China Economy: News & Discussion

Azaad

Chinese propaganda arm pushing its narrative using Indian vloggers. Watch out for these snakes and their sponsors from the CCP.

This article raises serious concerns about China’s efforts to drive its narrative in Telugu States using YouTube vloggers. A Telugu YouTuber recently revealed that he earned 30 lakhs in a month for making positive videos about China. It is important to remember that these YouTubers are not necessarily working for the Chinese government. In many cases, they are simply being paid to promote Chinese products or services or narrative. However, the end result is the same: China is using its economic power to influence public opinion in India.

“I admire Communist ideology and like Mao very much since my NCC training during my schooling days. ..I strongly believe that only communism can bring change in India” – This is the statement given by Telugu YouTuber Anvesh Chinni in one of his videos recorded in China referring to Mao Zedong, the former dictator of China. The world knows that Mao was responsible for the deaths of nearly 60 to 80 million of Chinese due to starvation, persecution, prison labour, and mass executions, which drew criticism for his totalitarian rule.

How China Engages South Asia: Themes, Partners and Tools – A report published by the Center for Social & Economic Progress on 3rd May 2023 explains how China is using social media to drive its narrative in India and distort facts about the border dispute. The document contains a chapter on the use of social media by China. It says that the Communist Party of China’s external messaging is targeting Indian audiences on traditional and new media platforms after President Xi Jinping in 2013 said “Tell China’s Story Well”. The report concludes that China’s influence campaign is a serious threat to Indian sovereignty and democracy. It calls on the Indian government to take steps to counter China’s influence and protect its citizens from the spread of Chinese propaganda.

China lost its global reputation due to Covid outbreak from its soil. To regain its image, it started a self defined narrative across the globe using various methods, one of such is peddling through travel vloggers.

YouTubers have embarked on global travel adventures to showcase the geographical, cultural, and traditional highlights of various nations. In a similar way, some Indian YouTube vloggers started touring China. Though it is not a surprise that Indians visit China, an important point to be noted is that in the last 3-4 months, i.e., just before general elections in India, there has been a sudden increase in the number of popular Indian YouTube vloggers who have travelled to China and reporting from there.

Apart from the vloggers touring this communist nation, few Indians residing in China are already making Youtube Vlogs in Indian languages. Surprisingly, China refuses to grant access to journalists for tours but permits YouTube vloggers to enter the country. These vloggers take the liberty to criticize Indian politics from foreign soil, especially from China, a nation that has occupied our territories and poses significant border and economic threats to us. These targeted videos praise China with an impression that their policies are better than India.

This same narrative is picked by pro-Chinese media with an agenda to disseminate further to reach masses. At this point, nationalist must be critical of the content that we consume emanating from China.

On July 23, ‘Nava Telangana’, a Telugu leftist daily published a special story titled ‘Prapancha Yatrikudu’ (World Traveller) praising Telugu YouTube vlogger Anvesh for his China travel series. This China series has 23 videos starting from June 12 -July 18, 2023. In his videos, he uttered unnecessary and provoking statements on Indian politics and its leadership, suspected to be deliberate attempts or scripted.

On June 22, while visiting China National Museum in Beijing, Anvesh’s opening comments were highly objectionable.
Oh Indian, listen carefully… India and China, both were born together. China adopted a revolutionary ideology, and India adopted Democracy. Where are we and where are they ? While both countries are equal in population, India is lagging in terms of Economy, Defense and Technology. What is the reason for this?”.

In a sarcastic tone, he says “Listen attentively, my fellow Indians… India and China, born at the same time. China embraced a revolutionary ideology, and India chose democracy. Despite having similar populations, India is far behind in terms of economy, defense, and technology. …Why do you think this is the case?”

In this series, touring with his Chinese girlfriend, Anvesh often proudly claims to be influential in getting access to highly restricted zones which are generally prohibited to foreigners.

In his video description, he proudly asserts that you won’t find anything like this on YouTube since videos in the National Museum are not allowed. Despite the strict restrictions imposed by the Chinese Government, he claims to be influential and boldly enters the China National Museum with a video camera to record its interior.

This kind of statements and description on his YouTube videos strengthens the suspicion that either he is fooling the Chinese government and its security or part of their conspiracy to build a positive opinion on Chinese infrastructure portrayed on social media. Is breaking the law an adventurism and special privilege in China for this selective vlogger only?

