India China LAC & International Border Discussions

Sanglamorre

I am not so sure about that. I heard that early in her career she was physically beaten up and threatened with murder many times by commies. Someone correct me if I am wrong...

But things can change ...
Mamata would go to protests, tear her own clothes and cry molestation by police. Actual stuff.

Anyway, she's wizened now so I don't think it matters to her much.

Ultramarine

Why are the planes unarmed?
Familiarisation sorties. Leh has a detachment of Mig-29's and pilots stay there for a period after which planes and pilots from the mother unit are rotated.

The first few sorties are to make one aware of the terrain and the associated challenges, in which planes typically go unarmed. In a place like Leh with tensions simmering, there will always be a couple of armed fighters on ORP while the others patrol nearby, duly armed.

He has ended up legitimising their camps in the grey area. While his statement might be factually correct on basis of territory we hold, they're inside our claim line. Instead of saying well evict them with blood and fire, he said they're not inside our claimed area.

It's a cruel joke what happened to us.
What he said could also be for domestic consumption and talks on the ground might be taking a different turn altogether.

Blue Water Navy

Zeroed
I am not so sure about that. I heard that early in her career she was physically beaten up and threatened with murder many times by commies. Someone correct me if I am wrong...

But things can change ...
In the 90's a dumb and deaf girl got raped. So, she marched with the girl, into the West Bengal Govt's main building (Writers) and did a dharna.

At that time our CM was the Jyoti Basu. He ordered some lady police officers to deal with it. You know Mammta how stubborn she can be, while dealing with her any lady officer pulled her hair and dragged her out of Writers. That day she took an oath to come to that building as CM. Now that dream was fulfilled as she became CM in 2011. Everybody thought that she is fighting for equality and for the common people. But in the coming years it became clear that she only loves the chair of CM and the power that comes with it.

I can write here the whole night by giving references to you. But the final conclusion what you will get is just stated above. :doh: :doh:

I see forum members can't help but be either extremely optimistic or outright pessimists.

Right now, I'm not sure what to say. On one hand Modi says "there's no Chinese on our territory" indirectly legitimizing Aksai Chin as China's province but also giving a free pass to PLA, should it be camping anywhere from finger 4-8.

I think every Modi supporter should remember that our claim is well beyond Galwan, so getting relaxed and happy over 'compromise' on the status quo which was already disadvantageous and unfair to us is just pure ignorance.
On the other hand, it's still too soon but there should be pressure on the government to push out the Chinese, not just from Galwan, but Aksai Chin in it's entirety.

I just don't get how complacent some members are acting for the fact that we were just LITERALLY invaded.

Yes, it wasn't forceful and was through treachery but it was an invasion. Please beat it into your head.

There's only one response for an invasion and we all know it, so please, by all means, be sensible but not complacent.
That was some spectacular capitulation by GoI and to say it is the official GoI stand, I only have to say 'fuck me'. What I feared last night has happened. Strange the opposition is quiet.

We will be ceding more territory to create an official IB with China, Nepal and god knows who else to settle old border disputes to buy ourselves some peace till the next dispute crops up.

right wing

Like I said, political differences aside, our political parties are together and they will never make anti-India statements during serious meetings.

I'm not talking about CPIM.
Don't be that optimistic with her.
But then again unlike Pakistanis,Chinese do not form part of her vote bank.

LETHALFORCE

If India is having difficulty defending Siachen, can Pakistan defend it?

What is the point of building positions on a glacier?

I get your point but perhaps you do not get mine.
It is a strategic location

vineet23

He has ended up legitimising their camps in the grey area. While his statement might be factually correct on basis of territory we hold, they're inside our claim line. Instead of saying well evict them with blood and fire, he said they're not inside our claimed area.

It's a cruel joke what happened to us.
we are surmising that India will gift land. one should wait till 1-3 months. Modi will not divulge what IA is going to do. do you hear any statement from china that they are attacking in India?