India China LAC & International Border Discussions

Longewala

One of DODOs organisation at Dehradun has been singularly responsible for denial of all optical and electronic sights and sensors to Indian Army for last fifty years. Every time IA puts a proposal to acquire one they start crying - they will .. they will make. They never made one nor allowed IA acquire one.

Use the single biggest power of bureacrcy - Denial. With the pay and perks those DODOs have drawn so far from Defense estimates- Indian Army could have equipped themselves with world class optics and sensors ten times over by now.
Despite knowing nothing about Dehradun, Dodos and optics, I am fairly confident what happened here.

The Chinese relied on domestic products for decades even though for a long time they might have lagged behind western tech (just like they relied on the j-7 till the 80s) and are now at par with the West.

Whereas the Indian army insisted that the "Dehradun" products must be absolutely world class, absolutely perfect from day one (yes , I am sure the desi research labs were slow and not user oriented as they tend to be)....refused to induct the inferior desi products even as a starting point ....and now the Army stomps its feet like a 3 year old because they have been denied the foreign maal they deserve.

It is of course a massive deficiency, but no different for instance from the Air force lack of highly critical AEWs because of course we couldn't have just pumped out large numbers of the otherwise decent Netras,.....

IndiaRising

It could provide enough protection around a radius of 200 km if placed in the Tarmin basin of UAR, not the mountainous's region's of tibet, it's is only effective in that kind of terrain and I think we are mistaken they could have deployed the HQ 19 and HQ 14 AD's in tibet and not S 400 as some one in the chinese forums was pointing out well we dont knew which system's is deployed in tibet's
how effective will S400 be for us against Pakis?

Sanglamorre

I don't think so. The Nepali military supports India that's why Oli has ordered his corrupt policemen to act against India. Last month the shoot out where one citizen died was done by these policemen. :dude:
Think about it. As a Nepali soldier, would you rather be seen as someone who supported the cause of a foreign power and opposed your leader and chain of command? No matter the outcome, that's how it'll be seen post-whatever happens.

ARVION

how effective will S400 be for us against Pakis?
They can even dare to launch an attack, remember they dont have a significant weaponry of ARM's so it would be difficult for them they dont have any aircraft in their arsenal that could even penetrate S 400's, but it will depend where they are deployede's and remember there F 16 take at least 8 to 12 minute to intercept and during night they took much more time to intercepts any intruding aircraft's, so when they said they said they intercept's ours 2000's at border I knew there lies would start as there f 16 are not maintained or even equipped for intercepretation most of the PAF's combat fleet's is just paper tiger nothing more

IndiaRising

They can even dare to launch an attack, remember they dont have a significant weaponry of ARM's so it would be difficult for them they dont have any aircraft in their arsenal that could even penetrate S 400's, but it will depend where they are deployede's and remember there F 6 take at least 8 to 12 minute to intercept and during night they took much more time to intercepts any intruding aircraft's, so when they said they said th3y intercept's ours 2000's at border I knew there lies would start as there f 16 are not maintained or even equipped for intercepretation most of th3 PAF's combat fleet's is just paper tiger nothing more
so imagine a 27 Feb scenario.... how would S400 deny them the tactics they employed in that operation? that's what I want to know

ARVION

They will create myths where no reality exists.

Russia knows fully well that Chinese gun will point at Russia's head once India is done.
Actually one trick Russian played to the chinis is that for the S 400 Radar's is that they didnt provided's 40 6 MR mounted Radar to chinese which could have been useful in limited success in the mountainous region so now Chinese are saying and bashing that S 400's is useless correct me if I am wrong

are we going to use it an offensive role at the border?
S400 is not for border. It is an area defence system to be used for protection of cities.

The bigger threat that Indian army will face will be drones, cruise missiles and air attacks. Quick reaction SAM systems should be most effective against aircraft.

Army needs to find reliable technologies to shoot down drones.

IndiaRising

S400 is not for border. It is an area defence system to be used for protection of cities.

The bigger threat that Indian army will face will be drones, cruise missiles and air attacks. Quick reaction SAM systems should be most effective against aircraft.
well I also know that IAF bought S400 due to diminishing squadron strength so I expect it to be used in an offensive role as well.

I don't think so. The Nepali military supports India that's why Oli has ordered his corrupt policemen to act against India. Last month the shoot out where one citizen died was done by these policemen. :dude:
Nepali army is trained in IMA. Police man are majorly former maoists....

but

still, i don't think Oli have the balls and support to claim emergency....