Without any guilt, this vlogger says he is free to walk on empty streets of Wuhan Fish Market, which is not less than an act to whitewash the Chinese made Covid 19 pandemic that killed millions across the globe. This specific video seems to be a scripted attempt to create a positive impact on viewers that ‘China is not a wilful offender of this huge pandemic, but it is a victim of a framed conspiracy’.

These comments are like mocking the international security, health agencies and acclaimed scientists who were denied access by China to visit the same Wuhan Fish market and its lab to find the origins of the pandemic.

Criticism of Indian Governance:

In “China Vs India Comparison” video, he takes the avatar of a political commentator, with zero knowledge on Indian politics, cultural heritage and its social system. His unwanted heavy criticism appears to be rooted in a superficial understanding on some serious issues like poverty, wealth distribution and social structure.

From Chinese soil, he calls to abolish the reservation system, a key plank in addressing the social issues. It is a clear attempt at arousing mutual distrust amongst various sections of the society and an insult to the Indian Constitution and its founding fathers,

By taking the names of successful Indian businessman like Ambani, and Adani in a cynical tone (which Congress and Communists usually do) he dares to suggest the Indian government to follow the Chinese communist model of land distribution and acquisition policy in which Government should be the sole owner of the entire land across the nation.

IT Breach – Intentionally Ignored by the Chinese Government?

In his attempt to create an illusion for Telugu viewers of absolute freedom within China, he conveniently conceals a crucial truth – the Chinese Communist Party imposed a blanket ban on YouTube and various other social media platforms. The pressing question arises: did he resort to Virtual Private Networks to upload a series of 23 videos on his YouTube account? If such measures were indeed taken, how did the Chinese government fail to detect this ongoing breach of their own country’s IT regulations by a foreign individual? Or perhaps, it leads one to ponder whether there was tacit approval or even encouragement from the Chinese government itself. There are plenty of news surfacing on China’s crackdown on VPNs in its country with heavy penalty.

Suppression of Facts:

YouTuber Anvesh Chinnaclaims that there are 10 highly developed cities in China that no Indian city can rival. However, despite his intentions to showcase them, due to pressure he is not doing so. He assures viewers that he will show these cities after the general elections in India.

In another video, he tried to influence viewers’ perception of China as an enemy nation to India. He poses questions like, “Who exactly told us that China is our enemy – was it Modi or Amit Shah?” Additionally, he references prominent figures such as AP Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, as well as opposition leaders Chandra Babu Naidu and Pawan Kalyan. Anvesh advises the Telugu audience that true freedom lies in avoiding verbal wars between the party-workers of these political leaders.

He praises the Chinese government for freedom to its citizens, but he wilfully suppresses the pathetic situation of Uyghur Muslims in Xinjiang. province of China. It is a globally acknowledged fact that China has been committing inhuman crimes against its own citizens, threatening to wipe out religious and ethnic minorities like Uyghur and Tibetan Buddhists. Uyghur population and other Muslim ethnic groups in the north-western region are denied basic fundamental rights like free speech, freedom to practice and propagate religion in China.

While praising the freedom given by its Government to the people of China, he wilfully suppresses the drastic situation of Uyghur Muslims in the XingXian province of China.It is a well known fact that China has been accused of committing inhuman crimes not only against its own citizens, but also religious and ethnic minorities like Uyghur and Tibetan Buddhists. Brutal measures have been put in place against the Uyghur population and other Muslim ethnic groups in the north-western region of Xinjiang. Fundamental rights of free speech, freedom to practice and propagate religion are completely absent in China.

While showing the Tiananmen Square area he says that Chinese officials ordered him not to discuss its history and hence he did not utter a single word about it. Tiananmen Square remained a silent witness of the infamous Massacre committed by the Chinese government on its own thousands of students in the year 1989. The protests by student groups started on 15 April and lasted until 4 June, at which point Chinese government troops carried out a crackdown on the demonstrators around the city and the Square in what is often referred to as the Tiananmen Square massacre.

