India-China Border conflict

Covfefe

Why is China using Indian media for its propaganda? That too through its official handles?
I think its using our position on Russia to create a view in the west that India is not an ally that they can use against China.
While in India, they give nothing to us on the LAC front, but want us to look beyond for some mythical India-China glory times later on.

We should tone down on this anti-west rhetoric. To ensure that we pursue our interests, its important to ensure that our neutral stance be not made to look like an anti-west stance.
Exactly, because people hate West's needling so much here that they've become free coolie of Putin for no goddamn reason. Keep on wailing iN 1971 wHeN US sEnT itS sHiPs tO aTtAcK iNdIa, bAdE bHaIya Russia cAmE to heLp - buggers are still stuck in some imaginary world while Russians are selling attack helis to Pakis and top of the line items to Chongs. Very sentimental country we are

Chongs are obviously trying to create a smokescreen back home and abroad that an "anti imperialist alliance" is being stitched up and India is on their side. Also aimed at off-putting clueless, opinionated and loud trash in the West regarding India. Why is our media so stupid 😌

Cheran

Exactly, because people hate West's needling so much here that they've become free coolie of Putin for no goddamn reason. Keep on wailing iN 1971 wHeN US sEnT itS sHiPs tO aTtAcK iNdIa, bAdE bHaIya Russia cAmE to heLp - buggers are still stuck in some imaginary world while Russians are selling attack helis to Pakis and top of the line items to Chongs. Very sentimental country we are

Chongs are obviously trying to create a smokescreen back home and abroad that an "anti imperialist alliance" is being stitched up and India is on their side. Also aimed at off-putting clueless, opinionated and loud trash in the West regarding India. Why is our media so stupid 😌
Our media is free to discuss what it wants. It is not being stupid. Showing a mirror to massa is not stupidity. It's not the MEA that is broadcasting but a private channel. If the west or it's think thanks sees a private channel in India broadcasting it's opinion as "anti west" it is free to do so.

West media has been on an anti India drive, Pakistan & or China has being using these tidbits to defame India.

No need for any channel in India to hold back on "anti-Pak" or "anti- CCP" or "anti-West" or anti-RUS tidbits just so that some country or the other will use it for propaganda.

All can play the game.

Covfefe

Our media is free to discuss what it wants. It is not being stupid. Showing a mirror to massa is not stupidity. It's not the MEA that is broadcasting but a private channel. If the west or it's think thanks sees a private channel in India broadcasting it's opinion as "anti west" it is free to do so.

West media has been on an anti India drive, Pakistan & or China has being using these tidbits to defame India.

No need for any channel in India to hold back on "anti-Pak" or "anti- CCP" or "anti-West" tidbits just so that some country or the other will use it for propaganda.

All can play the game.
The general narrative in this supposedly "neutral" war has become overwhelmingly anti West in India.
But yeah, it is what it is

Why is China using Indian media for its propaganda? That too through its official handles?
I think its using our position on Russia to create a view in the west that India is not an ally that they can use against China.
While in India, they give nothing to us on the LAC front, but want us to look beyond for some mythical India-China glory times later on.

We should tone down on this anti-west rhetoric. To ensure that we pursue our interests, its important to ensure that our neutral stance be not made to look like an anti-west stance.
there is no "we" here.
arnab is a news media company owner. his company, his editorial line, his choice.
and more importantly murican media is not bothered about our feelings and sentiments, why should segments of Indian news media give a damn about murican feelings and sentiments.

there is no "we" here.
arnab is a news media company owner. his company, his editorial line, his choice.
and more importantly murican media is not bothered about our feelings and sentiments, why should segments of Indian news media give a damn about murican feelings and sentiments.
Its the narrative build that I was talking about which impacts all of us.
Remember the rape capital of the world that went uncountered and then we saw professors who refused students because they considered India such.

