in Ladakh, but they train all over India/US. I guess the hyper-ventilating janta on this forum see nothing wrong in this! So, if we are shrewd, we will suggest to make it a permanent joint "training"- call it what you want, at such border outposts. Why bring in emotional suggestions about sovereignty, or that we want them to fight our wars, or any other zillion such objections?

As long as china gets needled enough, and scared enough to not do mischief, knowing US troops are patrolling along side Indians, that is good enough.

In addition to Bhopal, jungles of Assam, Kerala and what not, we can add Pangsong Tso/ Galwan borders as another "training" locale.
Us troops patrolling Indo china border :frusty:
This shit is different level

What good does 100 US soldiers do are they superhumans or do we lack in numbers?
As for showing assistance goes better hurry up on those M777 and clear way for emergency procurement and mount pressure in SCS, that's way better way of showing support than sending 100 odd soldiers.
Hell better give us docking rights in Diego Garcia which anyway belongs to us.

Pakistan is China's bitch are we Americas bitch going by your logic.

Can't leave gora mai baap behind can we?
Hey..100 US SF guys inside Tibet can do a lot of things you see....
Do not rule out anything... Chinese will be damn scared ... The British were so scared of a single Russian monk in Lhasa in eighteen and nineteen centuries.. as they thought he was the pillar of Russian great game in Tibet...