It is a recent phenomenon that Indian vloggers who travel to China and report on its diversified geography, culture and lifestyle. Even the vloggers praising Chinese is no surprise, but things like holding a camera on the soil of a country that we consider to be our main enemy and making videos pointing out India’s internal political and socio-cultural and economic issues, criticizing government policies and giving free advice to the Government of India on things that India should learn from China is a new and strange development. This is a regular theme in the videos of YouTube vlogger Anvesh who runs the channel ‘Naa Anveshana’.

How to counter China’s influence operations:

– Be critical of the content that we consume. When we see a video or read an article that is promoting China in a positive light, we should ask ourselves why?. Is the content being funded by the Chinese government? Is it being shared by people who are known to be sympathetic to China?

– Be aware of the ways in which China is trying to manipulate public opinion. China is using a variety of methods to influence public opinion, including social media, the entertainment industry, and think tanks. We need to be aware of these methods so that we can protect ourselves from their effects.

– Support Indian Nationalist media outlets and content creators. There are many Indian media outlets and content creators who are producing high-quality content that is critical of China. We should support these outlets and creators by watching their content and sharing it with others.

By taking these steps, we can help to protect ourselves from China’s influence operations and promote a more informed and critical public discourse about China.

“ఏ దేశమేగినా ఎందు కాలిడినా ఏ పీఠమెక్కినా ఎవ్వరేమనినా పొగుడురా నీతల్లి భూమి భారతిని నిలుపురా నీ జాతి నిండు గౌరవము”

(yE dhEshameginA endhu kAlidinA, yE peetamekkinA evvarEmaninA
pogadarA nee thalli bhoomi BhAratini, niluparA nee jAthi nindu gouravamu
)

“No matter whatever country you travel, no matter whatever the position you attain, always praise your motherland Ma Bharati and make her honour be protected”

Above is the popular Telugu poem from “Janmabhoomi” written by famous poet Rayaprolu Subbarao that always stays in the hearts of all people and inspires us.
Sounds like version 3.3 of in house jai chand except the former has 30 lakhs in his bank balance to show for his efforts & a Chinese GF to jump on provided by the CCP obviously whereas < 82 IQ Jai chand got scammed into supporting Chang's narrative for free.

rockdog

A welcome move made by Huawei, head of commerce department of USA visiting China today:

Screenshot_2023-08-29-22-25-06-873_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

meme unofficial:

Screenshot_2023-08-29-22-38-04-258_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Today Huawei suddenly launch the flagship Mate 60 Pro with its own HiSilicon 5G SOC/CPU, it's 5mn or 7mn tech, with American free tech.

Screenshot_2023-08-29-22-38-50-530_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Screenshot_2023-08-29-23-07-28-346_com.miui.mediaeditor-edit.jpg

Now its whole flagship mobile is made by own supply chain, Huawei spent 4 yrs on it.

Someone said it's by Huawei's own secret factory, some said it's made by SMIC.

Screenshot_2023-08-29-22-39-11-113_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Screenshot_2023-08-29-22-39-29-966_com.miui.mediaeditor-edit.jpg

The mobile only available online or Shenzhen city, now this $1000 mobile is sold out in 1 hour.

Screenshot_2023-08-29-22-40-27-135_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Screenshot_2023-08-29-22-41-09-435_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Screenshot_2023-08-29-23-07-46-386_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

The competitor Meizu also sent greeting to Huawei's flagship phone with own SoC.

Welcome back, Mate!

Screenshot_2023-08-29-22-44-20-674_com.miui.gallery.jpg

Azaad

A welcome launch made by Huawei, for head of commerce department of USA visiting China today:

View attachment 220293

meme unofficial:

View attachment 220295

Today Huawei suddenly launch the flagship Mate 60 Pro with its own HiSilicon 5G SOC/CPU, it's 5mn or 7mn tech, with American free tech.

View attachment 220297

Now its whole flagship mobile is made by own supply chain, Huawei spent 4 yrs on it.

Someone said it's by Huawei's own secret facotory, some said it's made by SMIC.

View attachment 220298

View attachment 220299

The mobile only available in online or Shenzhen city, now this $1000 mobile is sold out in 1 hour.

View attachment 220300

View attachment 220301

The competitor Meizu alao sent its greeting to Huawei's flagship phone with own SoC.

Welcome back, Mate!

