India China LAC & International Border Discussions

No, unless the Americans are willing to part with F-35 for half its per-unit cost, it will spark a political shit-storm even if there's zero corruption.

On the other hand, it will be our quickest path to a 5th gen fighter. Even if we had 4 squadrons of it, Chi-Pak-alis will have to redraw their war-plans from scratch.
I think India should buy one squadron of F35 if not more. Bigger question is if it is available.

Concard

Saras is a project which will further our aerospace industry. To dump it is stupid. Remember South Korea started by bringing out trainers and now light fighter jet this is how you proceed we are doing the same.

Regarding F 16/21 Yes it's not needed but in emergency only USA can provide aircrafts in huge number that's a fact too. But then strings senate blah blah.

The one jet that can give us clear advantage is F 35 but if we go for it that will effectively cut ties with Russian defence to a great extent. I don't think Indian politics is ready to turn that big right now that's why we went for Rafale in the first place.
I am not saying totally dump it. I am saying keep all the knowledge gathered while executing this project in cold storage until we can become totally self reliant in building fighter jet production. Then we can dust of the files related to SARAS and start building heavier transport aircraft like C-17. Our Scientists and Engineers too will be confident to take on the challenge after the success of making our country self reliant in fighter jet production.

ARVION

last time price in public domain for spice-2000 was roughly 3 crores per unit price, govt will pay 6000 crores?

That article was totally wrong according to the public domain available information it costs around 2 crores ten times the coat of LJDAM

LETHALFORCE

But is it necessary though? Our Phalcon AWACS also doesn't rotate. It is unnecessary anyway when T/R modules in AESA can steer the beam electronically. What are the capabilities of this AWACS? I can barely get the basic details of this platform. It doesn't even have wikipedia page.
Our AWAC gives 360 degrees none of the chinese AWAC do.

kaaleshwaar

Makes me wonder where we are getting this much money from, spending so much on military purchases as well as government schemes costing tens of thousands of crores

Chandragupt Maurya

Makes me wonder where we are getting this much money from, spending so much on military purchases as well as government schemes costing tens of thousands of crores
Maybe From increased oil prices Mr Modi might have increased the oil prices to fulfill the requirements of millitary in a short span of time

No chance till the S-400 deal is on. The US is more interested in pushing the 3 4th gen teens to India. Why would the US make an exception for India when they have even kicked a NATO ally from the program because they bought the S-400.
Anything is possible in times of desperation.

Turkey will be kicked out of NATO anytime. Turkey is going its own way.

India is taking Pakistan's place in US ally universe.

kaaleshwaar

Maybe From increased oil prices Mr Modi might have increased the oil prices to fulfill the requirements of millitary in a short span of time
Would that be enough to fulfill our needs?, can anyone calculate the increase in income from rise of fuel prices

Abhijeet Dey

Two US senators introduce legislations to strengthen India-US defence ties

Senator Cornyn, in another amendment to NDAA, asked the Defence Secretary to provide India a briefing on the fifth-generation fighter jets programme of the US within 180 days of the passage of the legislation.
F-35 will take time!!! :yawn:

Moving an amendment to the National Defence Authorisation Act (NDAA) 2021, Senator Mark Warner and Senator John Cornyn asked for assessment from Defence Secretary Mark Esper whether the Israel-US Binational Industrial Research and Development Foundation and Fund provides a model for US-India private sector collaboration on defence and critical technologies.

AmitG

INDIA TV reports in:
at the negotiations Chinese are demanding that INDIA at pangong lake should fall back to finger 2 while they will fall back to finger 6. they are very stubborn and adamant about this. (typical 2 step forward and 1 step back policy).

IA commanders have also been very clear they should restore status quo as per april 2.

i don't think this negotiations are heading nowhere. waste of time.
Its just chai biscoot time till while our leadership ponders on whether to bite the bullet and throw them out or whether to throw in the towel and go give XiXi another huggie because after all their GDP is 5 times ours :doh: :cowboy:

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
Its just chai biscoot time till while our leadership ponders on whether to bite the bullet and throw them out or whether to throw in the towel and go give XiXi another huggie because after all their GDP is 5 times ours :doh: :cowboy:

considering the level of deployments and preparing, i dont think we are in mood to throw towel or give hugs. but the former might be true and under consideration. i know that nothing is going to come out of this meeting