India China LAC & International Border Discussions

Lancer

Bana
Can we get more 2nd hand Mirage 2000s? did we get those Mirage 2000-5s units from UAE or some arab country which was offering them for sale?
I was once a big proponent of buying up lightly used 2nd hand Mirages & MiG-29's from friendly countries and upgrading them with the rest of our fleets, to quickly build up numbers, but there seems to be a general convention that IAF doesn't fly 2nd hand fighters.

These MiG's from Russia are only coming b/c they were unused airframes sitting around.

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
Can we get more 2nd hand Mirage 2000s? did we get those Mirage 2000-5s units from UAE or some arab country which was offering them for sale?
But laser is a light beam and it can be reflected as well like radar waves. 🤔

we have mirage 2000-H in our inventory. there is no second hand in warplanes.. we are not dealing motorcycles here.. however we can leash new fighter from the manufacturer if we want.

BeEverVectorMan

I've already posted my observations of how MKI allowed the Aamraam to bleed its kinematic performances. Because you simply can't beat a super-maneuverable fighter in KE performance, it will use its agility and maneuverability to always keep the enemy loose the D1max advantage.

Update: F16 can also do that, every fighter has its own advantages and disadvantages. What matters are better training and knowing your machine and arsenal inside out.

"You keep nudging and you allow enemy fighter to loose its precious arsenals and then you play your aces". :daru:

This shows, how well trained our Fighter pilots are.

Rest assured, PLAF who thinks they are fighting because they got better missiles, jets in numbers will never know when they get hit and from where.

1. Its our playing ground, we know the terrain much better than them.
  2. Our fighter pilots have more flying hours clocked then PLAAF fighter pilots and Pakis Pilots combined.
  3. Our fighter pilots are well trained in BVR combat. (scarcity kya kya nahi kerwati)
  4. The only advantage for them is, they have numbers. Presently there J10 can only walk a mile with less payload.
Likewise this was for those who wants external help for INDIA
And I bet the day China ask porki to help them that will be the doom day for chini itself as we all know what paki did to usa and also the capabilities of chini to not take India on one on one fight will be in full display denting it like world wide web :cruisin2:

Blue Water Navy

Zeroed
@BeEverVectorMan If Chinkis involve Pakis. Then there is a possibility that other countries might join. And the way CCP is going under Xi's leadership I am positive that Chinks can involve Pakis.

I was once a big proponent of buying up lightly used 2nd hand Mirages & MiG-29's from friendly countries and upgrading them with the rest of our fleets, to quickly build up numbers, but there seems to be a general convention that IAF doesn't fly 2nd hand fighters.

These MiG's from Russia are only coming b/c they were unused airframes sitting around.
I think India should at least get Mirage 2000s from France.

I would celebrate if India could get 100-150 F-16 from USA even if used. (With weapons).

Asking @Bhadra @Mikesingh @Hellfire @hammer head as they are all either serving or veterans, how do we counter tactically the PLA build up in finger 4-5? Is there anyway to get Chinese to leave in a non-confrontational manner?
The questions that need to be answered first:

1. How and why did we allow the PLA to establish themselves on 'no-mans land' that lies between the perception lines of India and China? Meaning the area between Fingers 4 and 8 respectively where they have built a road and where many temporary structures have come up?
2. Why no ITBP on high ground/ridge line of Finger 4 (the Chinese claim line or what they claim as the LAC) and which dominates some of this 'no man's land'? The ITBP is deployed to the West on low ground near the lake which has zero tactical advantage. Probably due to logistic/administrative problems?

The road constructed by the Chinese from Sirijap 1 to Finger 4 is being used by our patrols too up to Finger 8. (They use vehicles, we go on foot!) But new temp constructions by the Chinese have come up in this 'no man's land' which we are objecting to. How did we allow the road to be constructed? In 1999, when the Army unit from the area was moved to Kargil, the Chinese got to work and constructed the road from Sirijap 2 up to Finger 4 through 'no man's land' which they now claim as theirs.

Proactive action based on timely intel inputs is not our forte. Fire fighting is! It's like shutting the stable after the horse has bolted.

There are only two ways to get the PLA's few temporary sheds dismantled (which are mostly used as rest huts for their patrols but now apparently semi permanent locations for a platoon/company sized force along the road). Either by talks or by force meaning a skirmish with arms which inevitably would lead to a conflagration. So the way out at present is talks. This may take the better part of 6 to 8 months at least, seeing the obduracy and inflexibility of the PLA/CCP. But asking them to vacate up to Finger 8 (Our perception of the LAC or claim line) is most likely out of the question at this late stage.

But we must keep in mind that NO part of Indian territory here is with the Chinese and never was. It's the battle of the claim lines or perception lines. A zero sum game!

Lancer

Bana

The questions that need to be answered first:

1. How and why did we allow the PLA to establish themselves on 'no-mans land' that lies between the perception lines of India and China? Meaning the area between Fingers 4 and 8 respectively where they have built a road and where many temporary structures have come up?
2. Why no ITBP on high ground/ridge line of Finger 4 (the Chinese claim line or what they claim as the LAC) and which dominates some of this 'no man's land'? The ITBP is deployed to the West on low ground near the lake which has zero tactical advantage. Probably due to logistic/administrative problems?

The road constructed by the Chinese from Sirijap 1 to Finger 4 is being used by our patrols too up to Finger 8. (They use vehicles, we go on foot!) But new temp constructions by the Chinese have come up in this 'no man's land' which we are objecting to. How did we allow the road to be constructed? In 1999, when the Army unit from the area was moved to Kargil, the Chinese got to work and constructed the road from Sirijap 2 up to Finger 4 through 'no man's land' which they now claim as theirs.

Proactive action based on timely intel inputs is not our forte. Fire fighting is! It's like shutting the stable after the horse has bolted.

There are only two ways to get the PLA's few temporary sheds dismantled (which are mostly used as rest huts for their patrols but now apparently semi permanent locations for a platoon/company sized force along the road). Either by talks or by force meaning a skirmish with arms which inevitably would lead to a conflagration. So the way out at present is talks. This may take the better part of 6 to 8 months at least, seeing the obduracy and inflexibility of the PLA/CCP. But asking them to vacate up to Finger 8 (Our perception of the LAC or claim line) is most likely out of the question at this late stage.

But we must keep in mind that NO part of Indian territory here is with the Chinese and never was. It's the battle of the claim lines or perception lines. A zero sum game!
Our boys are excellent in 'kabza' industry Sir. Can't say the same for the India Habitat Centre MEA IFS Babus.

ITBP can't take on Chinese Army. It is an exercise in empire building by IAS Officers.

@Bhadra Saab can you help educate your fellow defence professional?