View attachment 220302
You or your colleague in arms @SexyChineseLady recently put out tweets or articles a few days ago excitedly suggesting that TSMC & Samsung successfully persuaded the US to postpone its complete isolation of China from the SMC ecosystem by continuing business with them for the time being as if you had invested in their stocks or breaking such news here would fetch you a bonus .

Now you come here with the news that the latest Huawei phones have 5 & 7 nm SMC "indigenously developed in some lab of theirs ."

So which one of these statements are true ? Or did you forget what propaganda you indulged in yesterday ?

rockdog

You or your colleague in arms @SexyChineseLady recently put out tweets or articles a few days ago excitedly suggesting that TSMC & Samsung successfully persuaded the US to postpone its complete isolation of China from the SMC ecosystem by continuing business with them for the time being as if you had invested in their stocks or breaking such news here would fetch you a bonus .

Now you come here with the news that the latest Huawei phones have 5 & 7 nm SMC "indigenously developed in some lab of theirs ."

So which one of these statements are true ? Or did you forget what propaganda you indulged in yesterday ?
No need go personal, i came here for exchange info. Feel boring from ur wording...

Azaad

No need go personal, i came here for exchange info. Feel boring from ur wording...
So -

A - You forgot you made such claims that TSMC & Samsung persuaded the US to continue its business with China for the time being.

B - you don't have any information regarding the origin of those 5nm & 7 nm SMC's but decided to pull a fast one on us.

100 social credit points deducted from your account for incompetence . I think you're getting old. Pls request your handler in MSS to re assign you to PDF . It's an easy assignment as opposed to DFI which is right out of hell for you & your ilk & what's more you'd be treated like royalty out there

rockdog

So -

A - You forgot you made such claims that TSMC & Samsung persuaded the US to continue its business with China for the time being.

B - you don't have any information regarding the origin of those 5nm & 7 nm SMC's but decided to pull a fast one on us.
Huawei's R&D is highly confidential, even people from the supply chains are guessing. I just passed the most possible solutions.

100 social credit points deducted from your account for incompetence . I think you're getting old. Pls request your handler in MSS to re assign you to PDF . It's an easy assignment as opposed to DFI which is right out of hell for you & your ilk & what's more you'd be treated like royalty out there
Not old, but bored:

Screenshot_2023-08-29-23-23-29-649_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

40 yrs something is the best age for making money and have clear vision on business or marco economy, maybe u r not my age yet.

omaebakabaka

A welcome move made by Huawei, head of commerce department of USA visiting China today:

View attachment 220293

meme unofficial:

View attachment 220295

View attachment 220297

View attachment 220304

View attachment 220298

View attachment 220299

The mobile only available online or Shenzhen city, now this $1000 mobile is sold out in 1 hour.

View attachment 220300

View attachment 220301

View attachment 220305

The competitor Meizu also sent greeting to Huawei's flagship phone with own SoC.

Welcome back, Mate!

View attachment 220302
Ha ha that is appropriate welcome, Huawei makes good hardware and I hope China does make its own chips as otherwise India may or may not feel the pressure and it does bring manufacturing to our country hopefully by the west. Healthy competition is good for us and I frankly don;t care if we steal or plunder or copy....innovation is incremental and not instantaneous in general. West looks foolish by the minute running around like a headless chicken and the slave dogs are even more pathetic. With that said, our DFI members are capable of handling the propoganda brought by Chinese posters and nonsensically comparing India to China in areas where we still lag....in the end our system is more organic and our innovation will be unleashed for sure just like our religion Sanathan Dharma vs the other 2 bit clown religions from Middle east not to mention the pathetic converts.

rockdog

Ha ha that is appropriate welcome, Huawei makes good hardware and I hope China does make its own chips as otherwise India may or may not feel the pressure and it does bring manufacturing to our country hopefully by the west. Healthy competition is good for us and I frankly don;t care if we steal or plunder or copy....innovation is incremental and not instantaneous in general. West looks foolish by the minute running around like a headless chicken and the slave dogs are even more pathetic. With that said, our DFI members are capable of handling the propoganda brought by Chinese posters and nonsensically comparing India to China in areas where we still lag....in the end our system is more organic and our innovation will be unleashed for sure just like our religion Sanathan Dharma vs the other 2 bit clown religions from Middle east not to mention the pathetic converts.
Agree.and appreciate!

rockdog

View attachment 220293

meme unofficial:

View attachment 220295

View attachment 220297

View attachment 220304

View attachment 220298

View attachment 220299

View attachment 220300

View attachment 220301

View attachment 220305

Welcome back, Mate!

