Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

IAF keeps harping about 114 MRFA and 42 squadrons. Meanwhile, PLAAF is inducting 120 jets in one year.

IAF really needs to revise 42 squadrons number upwards to at least 60. And to reach and maintain that number, we need around 40 jets per annum in long term and more than that in the short term. Currently we are hovering around 12-16 on a good year.
Budget is simply not there to induct 40 jets per annum. Besides we'll need Desi jets to touch those numbers .

IAF capital budget is 7 billion USD only. Even if 4 billion goes to fighter jets that can get us only 20-25 new advanced jets with weapons and maintenance contracts.

Only when IAF capes reaches 15 Billion usd we will be able to absorb 40-50 jets per annum.

Spindrift

I study public administration, I despise myself as to how i bloody missed this point .
The best study material for public administration is the "Yes Minister" and "Yes Prime Minister" series. That will show you how things are done in bureaucracy. There was a hindi remake of "Yes Minister" called "ji mantriji" if you can get a hold of that, then please watch that as well.

johnj

We have scalp missiles already and Brahmos ng too ;)

lol, ''likely'' to offer. Pak brought jsow, and not offered to India ? same goes to jassam er, offered when drdo already consider developing one and increased range of brahmos. Looks like US sell f35 to Pak first, then latter consider selling f35 to India.
What about lrasm for p8i ?
Jsow already cleared for export & jassam to mtcr countries, for allays & close partners.

skunk works

These are the types of pilots we have.. My chest just swole 5.214 bajillion kilometers in pride, lol

Gp Cpt MJ Augustine Vinod mentions putting the MiG-21 repeatedly at the 6 of a Eurofighter..

At 46:20. Talks about doing DACT against Eurofighters.
Meanwhile some 30 year old man child on DCS be like "nope, not possible, let me prove in this game!"

Problem with that arrangement is UAE employs Pakistani pilots. UAE needs to kick out any personnel affiliated with PAF or PA or ISI.

Okabe Rintarou

:pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound: :pound:
View attachment 172878
IDRW dudes took too much last night
Reasons not to believe it:-
1.) My take, instead of news beat.
2.) It was a joke I made on another thread.

This guy saying India has signed pact with UAE to use each other's aircraft

He has been right on many counts

WTF do they mean use each other's aircraft? Do even NATO have such arrangements in place? UAE and Indian Rafale have differences, right? And how are they going to account for equality in use of life of the airframe? How are they going to plan for contingencies in case bad maintenance of one leads to loss of aircraft of another or vice versa leads to loss of trained pilot for the other? Even a broken clock is right twice a day. Don't think this dude is any different.

johnj

Reasons not to believe it:-
1.) My take, instead of news beat.
2.) It was a joke I made on another thread.

WTF do they mean use each other's aircraft? Do even NATO have such arrangements in place? UAE and Indian Rafale have differences, right? And how are they going to account for equality in use of life of the airframe? How are they going to plan for contingencies in case bad maintenance of one leads to loss of aircraft of another or vice versa leads to loss of trained pilot for the other? Even a broken clock is right twice a day. Don't think this dude is any different.
2.) It was a joke I made on another thread.- what joke ?
Rafale - sharing top jets does't make any sense. no country never give up classified & critical info to other country, no country give their af top jet to other country with out a down grade and removing classified & critical data stored in it plus upgrade. May be UAE & India considering military pact under non war case.