ADA Tejas Mark-II/Medium Weight Fighter

Ar.gaurav28

Flying cost is part of opex not capex. My entire post is about capex not opex . So you have misunderstood entire post.
yes I understood that but what I’m trying to make you aware about is with more platform being inducted there will also be a increase in upkeep which will also have a strain on overall defence budget!
DB= A+B with increase in A there will be an increase in B!
As there is that old proverb
“Hathi kareedna aasan hai but palna mushkil...”
Most of capex burden remain fighter jets , awacs tankers , drones are much cheaper in comparison.
please tell me how much the predator & heron drones costed India??
This year armed forces capex grew 18 %.
If you just take 10 % capex growth per year for iaf than it will double in just 6 year from 6 billion ( effective with extra budgetary spend) to 12 billion usd and then will grow further from there on.
Well I hope that what you are wishing comes true!
As more and more things indigenously built and bought they will be much cheaper and we will be able to buy more for less. For example Astra mk1 costs half as much as comparable foreign missile. So you could buy double the number with same amount of money.
This thing I agree Indian made will be cheap and actually matter in war situation where i can produce as many & as fast as we need not dependent on any other country.
well that leads back to the main discussion...either there will be 110 mmrca fighter or mk2 and as I said early...
Thus,safe approach will still be 38 squadrons with mmrca or 42 squadrons with mk2 !!
less money, no hype, every sect content & we have the deterrence the bigger reason we won’t invest too much, as we always are defensive not offensive!

yes I understood that but what I’m trying to make you aware about is with more platform being inducted there will also be a increase in upkeep which will also have a strain on overall defence budget!
DB= A+B with increase in A there will be an increase in B!
As there is that old proverb
“Hathi kareedna aasan hai but palna mushkil...”

please tell me how much the predator & heron drones costed India??

Well I hope that what you are wishing comes true!

This thing I agree Indian made will be cheap and actually matter in war situation where i can produce as many & as fast as we need not dependent on any other country.
well that leads back to the main discussion...either there will be 110 mmrca fighter or mk2 and as I said early...
Your point regarding upkeep is mute since opex will also keep growing with economy.

When procurement plans are made both capex and opex over entire lifetime are taken into consideration.

That's why su30mki production is being stopped after 12 more to replace crashed aircrafts because it's opex is high and that's why emphasis is on Rafale and MWF which will have much lower capex.

Heron cost us 40 million each but numbers are much lower than fighte jets so doesn't really affect overall budget . Same with predator only 30 are planned.

What they cost in capex they save in opex since no pilot is involved . Also they take surveillance regular patrol load away from fighter jets effectively reducing need for more jets.

Drones in huge numbers will only be inducted when indian drones will be ready .( Tapas is almost there).
And they will be much much cheaper.

Finally the proof lies in pudding. India will purchase more Rafales not less than 100 may be upto 150 as far as I am informed.

MWF numbers will go over 200 . At the least 170.

Thats the minimum bar iaf has till 2035.

Ar.gaurav28

Finally the proof lies in pudding. India will purchase more Rafales not less than 100 may be upto 150 as far as I am informed.

MWF numbers will go over 200 . At the least 170.

Thats the minimum bar iaf has till 2035.
You say more than 48 squadrons by 2035, I say if they could get to 42 by that time would be an achievement let’s see what the future holds!!

MK2 ME DSI KYON NAHI HAI???
इसलिए नहीं है क्योंकि फिर नए डिज़ाइन के साथ समय बर्बाद होता, इसलिए पुराना डिज़ाइन ही पकड़ के चला जा रहा है ताकि यह प्रोजेक्ट जल्दी खतम हो।