View attachment 220302
A gaming mobile brand Red Magic also sent greeting:

Screenshot_2023-08-29-23-46-13-736_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

I knew this brand from him:

I m fan of him, is he an Indian guy?

omaebakabaka

Nortel networks went belly up and filed for bankruptcy last time Huawei went to town selling networking products.

Wonder which chip company got robbed this time. Hope it isn't Qualcomm.
Its really not that hard imagining China doing it themselves as every conference I go to there are bunch of Chinese and Indian's mostly presenting cool stuff but ofcourse most are not original in that I mean idea may or may not originate from them but more from someone else before them and lot of chinese are tapped by CCP and Chinese MNC's to go back and work in nicer well paid positions. I wish we do the same....attract expats that gained experience in key industries. Dime a dozen Indians in ML/AI, Intel/Qualcomm and so on....

rockdog

Its really not that hard imagining China doing it themselves as every conference I go to there are bunch of Chinese and Indian's mostly presenting cool stuff but ofcourse most are not original in that I mean idea may or may not originate from them but more from someone else before them and lot of chinese are tapped by CCP and Chinese MNC's to go back and work in nicer well paid positions. I wish we do the same....attract expats that gained experience in key industries. Dime a dozen Indians in ML/AI, Intel/Qualcomm and so on....
It's also the first civil mobile phone supports voice with satte! The chip embedded is also made by Hisillicon

Screenshot_2023-08-30-00-28-12-809_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Screenshot_2023-08-30-00-30-06-664_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

In previous Mate 50, it only supports text msg with Beidou GPS system.

Many Chinese off road fans or hiking lovers use it in Tibet and Xijiang for emergency once no network in wild western.

Chinese Hackers Have Pillaged Taiwan's Semiconductor Industry
A campaign called Operation Skeleton Key has stolen source code, software development kits, chip designs, and more.
iridescent semiconductor waffle

Taiwan has faced existential conflict with China for its entire existence and has been targeted by China's state-sponsored hackers for years. But an investigation by one Taiwanese security firm has revealed just how deeply a single group of Chinese hackers was able to penetrate an industry at the core of the Taiwanese economy, pillaging practically its entire semiconductor industry.

At the Black Hat security conference today, researchers from the Taiwanese cybersecurity firm CyCraft plan to present new details of a hacking campaign that compromised at least seven Taiwanese chip firms over the past two years. The series of deep intrusions—called Operation Skeleton Key due to the attackers' use of a "skeleton key injector" technique—appeared aimed at stealing as much intellectual property as possible, including source code, software development kits, and chip designs. And while CyCraft has previously given this group of hackers the name Chimera, the company's new findings include evidence that ties them to mainland China and loosely links them to the notorious Chinese state-sponsored hacker group Winnti, also sometimes known as Barium, or Axiom.

"This is very much a state-based attack trying to manipulate Taiwan's standing and power," says Chad Duffy, one of the CyCraft researchers who worked on the company's long-running investigation. The sort of wholesale theft of intellectual property CyCraft observed "fundamentally damages a corporation's entire ability to do business," adds Chung-Kuan Chen, another CyCraft researcher who will present the company's research at Black Hat today. "It's a strategic attack on the entire industry."

Skeleton Key

The CyCraft researchers declined to tell WIRED the names of any victim companies. Some were CyCraft customers, while the firm analyzed other intrusions in cooperation with an investigative group known as the Forum of Incident Response and Security Teams. Several of the semiconductor company victims were headquartered at the Hsinchu Industrial Park, a technology hub in the Northwest Taiwanese city of Hsinchu.
The researchers found that in at least some cases, the hackers appeared to gain initial access to victim networks by compromising virtual private networks, though it wasn't clear if they obtained credentials for that VPN access or if they directly exploited vulnerabilities in the VPN servers. The hackers then typically used a customized version of the penetration testing tool Cobalt Strike, disguising the malware they planted by giving it the same name as a Google Chrome update file. They also used a command-and-control server hosted on Google's or Microsoft's cloud services, making its communications harder to detect as anomalous.
From their initial access points, the hackers would attempt to move to other machines on the network by accessing databases of passwords protected with cryptographic hashing and attempting to crack them. Whenever possible, CyCraft's analyst say, the hackers used stolen credentials and legitimate features available to users to move through the network and gain further access, rather than infect machines with malware that might reveal their fingerprints.

