ADA Tejas Mark-II/Medium Weight Fighter

jai jaganath

I think its production ready by 2030's this is logical if we see the estimated timeline:
Nov/Dec 21 : CDR completed after which manufacturing started
late 2022 - early 2023 : roll out of first prototype
late 2023 - early 2024 : First flight
2024-2030 - flight testing period of 6 years (F22- 6yrs, F35- 8-9 yrs, Rafale - 8-9yrs)
2030's - production ready

I hope they can run an accelerated testing timeline but 2030 is not bad, but our fleet number will be really affected
Of 2023 first flight then roll out must be in 2022 right
Noob here

ShukantC

Of 2023 first flight then roll out must be in 2022 right
Noob here
late 2022 or early 2023 roll out and
late 2023 or early 2024 first flight

This is not my exclusive source, its just info collected from the net at large just compiled for easy perusal, so the real timelines are still a mystery and only ADA officials know the truth

Delivery is expected to start by 2030 and not end by 2030.
On an average it takes 5-6 years from first flight to mass production.
If first flight is in 2023 then once can expect start of production by 2030.
Then I want GoI to ram down a huge order of Mk2 down the throats of IAF so India can have 42 squadrons by 2035.

Dark Sorrow

Either he is mistaken or got wrong info if first flight will on 2023 then production will be earlier than what he has written
I think production for 108 nos will be completed by 2030
Tejas has a production rate of 8-12 aircraft per year.
Even if we increase it to 15 per year we will need will need atleast 7-8 years for 108 aircraft.
Even if we start production in 2023, 2030 will be a tough deadline to meet.
Kindly note 2023 is the year of first light an it take 5-6 years from first flight to production for an experienced seasoned aircraft developer.

Then I want GoI to ram down a huge order of Mk2 down the throats of IAF so India can have 42 squadrons by 2035.
Tejas MK-2 is being designed & developed to replace aircrafts like MiG-29, Mirage-2000s and Jaguars. Right now we have 69 MiG-29s, 49 Mirage-2000s and 139 Jaguars in service.

So if we do the math, we get 69+49+139 which is equal to 257, lets take 1 Squadron as 18 aircrafts so in the near future we will need 252-270 Tejas MK-2s to replace our current fleet of Mirage-2000s, MiG-29s and Jaguars which translates to 14-15 squadrons of Tejas MK-2. IAF will have to give a large order of Tejas MK-2s to replace these aircrafts in the near future.

karn

Tejas MK-2 is being designed & developed to replace aircrafts like MiG-29, Mirage-2000s and Jaguars. Right now we have 69 MiG-29s, 49 Mirage-2000s and 139 Jaguars in service.

So if we do the math, we get 69+49+139 which is equal to 257, lets take 1 Squadron as 18 aircrafts so in the near future we will need 252-270 Tejas MK-2s to replace our current fleet of Mirage-2000s, MiG-29s and Jaguars which translates to 14-15 squadrons of Tejas MK-2. IAF will have to give a large order of Tejas MK-2s to replace these aircrafts in the near future.
*Cough* *cough* *mrfa* *cough*
:troll:

*Cough* *cough* *mrfa* *cough*
:troll:
In my opinion, we should give more importance to Tejas MK-2 Program than this entire MRFA wala circus, why don't we just cancel or reduce the number of aircrafts that we need to acquire under MRFA and commit to more numbers of Tejas MK-2?

Dark Sorrow

You are forgetting AMCA, Tejas Mk. 1A and MRCA.
AMCA Mk. 1 -> 40 aircraft
AMCA Mk. 2 -> Unknown quantity (mainly to increase aircraft fleet strength)
MRCA -> 108 aircraft
Tejas Mk. 1A -> 82 aircraft
Remaining void will be filled by Tejas Mk. 2 along with aircraft to increase fleet strength

karn

In my opinion, we should give more importance to Tejas MK-2 Program than this entire MRFA wala circus, why don't we just cancel or reduce the number of aircrafts that we need to acquire under MRFA and commit to more numbers of Tejas MK-2?
I don't disagree. But 36 + 114 + 108 = 258
So it looks like the IAF as a plan for the obsolescence of the aircraft you mentioned .
Mk1a look like they will replace the remaining mig 21s .
Only hope for more mk2s is a reduction in the mrfa or exports.

So it looks like the IAF as a plan for the obsolescence of the aircraft you mentioned .
36 you are referring to the 36 Rafales that we had acquired, 114 refers to MMRCA, but what is that 108 for? Tejas MK-2?

NutCracker

Mk1a look like they will replace the remaining mig 21s .
Nah..
why should we replace 200 Mirage2k+Jaguar with 200M$ MMRCA. Tejas MK2 is perfect replacement for that.

Let them first make TEDBF.. it can be modified to make 100 land based twin engine replacement for Mig29. So the order size for TEDBF program will also reach 200.

And then concentrate on AMCA1.

Lagta hai DFI lurk karta hai ye vyakti.

karn

Nah..
why should we replace 200 Mirage2k+Jaguar with 200M$ MMRCA. Tejas MK2 is perfect replacement for that.

Let them first make TEDBF.. it can be modified to make 100 land based twin engine replacement for Mig29. So the order size for TEDBF program will also reach 200.

And then concentrate on AMCA1.

Lagta hai DFI lurk karta hai ye vyakti.
Looks like the IAF does not want to be involved in the TEDBF since they are not in the driver's seat .. the Navy is .. and the Navy is adamant on getting a pure deck based fighter . As the IAF is already fixed in the AMCA they would not dilute their resources on yet another medium fighter
And similarly the Navy is not interested in the N AMCA which would compromise deck based operations.
I too wish the TEDBF would be the Indian rafale + rafale M . And the AMCA would be the Indian f 35 A+ C .. but it is not to be .. yet.