As our govt stand, we are taking a position that is in India's interests. Our neutral position should not be made to look like anti-west. That way we partially lose one side of neutrality.
A better position would be to say that we have our compultions that we can neither take anti-Russia nor a anti-West position.

Some countries understand, but some don't (for their own reasons)...

Editorial positions should also be in national interest IMHO.

Edit:-
There is a reason as to why Chinese official sources are using our media to forward their narrative!

Remember the rape capital of the world that went uncountered and then we saw professors who refused students because they considered India such.

As our govt stand, we are taking a position that is in India's interests. Our neutral position should not be made to look like anti-west. That way we partially lose one side of neutrality.
A better position would be to say that we have our compultions that we can neither take anti-Russia nor a anti-West position.

when did Indian media's editorial positions ever be in national interest, it's quite a rare phenomenon.
my point is folks shouldn't get jittery about these things, let it play out.

Vinash

Why?

When NYT, WAPO attack India, Westerners love to say that it's "private" media and US Gov can't control it etc

Why don't Americans see Republic attacking USA in the same lens? i.e Indian Private media can't be controlled by Indian Gov?

Shashank Nayak

While there is lot of hate being directed at Pravin Sawney...what happened to all those on this forum who routinely abused MEA Jaishankar during Galwan?
This is a free country.. Atleast Partially free, as per Goras, anyway.. So, everyone suffers abuse here.. Abuse of Jaishankar pales in comparison to the abuse and meltdown heaped on Modi until 4 am, that Mods had to lock the thread, to finally grab some sleep,.. :bplease:

mokoman

Edit:-
There is a reason as to why Chinese official sources are using our media to forward their narrative!
i doubt this will translate into some kind of anti-india stance from the french goverment .

we dont have much trade with the Russians anyway . even the discounted oil we purchased from Russia so far only comes to about what we use in a single day .

french on the other hand were selling the Russians tech to use for drones with out much worry . i doubt even the sanctions on Russia will last long .

Why?

When NYT, WAPO attack India, Westerners love to say that it's "private" media and US Gov can't control it etc

Why don't Americans see Republic attacking USA in the same lens? i.e Indian Private media can't be controlled by Indian Gov?
Of course, we Indians believe in freedom of academia, speech and press. Dissent is important for democracy.

Photon

East Turkistan Government in Exile (ETGE) (@ETExileGov) Tweeted:
India doesn’t share a border with China, it shares a border with Chinese Occupied East Turkistan and Tibet. India will never be able to have peace on its northern borders so long as China continues its occupation of East Turkistan and Tibet.

@DrSJaishankar
@MEAIndia
@PMOIndia

Why?

Because whether we like it or not, we are in love with the west. Just look at what we watch, read and migrate to given an opportunity.
Most of us IT folk are employed by western companies, and even the Indian ones are dependent of the western business.
Thankfully the other trades are more balanced out.

So, if India is perceived as more supportive of Russia and China, we will not like that either.
Statements like this by former Russian president do have an impact on a section of western mind space.

All I am saying is that what we say as being neutral in the current Russia-Ukraine war must be presented an projected as such. The opinion builders are trying to show it as our support to Russia which is not our stance.

Vinash

Because whether we like it or not, we are in love with the west. Just look at what we watch, read and migrate to given an opportunity.
Most of us IT folk are employed by western companies, and even the Indian ones are dependent of the western business.
Thankfully the other trades are more balanced out.

So, if India is perceived as more supportive of Russia and China, we will not like that either.
Statements like this by former Russian president do have an impact on a section of western mind space.

All I am saying is that what we say as being neutral in the current Russia-Ukraine war must be presented an projected as such. The opinion builders are trying to show it as our support to Russia which is not our stance.
Doesn't matter.

NYT, WAPO and other western media started this bias against India and until they stop it, India has no obligation to appease USA or the West.

Only SLAVES would be fine with NYT, WAPO coverage about India while demanding Indian networks like Republic to be nice to USA.