The most distinctive tactic that CyCraft found the hackers using repeatedly in victim networks, however, was a technique to manipulate domain controllers, the powerful servers that set the rules for access in large networks. With a custom-built program that combined code from the common hacking tools Dumpert and Mimikatz, the hackers would add a new, additional password for every user in the domain controller's memory—the same one for each user—a trick known as skeleton key injection. With that new password the hackers would have surreptitious access to machines across the company. "It's like a skeleton key that lets them go anywhere," Duffy says China Ties CyCraft quietly published most of these findings about Operation Skeleton Key in April of this year.
But in its Black Hat talk, it plans to add several new findings that help to tie the hacking campaign to mainland China.

Perhaps the most remarkable of those new clues came from essentially hacking the hackers. CyCraft researchers observed the Chimera group exfiltrating data from a victim's network and were able to intercept a authentication token from their communications to a command-and-control server. Using that same token, CyCraft's analysts were able browse the contents of the cloud server, which included what they describe as a "cheat sheet" for the hackers, outlining their standard operating procedure for typical intrusions. That document was notably written in simplified Chinese characters, used in mainland China but not Taiwan.

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

All good but the point is if any of it is actually true? Are the images just staged? The CCP stages everything including rescue operations. It is all for show. A truly innovative China is good for India as like you said it does put pressure on India to compete but these CCP clowns just do CGI crap and fool the world with junk. I say the so called revolutionary hardware free of American tech is all garbage. Probably stolen tech which won’t work after a while. Someone will bust this propaganda soon. China has done nothing innovative on its own despite 40+ years of industrialization, and will never do anything under CCP‘s chutiyapa.

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

Presenting academic papers is very different from actually commercializing an innovation. Chinese have failed miserably in organic innovation. The thousand talents program if done correctly by india is a good program but the Chinese version is just industrial espionage. Most of the Chinese who did this are now in US jails. So this avenue for the CCP to steal is out. If our goberment can recruit experienced and accomplished Indians from anywhere at high salaries, R&D will move faster.

vin bharat mahan

Kumaoni, Uttarakhand

Chinese propaganda arm pushing its narrative using Indian vloggers. Watch out for these snakes and their sponsors from the CCP.

This article raises serious concerns about China’s efforts to drive its narrative in Telugu States using YouTube vloggers. A Telugu YouTuber recently revealed that he earned 30 lakhs in a month for making positive videos about China. It is important to remember that these YouTubers are not necessarily working for the Chinese government. In many cases, they are simply being paid to promote Chinese products or services or narrative. However, the end result is the same: China is using its economic power to influence public opinion in India.

“I admire Communist ideology and like Mao very much since my NCC training during my schooling days. ..I strongly believe that only communism can bring change in India” – This is the statement given by Telugu YouTuber Anvesh Chinni in one of his videos recorded in China referring to Mao Zedong, the former dictator of China. The world knows that Mao was responsible for the deaths of nearly 60 to 80 million of Chinese due to starvation, persecution, prison labour, and mass executions, which drew criticism for his totalitarian rule.

How China Engages South Asia: Themes, Partners and Tools – A report published by the Center for Social & Economic Progress on 3rd May 2023 explains how China is using social media to drive its narrative in India and distort facts about the border dispute. The document contains a chapter on the use of social media by China. It says that the Communist Party of China’s external messaging is targeting Indian audiences on traditional and new media platforms after President Xi Jinping in 2013 said “Tell China’s Story Well”. The report concludes that China’s influence campaign is a serious threat to Indian sovereignty and democracy. It calls on the Indian government to take steps to counter China’s influence and protect its citizens from the spread of Chinese propaganda.

China lost its global reputation due to Covid outbreak from its soil. To regain its image, it started a self defined narrative across the globe using various methods, one of such is peddling through travel vloggers.

YouTubers have embarked on global travel adventures to showcase the geographical, cultural, and traditional highlights of various nations. In a similar way, some Indian YouTube vloggers started touring China. Though it is not a surprise that Indians visit China, an important point to be noted is that in the last 3-4 months, i.e., just before general elections in India, there has been a sudden increase in the number of popular Indian YouTube vloggers who have travelled to China and reporting from there.

