I don't think Mk2 has any budget problem or otherwise, though I think India is open to Co-produce this jet with friendly countries.Wouldn't be advisable to partner with another country to co-produce the Mk.2 if there are budget problems?
Which country will shoulder the risk of a 4++ gen medium weight platform coming into service later this decade when Europeans (Rafale, Eurofighter, Gripen), Americans (F-16, F-18), Russians (Mig-35) and even Chinese (J-10, FC-1) now have proven/in-service offerings? If they want it they will buy from this bouquet- like Bangladesh.partner with another country
Though I am not a fan of IAS because in civil administration the bureaucracy is the reason for India's slow growth as pointed out by many thinkers including former President Pranab Mukherjee.Can someone knowledgeable please tell us in detail how IAS controls military procurement in this country? I am looking for a very analytical answer. Think of military procurement in India as a flowchart, and point out in that chart where IAS sits on each piece of the puzzle and to what degree he can influence that piece.
Iaf capex is already at 6 billion USD per year and growing every year. From 2025 -2035 iaf capex will be about 10 billion USD per year on average which is 100 billion dollars easily till 2035. ( These are conservative estimate).Where's the money?
In any case this 40 squadrons size is a mirage (pun intended) the IAF is chasing. Even 6 sqns of Tejas where each fighter is 1.5-2x capable (multi-role, deadlier weaponry, more range with IFR, more loiter time with OBOGS) than the Migs it replaces- then you have inducted 9-12 sqns at previous capability. Why are we doing a one for one replacement comparison?
IMO it's either the Mk2 or MRFA- not both, because money. So while the IAF may want the more capable/mature/proven Rafale, secretly hoping ADA/HAL deliver the goods with an ASQR compliant desi Medium Multirole Combat Aircraft (MWF = DMMRCA) IAF wanted since the 2000s.
As for meeting real and present threats. India, China & Pak are nuclear- so no giant aircraft armadas, reminiscent of scenes from world wars, may take on each other. Any action will be similar to one-off bombing/skirmish like Feb 19 incidents. Even if you have only limited aircraft with a decisive edge over the enemy- you will win the day.
Not everything has to be paid at once . Amca funding is only delayed by few months due to corona situation.Bro let’s play with just no.
My Assumption. Yours Assumption
su30mki- 272 272
tejas - 123 123
MMRCA- 36 (F4)*. 110
mk2 - 170. 170
amca - 120. 120
rafale - 36. 36
———————————————————
total - 721 + 36*. 831
not even counting more su30 & mig29 being procured!
roughly taking 18 fighters per squadron that be 40.
and in media there is a talk about 2 more squadrons of rafale f4 standard
thus, making the magical figure of 42 possible.
please don’t say we will go for 48 squadrons as 42 is an old estimate!(though i wish it was possible)
&
one more thing as rightly said by @MonaLazy !
think about it, the govt delaying 15000cr/$1 billion funding for their most anticipated fighter AMCA
From where will they be arranging 15-20billion??
with that same amount Indian govt. can complete both their mk2 & AMCA a total of 300 fighters!!
End of the day it all comes down to money...
Mk2 is rather cheap . Total program cost could only be around 15-16 billion USD over next 13-14 years for 200 jets.Wouldn't be advisable to partner with another country to co-produce the Mk.2 if there are budget problems?
The problem remains the order numbers. 16 fighters per year is the number that is arrived at most likely keeping in mind the most optimum number per year when HAL has about 83 fighters to deliver. The current assembly line can produce 8 fighters per year and is being scaled up to go to 16 when the Mk1A assembly starts.The country set out to build a fast jet design and production capability late in the 20th century, decades ago. It is the 2020's now and there are various projects underway.
I find this idea of declining to expand production capacity above 16 aircraft a year, well, plain dumb. Mk2 cannot start being assembled until the couple of buildings used to create an Indian military fast jet industry are available because they are being used for Mk1A production? Come on, now! Let's just imagine that the unthinkable happens and Mk1A production is behind schedule. What happens then? Mk2 is delayed even before production is started, so some very costly foreign fighters are bought to make up for the shortfall in Mk2 deliveries (which possibly cannibalises the number of Mk2's to be produced). I hazard that the extra cost of doing that far outweighs the 'savings' made by trying to run production sequentially through just two FAL's.
I would love to see a little more common sense financial commitment to getting the Indian fighter jet industry off the ground! Having the capacity - if all goes well - to produce one squadron's worth of aircraft a year is not enough.
Who told you that there's gonna be a 1:1 model (what does that mean anyway?) by end of 2021.Aero India is an event where all the babus in black coat come to entice the younger defense enthusiast. Meanwhile the old and experienced enthusiast know the drill. Some are excited just based on scaled model, numbers and graphics in pdf documents thats where HAL has improved. In the background, hal has just begun the tenders so forget that we'll get 1st 1:1 model by end of 2021.
