India-China Border conflict

AlphaLegis

Here's the report, nothing new from what i could tell from a quick skim through.
Quoting from the article,
"A significant military standoff near Tawang in 1986-87 prompted India to make Yangtse a stronghold. In the India-Pakistan 1999 war in Kargil, Chinese troops occupied tactical positions in Yangtse before withdrawing. "
In addition to Pangong Tso & Yangtse, did China make any other moves during Kargil conflict?

AlphaLegis

"A significant military standoff near Tawang in 1986-87 prompted India to make Yangtse a stronghold. In the India-Pakistan 1999 war in Kargil, Chinese troops occupied tactical positions in Yangtse before withdrawing. "
In addition to Pangong Tso & Yangtse, did China make any other moves during Kargil conflict?

"Let's look at three instances, which leave us with the impression that 'Dragon' allegedly helped China.

1. China increased patrolling activities in eastern Ladakh Demchok. On June 6, 1999, around 70 PLA patrol parties reached opposite Demchok. This was when India started Kargil operations.

2. In the last week of June 1999, Beijing increased action in Ladakh’s Trig Heights, where the Chinese started building a natural surface track in a move aimed at staking claim over disputed territory.

3. China started making a track at Pangong Tso on a war footing. This construction continued till the southern bank of Pangong Lake to Spanggur (Ladakh). At the same time, after the construction, the Chinese were able to coordinate both boat and foot patrol in the area"

Moroboshi

Auh auh
Electronics that required in consumer products which u wrote are mostly imported and assembled here be it fridge TV or anything else
Just chech the data of our electronics import from China
Coming slv those are not being mass produced for commercial purpose they are built in limited nos for national requirements so not sufficient for ecosystem
Yeah so we can import the electronics and make drones by assembling the electronics, some motors, a camera, and a receiver, can't we? I am sure we can make drones out of literally early 90s commercial chips. But we still don't do it. Ask yourself why and expect better rather than making up excuses that would make sarkari babus proud.

And like someone mentioned, does Iran have any electronics companies of note? Yet they are the ones churning out 100s of them while we are moaning how we don't have elECtrOnicS inDustrIEs.

kharabela

Yeah so we can import the electronics and make drones by assembling the electronics, some motors, a camera, and a receiver, can't we? I am sure we can make drones out of literally early 90s commercial chips. But we still don't do it. Ask yourself why and expect better rather than making up excuses that would make sarkari babus proud.

And like someone mentioned, does Iran have any electronics companies of note? Yet they are the ones churning out 100s of them while we are moaning how we don't have elECtrOnicS inDustrIEs.
Are you talking about small surveillance drones ? Many of those are offered from different companies . Idea forge switch UAV has been inducted . There are also israeli heron drone with army for surveillance . Those are being upgraded to carry weapon .

Moroboshi

Look their entire defense research is based on drones and missile systems they have no other work so good amount of concentration is given to it
So what?

Coming to parts look there was a report that some Canadian rc engine was found in Iranian drones if they are using western equipments
So what?

Import what we don't make and assemble them. But we still don't. Why?

jai jaganath

So what?

So what?

Import what we don't make and assemble them. But we still don't. Why?

Who said we can't
I didn't mean that
The problem is army if forced to buy from Indian companion then they will ask 60%-70% indigenized content but if u allow them to import then they will Farley do it
Problem is they are understanding the importance of drone warfare today not earlier
If they had known the importance then they would have imported but now they can't as govt and mod is reluctant

Gandaberunda

They made their way till finger 4 in pangyong tso lake and built black top road during 1999 kargil

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Here's the report, nothing new from what i could tell from a quick skim through.
See, this is the problem I have with this closet commie lesbian Nathan Ruser. He secretly has a Chinese body part inserted somewhere in him which makes him unable to think objectively and draw erroneous conclusions almost always favoring China somehow, while completely neglecting the other side.

Basically, China has maintained its summer-time campaign strength, with no pullback this winter. We have done something similar in Ladakh as well, but we have pulled back 40% of the forces to habitable zones, from where they can be deployed within ~2 days max.

3.25 Lakh Crores extra Expenditure in this year by GOI

So 10 percent of this , Must be also for Additional Defence Expenditure

The Shrike

Chinese Attempt to Grab the Hill Feature North of Tawang

Chinese have not given up on North Tawang hillside feature. It is a vantage point for them to look past even the SELA area and keep an eye on Indian military and civil traffic up to LAC. They got beaten on December 9th and a year back in the fall of 2021, they tried the same but failed. This time on December 9th they came in strength to steam roller their way to the hill and establish an observation post. Vigilant Indian army units knew it well their intentions and planned it well. A greater Indian strength in the vicinity frustrated the Chinese design. They got beaten up and forced back. Some speculation is that the beating they received was severe enough for some Chinese soldiers to die. But the Chinese prestige will not allow them to admit that.

Now, the area where the fist fight occurred is covered with snow hence no new Chinese attempt is possible. Come spring and summer, they would search for an alternative route and attempt it again. Otherwise, their beating on December 9th will hurt a lot of their prestige. Moreover the rampant Covid in China is denying a lot of their ambitions. They lost some prestige when they said they will invade Taiwan three months back but then backed out when US warned them about the invasion. Unable to succeed in Taiwan, they have turned their attention to Himalayas. These flare ups are Chinese ways to exert influence, but it will be met with will of iron and wrist of steel.