Apart from the vloggers touring this communist nation, few Indians residing in China are already making Youtube Vlogs in Indian languages. Surprisingly, China refuses to grant access to journalists for tours but permits YouTube vloggers to enter the country. These vloggers take the liberty to criticize Indian politics from foreign soil, especially from China, a nation that has occupied our territories and poses significant border and economic threats to us. These targeted videos praise China with an impression that their policies are better than India.

This same narrative is picked by pro-Chinese media with an agenda to disseminate further to reach masses. At this point, nationalist must be critical of the content that we consume emanating from China.

On July 23, ‘Nava Telangana’, a Telugu leftist daily published a special story titled ‘Prapancha Yatrikudu’ (World Traveller) praising Telugu YouTube vlogger Anvesh for his China travel series. This China series has 23 videos starting from June 12 -July 18, 2023. In his videos, he uttered unnecessary and provoking statements on Indian politics and its leadership, suspected to be deliberate attempts or scripted.

On June 22, while visiting China National Museum in Beijing, Anvesh’s opening comments were highly objectionable.
Oh Indian, listen carefully… India and China, both were born together. China adopted a revolutionary ideology, and India adopted Democracy. Where are we and where are they ? While both countries are equal in population, India is lagging in terms of Economy, Defense and Technology. What is the reason for this?”.

In a sarcastic tone, he says “Listen attentively, my fellow Indians… India and China, born at the same time. China embraced a revolutionary ideology, and India chose democracy. Despite having similar populations, India is far behind in terms of economy, defense, and technology. …Why do you think this is the case?”

In this series, touring with his Chinese girlfriend, Anvesh often proudly claims to be influential in getting access to highly restricted zones which are generally prohibited to foreigners.

In his video description, he proudly asserts that you won’t find anything like this on YouTube since videos in the National Museum are not allowed. Despite the strict restrictions imposed by the Chinese Government, he claims to be influential and boldly enters the China National Museum with a video camera to record its interior.

This kind of statements and description on his YouTube videos strengthens the suspicion that either he is fooling the Chinese government and its security or part of their conspiracy to build a positive opinion on Chinese infrastructure portrayed on social media. Is breaking the law an adventurism and special privilege in China for this selective vlogger only?

Without any guilt, this vlogger says he is free to walk on empty streets of Wuhan Fish Market, which is not less than an act to whitewash the Chinese made Covid 19 pandemic that killed millions across the globe. This specific video seems to be a scripted attempt to create a positive impact on viewers that ‘China is not a wilful offender of this huge pandemic, but it is a victim of a framed conspiracy’.

These comments are like mocking the international security, health agencies and acclaimed scientists who were denied access by China to visit the same Wuhan Fish market and its lab to find the origins of the pandemic.

Criticism of Indian Governance:

In “China Vs India Comparison” video, he takes the avatar of a political commentator, with zero knowledge on Indian politics, cultural heritage and its social system. His unwanted heavy criticism appears to be rooted in a superficial understanding on some serious issues like poverty, wealth distribution and social structure.

From Chinese soil, he calls to abolish the reservation system, a key plank in addressing the social issues. It is a clear attempt at arousing mutual distrust amongst various sections of the society and an insult to the Indian Constitution and its founding fathers,

By taking the names of successful Indian businessman like Ambani, and Adani in a cynical tone (which Congress and Communists usually do) he dares to suggest the Indian government to follow the Chinese communist model of land distribution and acquisition policy in which Government should be the sole owner of the entire land across the nation.

IT Breach – Intentionally Ignored by the Chinese Government?

In his attempt to create an illusion for Telugu viewers of absolute freedom within China, he conveniently conceals a crucial truth – the Chinese Communist Party imposed a blanket ban on YouTube and various other social media platforms. The pressing question arises: did he resort to Virtual Private Networks to upload a series of 23 videos on his YouTube account? If such measures were indeed taken, how did the Chinese government fail to detect this ongoing breach of their own country’s IT regulations by a foreign individual? Or perhaps, it leads one to ponder whether there was tacit approval or even encouragement from the Chinese government itself. There are plenty of news surfacing on China’s crackdown on VPNs in its country with heavy penalty.

