BTW posting below excerpt from BRF, credits to Fanne-ji. Was lurking there and the post really caught my attention. A must read for all folks demanding that the PM/army/foreign office/mod etc. put out more information/proofs.
Personally I am no fan of give me information right now. Some of course are demanding because they have some naïve expectation of the right of being informed (as they pay taxes or know English and have computer with internet). Somewhere some think that this lack of information is putting down morale (of whom? perhaps themselves?).
But most are demanding to fulfill political objective of making Mudi look bad. You talk more, more info you put out and much of it can be then used against you, within the country and without.
Now if Information on war was something so good, why is chicom not doing it, or their friends the Pakis, or the great USA , why did not it publish the photo of abottagood? Hain ji
So what will this extra info give us - Suppose we did not kill any chicom and lost 100 of ours. Telling that to the public will do what? The only thing it will do is, opposition will mock the govts, public will be aghast and some unhinged RW (you find many here) will say we are not good enough, I am cutting my d*** and convert. If the situation was other way round, no Indian died but 100 Chinese died, we announce that, what do we get. People will say photo is doctored, in fact many of ours have died and we are hiding causality, I don't believe it, and the opposition country has no potion to counter it and further escalate, perhaps in next round we kill their 100 to our 10 or 20.
So in the end what purpose does it solve? Morale? Whose the posters or the army or the public. The army does not need your morale lesson, I think they are tough enough. Public? Thanks God not all were as highly educated as you, they can perhaps manage their morale fine even if we lost xx soldiers. Every year 90 lakh Indian die of all causes (and as many chinese) . It maybe satisfying some deep seated identification of self based on inadequacy - but that needs medicine and self retro-inspection and not news.
Giving out less, telling less and keeping your cards close to your chest, let the action speak louder than word is the way to go. That this govt is doing.