Skirmishs at LOC, LAC & International Border

SELVAM1

In retaliatory attack, Indian troop guns down Pakistani soldier in J&K’s Jhangar

In a retaliatory attack to the cross border firing that claimed the lives of four soldier, Indian troops on Sunday gunned down a Pakistani soldier along the Line of Control in Jhangar sector in Jammu and Kashmir, Army sources said. The incident occurred at 1100 am when a Pakistan army sniper was seen taking a position and ‘neutralised’.A day after four Indian soldiers, including a Major, were killed in a ceasefire violation from across the Line of Control in Keri sector of Rajouri district, Pakistani troops resorted to unprovoked firing on forward Indian positions in Shahpur area of J&K’s Poonch district.
Pointing out that the attack by Pakistani troops came around 12 noon, sources said they resorted to firing small arms, automatics and mortars. The Indian troops retaliated and the exchange of fire was going on till reports last came in the evening, sources said. “Firing and shelling exchanges started at 1.30 pm, and were continuing,” the official added.

Meanwhile, ANI reported that gunshots were heard in the militant hotbed of south Kashmir’s Shopian district. The sound of firearms were heard from Arem Mohallah Watoo village and the Army and police have launched a joint cordon and search operation.
On Sunday, a tenuous calm prevailed along the LoC in Rajouri district where the four Indian soldiers – Major Moharkar Prafulla Ambadas, Lance Naik Gurmail Singh, Lance Naik Kuldeep Singh and Sepoy Pargat Singh – were killed on Saturday.

Major Ambadas (32) belonged to Maharashtra’s Bhandara district and is survived by his wife Avoli Moharkar. Lance Naik Gurmail Singh (34) hailed from Amritsar and is survived by his wife Kuljit Kaur and a daughter, while Lance Naik Kuldeep Singh, 30, belonged to Bhatinda, Punjab, and he is survived by his wife Jaspreet Kaur and two children. Sepoy Singh (30) was from Karnal and is survived by his wife Ramanpreet Kaur and a son.
Northern Army Commander Lt General D Anbu and other officials paid homage to Major Ambadas and Lance Naik Kuldeep Singh, who succumbed to their injuries after being airlifted to Command Hospital at Udhampur from Rajouri.
http://indianexpress.com/article/in...ng-ceasefire-violation-in-jks-poonch-4997030/

SELVAM1

Day after killing of soldiers in J-K, Congress slams Centre’s Pakistan policy

The Congress today attacked the Centre over the killing of four Indian soldiers along the LoC by Pakistani troops, saying the incident raises questions over the government’s ability to protect the country’s borders.
Congress spokesperson Manish Tewari said yesterday’s incident along the Line of Control (LoC) was an outcome of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s “flip-flops and somersaults” on Pakistan.
Pakistani troops opened fire on an Indian Army patrol, killing a Major and three soldiers in Keri sector of Jammu and Kashmir’s Rajouri district, yesterday.
Tewari claimed that there have been 900 attempts of incursion by Pakistan this year, out of which 780 cases have been reported along the LoC and 120 along the International Border (IB).
Read | In retaliatory attack, Indian troop guns down Pakistani soldier in J&K’s Jhangar

“There were 583 major ceasefire violations in 2014 (between June-December), 400 in 2015, 450 in 2016 and 900 this year. The prime minister points fingers at others, accuses people who have occupied top posts of committing treason but this government seems incapable of protecting our borders,” the former union minister told reporters.
Modi, during the Gujarat assembly polls campaign, had suggested that Pakistan was trying to influence the Assembly polls in the state.
The government and the Congress are involved in a face-off over prime minister Modi’s ‘conspiracy with Pakistan’ remarks against his predecessor Manmohan Singh.

Tewari said that the BJP government’s Pakistan policy is driven by “flip-flops, somersaults and adhocism” and demanded that the prime minister comes clear on his agenda behind his 2015 stopover in Lahore or the Centre’s decision to allow ISI personnel at the Pathankor terror attack site.

http://indianexpress.com/article/in...ngress-slams-centres-pakistan-policy-4997283/

We can't prevent these type of losses. When we r continuously engaging them in low intensity skirmishes in LoC, We should prepare to accept these type of losses. Pakis r not Palestinians and We r not Israel. Both armies r equally equipped.so these tit for tat losses will continue. Only if we use overwhelming force to change the status quo in LoC, We can expect our desired results. Otherwise status quo will continue.
Firstly, If you want to give Israel's example here in Indo - Pak situation then don't mention Palestine. Israel's glorious military victories and ops are not against Palestine but against Egypt, Jordan, Syria and Iraq who outnumbered Israel in Artillery, Jets, Tanks, anti aircraft missiles and manpower

Its Israel's political will, Military commanders and tactics that got them victories.

We can't prevent these type of losses. When we r continuously engaging them in low intensity skirmishes in LoC, We should prepare to accept these type of losses. Pakis r not Palestinians and We r not Israel. Both armies r equally equipped.so these tit for tat losses will continue. Only if we use overwhelming force to change the status quo in LoC, We can expect our desired results. Otherwise status quo will continue.
Don't overestimate and underestimate the enemy. Do you know where the terrain supports Pak army we compensate our disadvantage by making 3 posts for for one Paki post so as to give mutual support.

The point is that we can do this bcs we have resources and manpower or jis din pane sir se upar chala gaya us din Paki apni post chod ke loc pe 30 km peche bhag jayenge.

Firstly, If you want to give Israel's example here in Indo - Pak situation then don't mention Palestine. Israel's glorious military victories and ops are not against Palestine but against Egypt, Jordan, Syria and Iraq who outnumbered Israel in Artillery, Jets, Tanks, anti aircraft missiles and manpower

Its Israel's political will, Military commanders and tactics that got them victories.