Suppression of Facts:

YouTuber Anvesh Chinnaclaims that there are 10 highly developed cities in China that no Indian city can rival. However, despite his intentions to showcase them, due to pressure he is not doing so. He assures viewers that he will show these cities after the general elections in India.

In another video, he tried to influence viewers’ perception of China as an enemy nation to India. He poses questions like, “Who exactly told us that China is our enemy – was it Modi or Amit Shah?” Additionally, he references prominent figures such as AP Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, as well as opposition leaders Chandra Babu Naidu and Pawan Kalyan. Anvesh advises the Telugu audience that true freedom lies in avoiding verbal wars between the party-workers of these political leaders.

He praises the Chinese government for freedom to its citizens, but he wilfully suppresses the pathetic situation of Uyghur Muslims in Xinjiang. province of China. It is a globally acknowledged fact that China has been committing inhuman crimes against its own citizens, threatening to wipe out religious and ethnic minorities like Uyghur and Tibetan Buddhists. Uyghur population and other Muslim ethnic groups in the north-western region are denied basic fundamental rights like free speech, freedom to practice and propagate religion in China.

While praising the freedom given by its Government to the people of China, he wilfully suppresses the drastic situation of Uyghur Muslims in the XingXian province of China.It is a well known fact that China has been accused of committing inhuman crimes not only against its own citizens, but also religious and ethnic minorities like Uyghur and Tibetan Buddhists. Brutal measures have been put in place against the Uyghur population and other Muslim ethnic groups in the north-western region of Xinjiang. Fundamental rights of free speech, freedom to practice and propagate religion are completely absent in China.

While showing the Tiananmen Square area he says that Chinese officials ordered him not to discuss its history and hence he did not utter a single word about it. Tiananmen Square remained a silent witness of the infamous Massacre committed by the Chinese government on its own thousands of students in the year 1989. The protests by student groups started on 15 April and lasted until 4 June, at which point Chinese government troops carried out a crackdown on the demonstrators around the city and the Square in what is often referred to as the Tiananmen Square massacre.

It is a recent phenomenon that Indian vloggers who travel to China and report on its diversified geography, culture and lifestyle. Even the vloggers praising Chinese is no surprise, but things like holding a camera on the soil of a country that we consider to be our main enemy and making videos pointing out India’s internal political and socio-cultural and economic issues, criticizing government policies and giving free advice to the Government of India on things that India should learn from China is a new and strange development. This is a regular theme in the videos of YouTube vlogger Anvesh who runs the channel ‘Naa Anveshana’.

How to counter China’s influence operations:

– Be critical of the content that we consume. When we see a video or read an article that is promoting China in a positive light, we should ask ourselves why?. Is the content being funded by the Chinese government? Is it being shared by people who are known to be sympathetic to China?

– Be aware of the ways in which China is trying to manipulate public opinion. China is using a variety of methods to influence public opinion, including social media, the entertainment industry, and think tanks. We need to be aware of these methods so that we can protect ourselves from their effects.

– Support Indian Nationalist media outlets and content creators. There are many Indian media outlets and content creators who are producing high-quality content that is critical of China. We should support these outlets and creators by watching their content and sharing it with others.

By taking these steps, we can help to protect ourselves from China’s influence operations and promote a more informed and critical public discourse about China.

“ఏ దేశమేగినా ఎందు కాలిడినా ఏ పీఠమెక్కినా ఎవ్వరేమనినా పొగుడురా నీతల్లి భూమి భారతిని నిలుపురా నీ జాతి నిండు గౌరవము”

(yE dhEshameginA endhu kAlidinA, yE peetamekkinA evvarEmaninA
pogadarA nee thalli bhoomi BhAratini, niluparA nee jAthi nindu gouravamu
)

“No matter whatever country you travel, no matter whatever the position you attain, always praise your motherland Ma Bharati and make her honour be protected”

Above is the popular Telugu poem from “Janmabhoomi” written by famous poet Rayaprolu Subbarao that always stays in the hearts of all people and inspires us.
sad... unfortunately we hv many naxals, urban naxals nd liberals, who love chinese. from kerala to "udhisa" also. u can see their likes in chinese post, but rarely see likes in indian section. 🤭🤭