India China LAC & International Border Discussions

So Modi has got a consensus from most parties (barring Congress and CPIM) for defending the country (read as military action). As many posters here point out that BJP just like other parties will heave a sigh of relief if war does not happen. Nobody wants to rush to a war.

However I have no confidence in Chinese at this point. China's intentions do not look right. So a war is still likely despite India not preferring it.

Russia cannot be expected to provide a special help to India and jeopardize its interests with China. However only Russian weapon systems are such that can be built by Indian industry easily (means spares can be made locally). So it is up to India how it wants to go about it.

I can see our troops losing moral after Modi legitimized Chinese positions. His followers won't agree but that's ok. For me the nation comes first.
LoL, Indian soilders work on military objectives assigned to them by their superiors not political statements.

Thundering13th

Does any statement from GoI or MEA look like preparation for a strike to you?

Saying Chinese didn't occupy is saying they haven't done anything so no need to intervene.
Are we sure China has occupied PP14? The area where china had the tents and the entire episode unfolded was due to the same reason you just mentioned. Darbuk dbo road under en observation. But we do not have confirmed reports that enemy has direct observation? Let's wait for few more days like I said. Modi has to strike else he is done. He knows. If not we dont have to see him after 2024. I just want some tactical level OP against the chinese.

Seriously? Ok, I guess we have also captured Leh and we can go home happy. Who cares about some fingers...all hail.....
Do you have some source data satellite or even a single picture of india dominating area till finger - 8 in past? Do we had hard shelter there in past?
Do you know how our soldiers used to claim our area they used to walk to finger 7-8 and used to eat chocolates there and throw some wrappers to mark it as indian land Chinese used to do the same they used come till finger - 1 or 2 and used to mark it as Chinese land by throwing some bottles of alcohol and all.
Hail hail we had such a powerful control on territory in past.

DG7867

So let's do a status check about Chinese objectives (short term & long term) and how far they've been able to achieve it in this episode....

1. Get control over Shyok-Galwan junction............................... FAILED
2. Stop bridge construction happening at this location....... FAILED
3. Convince India to not join G7+Ind+Jpn+Skor+Taiwan.... Will have to wait & watch
4. Make sure QUAD is dead............ (?) wait & watch,probably faild
4. Occupy areas btween F1-F4 at Pangong Tso................ FAILED
5. Make sure trade between India & China isnt disturbed.. Most likely failed, should wait
6. Ensure their G219 highway is safe from our artillery....... FAILED, Demchok is just 20km from highway

Still thinking of what else could be their objectives.. will post more.

EarthCitizen

Good, positive & reassuring message.

He is not suppose to give strategic details or technical points on status quo.

The meeting was to show unity and seek support, not give ultimatum to China.

Ignore emotionally labile rants, the army is at work to enforce status quo and more.
But what about this? Did we lose f4 to f8 fingers and Galvan valley too?

akhil mehta

All political parties expressed firm support for Indian leadership against China, except CPIM and Congress.
I don't want to politicize this issue if someone feel my above comment on All party meeting is wrong or political so iam sorry i know this is not a political forum and
My last point on this issue (nonpolitical)
Yes i know Sonia Gandhi ji asked the right question in meeting. Her points are valid.
But my problem is her demand for sensitive information at this point of time is not good
There are many enemy within india who are on the payroll of Chinese siting in this "All Party Meeting" and Media you know who they are .
This is not a time to question/ doubt Government or Army of there intention
there will be time for this when conflict ends And when Committee hearing or Parliamentary hearing happens on this issue then they can ask any questions whatever they want.
Thats there duty as a opposition party.
This is my thought it may bias but this is what i thought

Sanglamorre

Do you have some source data satellite or even a single picture of india dominating area till finger - 8 in past? Do we had hard shelter there in past?
Do you know how our soldiers used to claim our area they used to walk to finger 7-8 and used to eat chocolates there and throw some wrappers to mark it as indian land Chinese used to do the same they used come till finger - 1 or 2 and used to mark it as Chinese land by throwing some bottles of alcohol and all.
This is true. My own relative was posted in those areas. They'd use cans and wrappers as "markers". Short of pissing on posts to mark territory. There wasn't any actual boundary marks there. Everyone would patrol willy nilly and throw garbage

Indrajit

Well, then no problem now, no need to walk that distance, we can stay put. You should watch Coll.Dinny’s interview as to how far the Chinese actually patrolled. Finger 1 indeed....

Sanglamorre

After Modi's statement army is going to dismantle newly made bridge. LOL. Bachpaney ki bhi had hotI hai.
He has ended up legitimising their camps in the grey area. While his statement might be factually correct on basis of territory we hold, they're inside our claim line. Instead of saying well evict them with blood and fire, he said they're not inside our claimed area.

It's a cruel joke what happened to us.

The meltdown is real here. Don't think mods will be able to manage. Mods I don't envy your job.

Modi answered all the questions posed to him by media. Although those who have spent time in the forum, will find them inadequate, as evident. But he has limitations.

As with FM Jaishankar was economical with facts in his tweet to RG. Same is the case here.

ataru09

Who told you that?? She only loves her Chair and power. She doesn't hate commies.

If BJP comes to power next year. She will make ghatbandhan with the commies to overthrow BJP.
I am not so sure about that. I heard that early in her career she was physically beaten up and threatened with murder many times by commies. Someone correct me if I am wrong...

But things can change ...

This is true. My own relative was posted in those areas. They'd use cans and wrappers as "markers". Short of pissing on posts to mark territory. There wasn't any actual boundary marks there. Everyone would patrol willy nilly and throw garbage
So why everyone is suddenly having a melt down? And some congii c*cks are claiming that india is totally on back foot thanks to infrastructure development till galwan valley and new roads we are able to make hard presence till finger 4 if Chinese did this thing post 2014 we would have not been able to secure area even till finger 4 because of lack of roads and infrastructure.
Thank god because of our rapid development we are now capable to match Chinese on ground.

New Delhi, May 28 (IANS) Even as the Central government has never admitted it, China had occupied 640 sq km of Indian territory in Eastern Ladakh during the second term of the UPA regime under Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.