Don't overestimate and underestimate the enemy. Do you know where the terrain supports Pak army we compensate our disadvantage by making 3 posts for for one Paki post so as to give mutual support.

The point is that we can do this bcs we have resources and manpower or jis din pane sir se upar chala gaya us din Paki apni post chod ke loc pe 30 km peche bhag jayenge.
Bornubus ji as for Nuclear weapon I don't think Pakis have gut0s to use it anywhere near Kashmir only place it seems feasible is when we assault through Rajsthan or Gujrat

Bornubus ji as for Nuclear weapon I don't think Pakis have gut0s to use it
Agree Bhuihar Ji as Pakis never cared about Indian nuclear weapons when they launched Operation "Koh I Paima" violated Indian sovereignty and captured our territory for which we lost 500 + men to regain in 1999 ?

I mean this Pak being nuclear Randi Rona is only done by babu types and peace snakes

SELVAM1

What is happening in LoC is tit for tat kiling. We dont hav any clear objective in this .
First indian government and army need to define their objective. Then need to use overwhelming force to achieve that. This small skirmishes allows them to maintain conventional equilibrium with india in loc. We need to atleast capture heights where Pakistan hav advantage. That will be worth even we losses our men.

Jo shor machana hai jisko gali deni hai jo frustration nikalni hai yahan nikal do ..

Nothing is going to happen. Mark this post!
Pakistan will continue to poke even after 2 decades.

Our grandchildren will one day discuss the same thing which we are now discussing but nothing will change.

SELVAM1

I don't understand what's stopping our govt from retaliating with disproportionate destruction as everyone here wants. We have the capability to do it, and Modi knows he will be praised if he greenlights it. So what's stopping us?

Maybe a backslash from world community.
We are trying to get into NSG and UNSC so maybe any hasty move against Pak could damage our image.
An last but not the least we are lacking guts, here I don't mean the army but the politician.

I would say we should have same policy like China. Salami slicing. Push them mts by mts, KMS by KMS, miles by miles, across loc to change loc completely and constantly to gain land and advantageous posts. Remain below War threshold but kill Porki Army by 100s every year.

Increase their costs, already their economy is collapsing and are debt ridden this will finish them from core as their currency is in free fall this will further push it and cause hyperinflation and will disintegrate Pakistan sooner and their Lizard friend won't be able to help them much.

Maybe a backslash from world community.
We are trying to get into NSG and UNSC so maybe any hasty move against Pak could damage our image.
An last but not the least we are lacking guts, here I don't mean the army but the politician.
Why does a politician even need guts to give permission? It's not like he's going to take a rifle and fight himself. If army says that it can do it, then what is there to be afraid of?

SELVAM1

In case any one has Noticed ; there has been NO word of condolence from either the PM or the Defence Minister

And Indian Army Twitter account only talks of Condolences

Nobody Talks of Revenge or Retaliation
Atleast congress is behaving maturely in this situation. If modi is sitting in opposition now, he would called pm a coward

Nobel peace prize

Problem is the civilians on their side. There are heavily built-up areas through which LoC cuts across. We can't very well shell these civilian buildings and give them a ton of propaganda ammo. And our civilians are not prepared for the arty response we most certainly will receive from their side.
I don't think civilians are holding us back, most probably its no risk behavior of Government for investments which might dry up in case of any action from our side. And now that foreign investor is what drives the economy along with huge public spending, and private investments have dried up due to NPA etc.

Also Americans are increasing their troops and Russia mobilizing their troops in Tajikistan after a long time, Americans would want Pakis to keep their route open with heavy deployment on the western front. So they would do everything to prevent anything from our side.

Chinese are also trying to show themselves as insurance policy of Pakistan, whenever we have tried to be offensive they have come to save Pakis, be It in 67 cho la and nathu la after 65, or 86-87 Sumdorong chu after Brasstacks, or now in Dokh la after surgical strikes and heavy ammunition buying which indicates war preparedness.

I doubt, that we are prepared for two front war yet. I agree Chinese are also not in position to launch an attack, as of yet and they have North Korea problem, which could be crucial. If Americans go in North Korea, Chinese will not sit behind. It could be a golden opportunity for us inspite of economic problem. I think we have 6 lakh crore from petroleum cess in 3 years, and lots of oil stored It can be used to capture PoK. Which is the only solution, 2018 will be an interesting year.

After killing most militants, a territorial victory can only guarantee 5-10 year peace in Kashmir, else there will be new poster boys soon.

Bornubus ji as for Nuclear weapon I don't think Pakis have gut0s to use it anywhere near Kashmir only place it seems feasible is when we assault through Rajsthan or Gujrat
Agree Bhuihar Ji as Pakis never cared about Indian nuclear weapons when they launched Operation "Koh I Paima" violated Indian sovereignty and captured our territory for which we lost 500 + men to regain in 1999 ?

I mean this Pak being nuclear Randi Rona is only done by babu types and peace snakes
Nuclear bomb is just another bomb, with radiation which effect can last ~30 years. All this noise about nuclear weapon is just hot air. Also notice how easily Saudis are intercepting Iranian missiles targeting their cities from Yemen, these are similar copies of cheap Chinese missiles which Pakis have. With S400 we will have enough capability to kill these missiles in space, although I trust our PDV and AAD to have good performance too.

Jo shor machana hai jisko gali deni hai jo frustration nikalni hai yahan nikal do ..

Nothing is going to happen. Mark this post!
Pakistan will continue to poke even after 2 decades.

Our grandchildren will one day discuss the same thing which we are now discussing but nothing will change.
Many people in India, including top politicians have self interests and party interests in maintaining the status quo in this regard.