Can someone knowledgeable please tell us in detail how IAS controls military procurement in this country? I am looking for a very analytical answer. Think of military procurement in India as a flowchart, and point out in that chart where IAS sits on each piece of the puzzle and to what degree he can influence that piece.
See , IAS frames the policy for military procurement, basically in a secretarial department of the defense ministry concerned with procurement of weapons there are directorates too.
On average 6 to 7 directorates , so directorates are the ones which are responsible for execution of any project , they are headed by specialist s but the oversight of a generalist IAS is always there .
The ias who may be a secretary to the government is responsible to advise the defense minister , the concerned secretary in turn gets feedback from the any of directorates and the permanent office
Basically the directorate feeds information to permanent office which in turn provides information to the secretary who in turn advises the Minister
It's very rare that army officers talk to the ministers in this regard.
It can be asserted that , ias proposes any procurement to the minister after he gets such a request from the executive branch of the defence ministry.
The directorate physically completes the action meanwhile the secretary approve everything.

What if key is lost , really ,how you defeated enemy af ?

We stole keys and spare ones too .

Until the locksmith arrived our boys were bombing them
Ya'll Nibbiars Aacha hai naa, rahul baba rafale samajh kar parking se tapane ka kosis kiye to?. Good security.

Confused Indian's.

Dark Sorrow

Though I am not a fan of IAS because in civil administration the bureaucracy is the reason for India's slow growth as pointed out by many thinkers including former President Pranab Mukherjee.

But in the matter of defense, this is a pure myth or long-standing lie. would anyone agree to believe that these IAS hold more power than a four-star general?? could anyone even imagine that CDS Rawat's request denied by an IAS babu?? These generals phone contains contact numbers right from the President to PM to DM. A babu who can be dismissed on MLAs MPs request will dare to oppose these mighty Generals? Can someone point out a deal which derailed by a Babu? None.

Usually, the IAS role comes in the final phase of a deal for Approval, arranging money, signing a deal. We hear approval of a deal on daily basis even MMRCA 2 is still going on but Military demands often exceed the prescribed budget for that year so they don't get approval from the finance ministry. Few deals have geopolitics implications like IAF always ready to buy American jets but GOI believes the USA is not a reliable partner due to their blackmailing habit.
Dude you are way overestimating power of these generals. Indian military is purposely kept under civilian control or these so-called generals would have sat on government's head and abused their power like our beloved neighbor. Ever wondered why their were no military Coup d'état in India, this was becuase military was kept under tight civilian control.

IAS hold more power than a four-star general because they control flow of money and without money nothing can be achieved. Military officer only control operational and technical aspect.

Don't give any individual in any organization too much importance or power, this is one of the fundamental policy of democracy. PM Modi is not Class 4 Government Servant that these generals would call and make him dance on their wimps.

To purchase anything you have to go through various committees, one man be it even CDS can't decide anything by himself. Only exceptions are emergencies like Kargil, etc.

It is a little irrelevant question but what kind of launcher does Tejas have? Gas type,Rail type or Tube type.
No idea what you're talking about.. I probably wouldn't know the answer to this.

vishnugupt

Dude you are way overestimating power of these generals. Indian military is purposely kept under civilian control or these so-called generals would have sat on government's head and abused their power like our beloved neighbor. Ever wondered why their were no military Coup d'état in India, this was becuase military was kept under tight civilian control.

IAS hold more power than a four-star general because they control flow of money and without money nothing can be achieved. Military officer only control operational and technical aspect.

Don't give any individual in any organization too much importance or power, this is one of the fundamental policy of democracy. PM Modi is not Class 4 Government Servant that these generals would call and make him dance on their wimps.

To purchase anything you have to go through various committees, one man be it even CDS can't decide anything by himself. Only exceptions are emergencies like Kargil, etc.
So you mean unless the Military allowed to coup and CDS makes Modi dance we will keep saying IAS holds more power than Generals. This is the exact problem. People don't believe in rules and regulations they just want an absolute display of power.

General is an active part of DAC, DPC, and Military advisor while IAS has zero opinion on decision making except for few necessary inputs and formally signing a deal. Could you please tell me where IAS had a decision-making role in the Rafale deal?

Indian Army completed 5 years of work just in a year at Laddakh despite your claim IAS control money flow. then how is it possible? but it becomes possible Because General is just a call away to F#ck any irritant babu.