Remember MK2 was conceptualized a decade ago when I was in college and then people used to coin figures like 250 LCA will be mfged by 2025, 200 MK2s will come by 2030,etc. Simply putting HAL/ADA stays the same only they hired new PR guys who knows how to keep the excitement level high on forums. On ground things are not moving according to the set deadlines.
The issue here isn't so much about the budget to develop the type than about timelines and the IAF's rather complex requirements that muddy the waters. The Tejas Mk2 will be developed and flight tested, but if the IAF views it as being a threat to their beloved MRFA files (since they're only files as of now) then they will fight it tooth and nail.Wouldn't be advisable to partner with another country to co-produce the Mk.2 if there are budget problems?
he never said it the way it is spread in the news watch original interveiwIs this why IAF chief said the procurement of MK-2 depends on AMCA ?
last time i checked it was 39000cr/$5.3billion in which they aren’t just supposed to buy fighters but other weapons systems,drones,parts for current operational fleet.Not everything has to be paid at once . Amca funding is only delayed by few months due to corona situation.
Let's say we purchase 72 more rafales for a total of 108. Then those 72 Rafale will be delivered in 3+4 == 7 years if orders for all 72 are placed today.
But we no order placing might itself take 2 years so 9 years at the very least.
Cost for another 36 will be under 6 billion as bases are ready and india specific changes already done and paid for.
For 36 more bases will need to build so 1 billion more may be required .
Putting total cost at 13 billion USD . Inflation might make it 14 billion USD by the time of last payment.
14 billion USD in 9-10 years== 1400 million usd per year to be paid. Iaf capex is already 6 billion per year and will grow to 10 billion per year in second half of this decade. 1400 million (1.4billion) out of which is easily manageble .
ISRO is working on a lot of tech, we can if possible upsize our Ghatak UCAV to an unmanned bomber.The new hypersonic drones and hypersonic vehicles being procured is what the IAF should be honing on in the next three decades, remember we are now looking at a Space force brain stormed and is quickly forming among the personnel for a future Space Force in defence. The future is fast upgrades and future carving technology.
Yes and I want a dedicated India Space Force to stop the new age jihadis who are loaded these days. As you know, civilians can easily go to a space port in orbit, built by them for personal reasons. Which means a defence force for space has to be urgently formed like the United States.ISRO is working on a lot of tech, we can if possible upsize our Ghatak UCAV to an unmanned bomber.
I first want a dedicated Indian Marine Corps. on the lines of USMC as the 4th branch of the Indian Armed Forces.Yes and I want a dedicated India Space Force to stop the new age jihadis who are loaded these days. As even civilians can easily go to a space port in orbit, built by them for personal reasons. Which means a defence force for space has to be urgently formed like the United States.
Wait for new test of HSTDVThe new hypersonic drones and hypersonic vehicles being procured is what the IAF should be honing on in the next three decades. Remember, we are now looking at a Space force brain stormed and quickly forming at and among the intra-defence personnel for a future Space Force in defence for India. The future is fast upgrades and future carving technology.
Flying cost is part of opex not capex. My entire post is about capex not opex . So you have misunderstood entire post.last time i checked it was 39000cr/$5.3billion in which they aren’t just supposed to buy fighters but other weapons systems,drones,parts for current operational fleet.
I hope you do know per hour fight cost so as the fleet grows bigger it will also put a strain on the defence budget!
About 9years in payments bro...its Dassault we are talking about not HAL they wouldn’t take that long to deliver thus payments will be cleared in 5years & yeah you have to pay in advance!
&
about procurement fund reaching 10billion, not gonna happen until we clear $6trillion in gdp or we are at war! China is 5times our economy but spends 3times ours we are already at a stretch...
in upper comment you mentioned about spending $100billion over 10years
which doesn’t include different types of drones, trainer aircraft, the hal’s cat warrior,etc the list goes on !!
Indian population isn’t nationalist at all like China or Russia, if the government even just say about spending this much money 2024 game over for the govt!
people are still protesting for new farm laws even without reading them once!
Thus,safe approach will still be 38 squadrons with mmrca or 42 squadrons with mk2 !!
less money, no hype, every sect content & we have the deterrence the bigger reason we won’t invest too much, as we always are defensive not offensive!
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
ADA Tejas Mark-II/Medium Weight Fighter | Knowledge Repository | 6 | ||
AERO INDIA 2021 | Science and Technology | 308 | ||
ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions | Indian Air Force | 17457 | ||
P | ADA DRDO and HAL Delays a threat to National Security | Internal Security | 20 |