India-China Border conflict

Azaad

XXXIII-Trishakti Corps is in the closest vicinity of Sikkim.
Ah yes but I meant more of an MSC which is in somewhat of a truncated form following budgetary cuts.

Even if we complete the task of raising the MSC in the form it was originally envisaged to be , that'd suffice.

Blood+

I have actually heard the opposite .. As per ex servicemen accounts .. Only those that have served with you for many years will follow you into the teeth of an enemy defence rest all will be happy to just hold position.
Not necessarily. Even the Americans follow a similar system and they never seem to have a problem with motivation.

Blood+

Raise a separate corp for Sikkim. PLA will be going hammer & tongs for it in a conflict. Admittedly we're in a well entrenched position there but with major lacunae in our armaments & platforms procurement in both the IA & IAF all we can do is throw men at it .
And don't forget about the tunnels. We need to dig as many tunnels under those mountain ranges as can be possibly done. That alone can negate the firepower advantage of the PLA.

Problem with that is that the Himalayas are a new mountain range so they are prone to seismic activity and loose rock formations. Plus, there are a lot of water seepage issues.

Blood+

Then there will be a lot of cave ins and flooding which could lead to more casualties and loss of critical weapons
Well, obviously, thorough surveys would need to be conducted of the land and you cannot do it every where along the LAC - that's a given. But you need to do it wherever you can. And even if we COULD match their firepower, hypothetically speaking of course, it still wouldn't hurt.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Just a move to bolster defence or China is thinking about another golgappe eating trip?
The news is referring to raising a new Central Corps (18th Corps) for protecting U.K and H.P. It is kind of misleading because we are not "redirecting" troops from Western (Pakistan) front.

The brigades & divisions that will make up the new Corps are already stationed at the central sector, we will be just re-arming them & adding troops where necessary to convert them from peace-time deployment to an offensive one.

Jimih

The news is referring to raising a new Central Corps (18th Corps) for protecting U.K and H.P. It is kind of misleading because we are not "redirecting" troops from Western (Pakistan) front.

The brigades & divisions that will make up the new Corps are already stationed at the central sector, we will be just re-arming them & adding troops where necessary to convert them from peace-time deployment to an offensive one.
👇

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Arunachal it is: Simply we are lagging Infra development even after 62 years- and still trying to catch. Quickly linking with troops might be difficult. Also dont discount Chinese using Burmese/Bhutan Airspace and Land for incursions.
But, Arunachal presents another challege, dense jungles with inhospitable climate & terrain ripe for gurellia warfare.

Unlike plains/deserts like that of Ladakh, consolidating captured positions are almost impossible. A platoon of troops familiar with the jungle/terrain can take up & engage a battalion-sized enemy force. Just look at our losses at Poonch/Rajouri.

Even modern technologies like UAVs, LMs and other geeky tech China can bring will fall flat in dense humid jungles.

Also remember, IA jungle warfare is considered one of the best in the world by even NATO forces.

But, Arunachal presents another challege, dense jungles with inhospitable climate & terrain ripe for gurellia warfare.

Unlike plains/deserts like that of Ladakh, consolidating captured positions are almost impossible. A platoon of troops familiar with the jungle/terrain can take up & engage a battalion-sized enemy force. Just look at our losses at Poonch/Rajouri.

Even modern technologies like UAVs, LMs and other geeky tech China can bring will fall flat in dense humid jungles.

Also remember, IA jungle warfare is considered one of the best in the world by even NATO forces.
you are discounting chinese guerilla tactics to sabotage, then deliver barrage. their aim may not be large land grab - but to cause panic and "humiliation"

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
you are discounting chinese guerilla tactics to sabotage, then deliver barrage. their aim may not be large land grab - but to cause panic and "humiliation"
Same can be done on their side. No reason for me to believe China somehow has superior Guerilla warfare tactics. Infact whatever we know about PLA is they are not really deadly except for the tiktok videos they post.

So in short, no gain, no loss scenario, periodic raids & minor post/area capture by both sides like active LoC? And who benefits from that? No one right.

So keeping this in mind, is Arunachal really a good place for an Chinese offensive?

Same can be done on their side. No reason for me to believe China somehow has superior Guerilla warfare tactics. Infact whatever we know about PLA is they are not really deadly except for the tiktok videos they post.

So in short, no gain, no loss scenario, periodic raids & minor post/area capture by both sides like active LoC? And who benefits from that? No one right.

So keeping this in mind, is Arunachal really a good place for an Chinese offensive?
Mist you are taking it as A vs B comparison in superiority. I am answering in how Chinese can attack. See the advantage of China is that Chinese loss can be brushed can under carpet but Indian loss shall be well documented and exaggerated - just like what we saw Leh ladakh sector. Understand that Chinese aim is humiliation of India - so that India can be managed.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Mist you are taking it as A vs B comparison in superiority. I am answering in how Chinese can attack. See the advantage of China is that Chinese loss can be brushed can under carpet but Indian loss shall be well documented and exaggerated - just like what we saw Leh ladakh sector. Understand that Chinese aim is humiliation of India - so that India can be managed.
Don't get me wrong, I am just trying to figure out what's more likely (Ladakh or A.P).

Few points to ponder about Chinese -
  • They plan & calculate everything, they don't take unnecessary risks, and they don't fight losing battles.
  • Yes they can likely hide the casaulties but what if we leak images/vids of Chinese PoW/casaulties ?
  • Having documented losses on our side doesn't hurts our govt, it only forces our GoI for a stronger overt action against China.
So now, given A.P is hotbed for Jungle warfare and none of the side will have a permanent advantage, it will be extremely risky to do "humiliation raids" on IA posts/area to capture our land/soldiers, as it can go either way (PLA troops gets KIA & captured, as what happened in 2022 Jan in Tawang sector).

And just to mention, our choice of not publishing Chinese PoW/KIA video is a mystery and a joker card in the Indo-China game.

Man its our ability to snatch defeat from jaws of victory by like above moves by bureaucracy is really what makes us lose info war. This is the biggest advantage we give to oppo

mokoman

@mokoman so which one do you think is correct, and why ?
neither , what is even there in ladakh for china to start war over . AP has lots of juicy land but i doubt they will take such high risk .

maybe new standoff in AP , once our LAC road construction starts they will bring in 1000 troops do some dharna . seems like they r already building road/posts for it