ADA Tejas Mark-II/Medium Weight Fighter

NoobWannaLearn

DRDO lab to get knowhow of critical tech as part of GE deal, will help indigenous engine programmes: Officials
ANI | Updated: Jun 18, 2023 20:18 IST

New Delhi [India], June 18 (ANI): Gas Turbine Research Establishment-- a DRDO lab involved in the development of indigenous engines-- would be part of the proposed deal with American GE for manufacturing jet engines in India, which would help them gain expertise in the field, government officials said.
The officials said the American firm in an "unprecedented move" is sharing manufacturing technology for engines which is 80 per cent by cost.
GTRE is a Defence Research and Development Organisation laboratory based in Bengaluru and has developed the Kaveri engine which was supposed to originally power the LCA Tejas aircraft variants.
Due to delays in the project, India has been forced to go for the GE-404 engines for the initial 113 LCA aircraft and GE-414s for the LCA Mark 2 and the fifth generation planes planned to be produced in India.
Government officials said, subsequently the percentage of the Transfer of Technologies (ToT) is expected to increase further.
With this Transfer of Technology, the parts will be made in the country and GTRE will be receiving all the know-how including that of processes and coatings for the crystal blades etc will be transferred.
Officials said the proposed ToT is unprecedented and GE has not transferred this level of ToT even to their NATO allies.

India has plans of going in for another bigger jet aircraft engine to power its futuristic versions of the Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft for which it has been in talks with the French side.
However, the present status of the talks between the two sides on the matter is not clear.
The deal may be announced during PM Narendra Modi's visit to the US in the coming week. (ANI)
Chalo kuch to mila

Azaad

DRDO lab to get knowhow of critical tech as part of GE deal, will help indigenous engine programmes: Officials
ANI | Updated: Jun 18, 2023 20:18 IST

New Delhi [India], June 18 (ANI): Gas Turbine Research Establishment-- a DRDO lab involved in the development of indigenous engines-- would be part of the proposed deal with American GE for manufacturing jet engines in India, which would help them gain expertise in the field, government officials said.
The officials said the American firm in an "unprecedented move" is sharing manufacturing technology for engines which is 80 per cent by cost.
GTRE is a Defence Research and Development Organisation laboratory based in Bengaluru and has developed the Kaveri engine which was supposed to originally power the LCA Tejas aircraft variants.
Due to delays in the project, India has been forced to go for the GE-404 engines for the initial 113 LCA aircraft and GE-414s for the LCA Mark 2 and the fifth generation planes planned to be produced in India.
Government officials said, subsequently the percentage of the Transfer of Technologies (ToT) is expected to increase further.
With this Transfer of Technology, the parts will be made in the country and GTRE will be receiving all the know-how including that of processes and coatings for the crystal blades etc will be transferred.
Officials said the proposed ToT is unprecedented and GE has not transferred this level of ToT even to their NATO allies.

India has plans of going in for another bigger jet aircraft engine to power its futuristic versions of the Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft for which it has been in talks with the French side.
However, the present status of the talks between the two sides on the matter is not clear.
The deal may be announced during PM Narendra Modi's visit to the US in the coming week. (ANI)

the parts will be made in the country and GTRE will be receiving all the know-how including that of processes and coatings for the crystal blades etc will be transferred.

MonaLazy

Don't know why people shitting on AL Series engines. It is the monster of its own. As per the durability of the engine with respect to western engine is a question mark. We don't have enough information for a comparison. Out of that IAF were happy with flying them and the Russians does not have problem with flying them in the Ukranian war.
Why is it not powering the Tejas then? Or the RD-33? Also, why don't Russians make single-engine fighters for a long time now?

1687111483695.png

TopWatcher

With this technology transfer, will india now able to develop all types of aero-engines??

patriots

Defense lover
Bdw in rafale procurement
Goi asked the drdo about their requirements,for the offset
Bdw the govt must have talked with all 3 jet engine companies
And all 3 would have agreed in make in India ,but not for tot
This is the best we got after many high level discussion,
We have some knowledge as we have designed kaveri
Time will tell
If any day upgraded kaveri variants can power tejas mk1 and mk1a
It's still good for me

MonaLazy

Time will tell
It's still good for me
Hope you have gotten past your earlier dejection with the state of affairs of Mk2 along the time Janes 'broke' it's 'Mk2 languishing for funds' farticle. The wheels are turning rather fast now (as far as Indian defence procurements go).

Also Safran I can understand were asking for too much money and even then forcing M-88 core down our throats for Kaveri, not working on Kabini. But the Hawk AJT RR corruption scandal is so well timed that it does look like GoI wanted them out of the engine game - and since they were offering everything (IPR included)- a ban resulting from a scam was the only way to boot them out. But why did they see the door? Because they were the farthest behind in next generation turbofan technologies?

