DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Angel of War

Any idea how many are going to be acquired, back in 2022 we acquired some 10,000 Konkurs-M for $250 million.
This new deal is worth some $420 million
i speculate its an order for 10,500 something missiles going by unit cost of 50,000 dollars
I think a fraction of this cost goes to Russia as licence fee for local production

Akula

Baba Bana bhi denga tobhi army order nahi dengi . Bharat forge ULH has been showcased multiple times yet no interest from army . Muft main product development nahi hota
Defence expo 2018 0rders zero interest
This gun was undergoing trials. I had seen a video where this gun was in background, along with other Artillery guns.

Indian Army to get BDL-manufactured Konkurs-M anti-tank guided missiles from Hyderabad company | Hyderabad News - Times of India

BDL and the Indian Army signed a contract worth Rs 3,131.82 crore for manufacture and supply of the missiles. Konkurs-M is a second generation, mechanized infantry anti-tank guided missile, to destroy armored vehicles equipped with explosive reactive armour. The missile can be launched either from BMP-II tank or from ground launcher. It has a range between 75 to 4,000 metre with a flight time of 19 seconds.

Tridev123

Cost of all these "Make in India" products should be quoted in two parts - 1. Rupees - Cost of components and services sourced from within India. 2. US$ - Cost of components sources from outside.

Let the truth be out about our defense manufacturing capability. :dude:
Yes, unfortunately you are telling the truth.
But what alternative do we have in the present situation.
Since Indian industry, both in the public and private sector cannot manufacture many of the components that go into the weapons, we are forced to depend on foreign suppliers. Not an very happy situation.
One consolation is that most other countries are in the same position. Even advanced countries in Europe import US made components.
Probably the US and Russia are the only two countries in the world which can bring out 100% indigenous weapon systems. Especially in the high technology weapons categories.

But I believe that the Government is aware of the problem and trying to maximise indigenisation. It will not be easy to achieve 100% indigenisation. Both the public and private sector need to greatly increase their capabilites. We should be able to design systems and subsystems independently and also develop the capacity to manufacture them using advanced methods like modern CNC machines etc. Deliver good quality products consistently and economically.

But I believe that a country like India with a large talented workforce and sufficient natural resources is capable of achieving 100% indigenisation. Now how much time will it take is a question mark.

I do not know about the status of China. Whether they have achieved close to 100% indigenisation or not. Anyway they steal and copy foreign technology, sometimes reverse engineering and give a damn about Intellectual Property Rights.
Probably the end justifies the means.
India is much more moralistic. And probably there is not even one case where our intelligence agencies have successfully conducted scientific espionage. No Indian hacker has infiltrated and stolen classified scientific information from global companies in key areas like aeroengines, atomic energy and other defence fields.

Anyway no use worrying too much. Only thing is that we need to be wary of sanctions or embargos imposed on us by supplier countries. So we should have alternative suppliers shortlisted for use in emergencies.

Shashank Nayak

Yes, unfortunately you are telling the truth.
But what alternative do we have in the present situation.
Since Indian industry, both in the public and private sector cannot manufacture many of the components that go into the weapons, we are forced to depend on foreign suppliers. Not an very happy situation.
One consolation is that most other countries are in the same position. Even advanced countries in Europe import US made components.
Probably the US and Russia are the only two countries in the world which can bring out 100% indigenous weapon systems. Especially in the high technology weapons categories.

But I believe that the Government is aware of the problem and trying to maximise indigenisation. It will not be easy to achieve 100% indigenisation. Both the public and private sector need to greatly increase their capabilites. We should be able to design systems and subsystems independently and also develop the capacity to manufacture them using advanced methods like modern CNC machines etc. Deliver good quality products consistently and economically.

But I believe that a country like India with a large talented workforce and sufficient natural resources is capable of achieving 100% indigenisation. Now how much time will it take is a question mark.

I do not know about the status of China. Whether they have achieved close to 100% indigenisation or not. Anyway they steal and copy foreign technology, sometimes reverse engineering and give a damn about Intellectual Property Rights.
Probably the end justifies the means.
India is much more moralistic. And probably there is not even one case where our intelligence agencies have successfully conducted scientific espionage. No Indian hacker has infiltrated and stolen classified scientific information from global companies in key areas like aeroengines, atomic energy and other defence fields.

Anyway no use worrying too much. Only thing is that we need to be wary of sanctions or embargos imposed on us by supplier countries. So we should have alternative suppliers shortlisted for use in emergencies.
Even the US imports many electronic components.. many of them for cost related reasons..
US is still importing Turkey made parts for F-35, because kicking turkish manufacturers out completely, will be costly..

Tridev123

Even the US imports many electronic components.. many of them for cost related reasons..
US is still importing Turkey made parts for F-35, because kicking turkish manufacturers out completely, will be costly..
I don't contest what you are saying.
Yes, US companies do import a lot from other countries including components from European companies for use in their weapon systems. (I don't think that they import from the Chinese or Russians).

But the basic equation is. If tomorrow they stop importing or in an unlikely event the component supplying country stops their export to the US, can the US manufacture the same component in their country.
The answer will be YES. US companies can manufacture all of the components that they require whose import is banned. It may take some time and probably cost more.

But, hell they are not dependent on any other country for the technology and the manufacturing knowledge. Which is a good thing. In a crisis like war.

Both Russia and the US can go 100% indigenous.
About China??. Don't know.
India also should aim to join the group, at least in the next two decades.

MonaLazy

But, hell they are not dependent on any other country for the technology and the manufacturing knowledge. Which is a good thing. In a crisis like war.
US is no saint, nor even the best in everything ever. But unlike us, they are not bitten by the indigenous & morality bug. They will beg borrow steal whatever it takes to get the job done. They have poached talent famously over the last many decades for nuclear bombs, jet engines & very lately for HGVs (imagine stealing from the Chinese!):

What's more, every time they steal they will bill it as a victory for freedom and liberal values of the West. The world will applaud- such is the power of their narrative.

US is no saint, nor even the best in everything ever. But unlike us, they are not bitten by the indigenous & morality bug. They will beg borrow steal whatever it takes to get the job done. They have poached talent famously over the last many decades for nuclear bombs, jet engines & very lately for HGVs (imagine stealing from the Chinese!):

What's more, every time they steal they will bill it as a victory for freedom and liberal values of the West. The world will applaud- such is the power of their narrative.
Ah well some media reporters suggested that chinese defector decided to flee because he was envy/angry at the authorities for sidelining him and promoting some others in his team for something,
but yeah at the end americans were able to take advantage of this scenario.

Photon