Hope you have gotten past your earlier dejection with the state of affairs of Mk2 along the time Janes 'broke' it's 'Mk2 languishing for funds' farticle. The wheels are turning rather fast now (as far as Indian defence procurements go).

Also Safran I can understand were asking for too much money and even then forcing M-88 core down our throats for Kaveri, not working on Kabini. But the Hawk AJT RR corruption scandal is so well timed that it does look like GoI wanted them out of the engine game - and since they were offering everything (IPR included)- a ban resulting from a scam was the only way to boot them out. But why did they see the door? Because they were the farthest behind in next generation turbofan technologies?
Don't do much conspiracy and stuff.

RR is good but they weren't offering everything as it may seem. And Safran have a very refined engine. GE is a step ahead.

We have already designed Tejas based on GE class engine from the get go. And the engine performed flawlessly.

We had seen the performance of western engine in Jaguar and Mirage.

This deal was always reserved for GE. But there will another coming up with Safran or with their involvement.

MonaLazy

The Indian side is evaluating the performances of both the jet engines as well as the aspects related to price, and the extent of transfer of technology and manufacturing in India.
RR is conspicuous by its absence! If Modi Ji is in France he could have hopped across the channel to London to discuss UK's proposal also, no?

Azaad

RR is conspicuous by its absence! If Modi Ji is in France he could have hopped across the channel to London to discuss UK's proposal also, no?
France is our strategic partner in ways Russia used to be & still is to an extent & both the UK & the US never can be. Plus I reckon if we've sealed one deal with the US which is essentially risk mitigation why would we compound it by getting into another risky proposition with a time & tested unreliable ally. We also have a torturous history with the UK as far as defense deals go.

MonaLazy

France is our strategic partner in ways Russia used to be & still is to an extent & both the UK & the US never can be. Plus I reckon if we've sealed one deal with the US which is essentially risk mitigation why would we compound it by getting into another risky proposition with a time & tested unreliable ally. We also have a torturous history with the UK as far as defense deals go.
I agree. Remember reading sometime back that they denied us the then vaunted Tornados and offered Jaguars instead so as to not upset the 'military balance in the region'. Can't locate the source for it now.

Also just my reading of the tea leaves but I don't think Uncle Sam will let in anyone else now for the 120kN engine. Of course, this is risky, but even stepping out of the house is risky. They are trusting us with a lot of their tech- I think they will want the whole pie not just a piece of it. Frenchies can at best hope for MRCBF & MRFA (if it is not dead already) and conventional attack nuke powered submarines, pumpjet propulsion etc.

TopWatcher

Time will tell
It's still good for me
Does rafele procument , offset materialized or not ? What happened to offset money ?

Azaad

I agree. Remember reading sometime back that they denied us the then vaunted Tornados and offered Jaguars instead so as to not upset the 'military balance in the region'. Can't locate the source for it now.

Also just my reading of the tea leaves but I don't think Uncle Sam will let in anyone else now for the 120kN engine. Of course, this is risky, but even stepping out of the house is risky. They are trusting us with a lot of their tech- I think they will want the whole pie not just a piece of it. Frenchies can at best hope for MRCBF & MRFA (if it is not dead already) and conventional attack nuke powered submarines, pumpjet propulsion etc.
The Jaguar transaction was negotiated & finalised by the IG government before the Emergency . It was merely inked by the Morarji Desai Government in 1977 as soon as they assumed office. Not sure where did the Tornado deal come from as they were either just introduced in the RAF then or probably in the early 1980s.

If the US wants the 120 KN TF project, they'd have to agree to our terms namely co development & IP exclusively to our account. I doubt they can bring themselves to commit that far. Hence they effectively rule themselves out.

Besides by setting up a JV for production of the F-414 in India apart from MRO facilities, they're assured of plenty of business from us & the extended region. We're referring to 120-200 Mk-2, 60-100 TEDBF & 40 AMCA Mk-1. That's anywhere between 320 - 480 TFs straight up plus a repeat order (?) of an equivalent number during the TTSL of these air frames.

johnj

And they said after AMCA mk2 engine is done we will have a reprogram which will be to replace engines of Tejas mk2 and amca mk1
According to ADA
All fighter jets from lcamk2, tedbf, amca mk1 gets 110kN class engine once it is done.
LCA mk1 and all its versions use GE f404 and no replacement program so far

stat231

According to ADA
All fighter jets from lcamk2, tedbf, amca mk1 gets 110kN class engine once it is done.
LCA mk1 and all its versions use GE f404 and no replacement program so far
all these talks about mk2 engine deal but is there any update on when mk2 is actually going to roll out with the already received f414 engines?

johnj

all these talks about mk2 engine deal but is there any update on when mk2 is actually going to roll out with the already received f414 engines?
Its a complicated process, its roll out depends on many factors. including the status of LCAmk1a, if every thing going without any issues, then around end of 2024 or early 2025, if ada consider LSP/FOC level jet in the first place then in 2025 or later.