Small arms and Light Weapons

When picking a gun, what would your primary consideration be?

• Poll closed .

i just got this idea of, "what if IA decides to modernise their Sterling ;Carbines; with rails and stuff", i mean it seems highly unlikely that they would be getting any replacement carbine in near future so...maybe ?

anyway just googled about it and some pics i got...

šŸ˜ say, whatya say if IA gets their Sterlings upgraded like this...with a muzzle brake plus bottom rail for verticle grip and top rail for optical sight and of course JVPC-esque collapsible buttstock...
View attachment 155441
View attachment 155442
View attachment 155443
View attachment 155444
and this is how it would appear to a soldier while aiming down in say, kashmir region in winters lol
View attachment 155445
( pics credit & source =>Naudaff3d at https://www.artstation.com/artwork/oADoQq )

and if you think this is all just brain farts-imagination of some artist,
there indeed are some users who've done this kind of ;mod; on their Sterlings, for e.g.
View attachment 155446
View attachment 155447
View attachment 155448

and this vdo (seems like gopro recorded one, starting is kinda meh but after a while you could clearly see this user blasting targets with his Sterling + reddot combo)

So, whatya say ?
The side mag will make it uncomfortable to hold on , aim and also carry for CQB when simpler and better option are available.

But sterlings can be provided to rural police personnel etc or sold off in Africa. We need to standardise our police personnel gears too.

MisraZ

The side mag will make it uncomfortable to hold on , aim and also carry for CQB when simpler and better option are available.

But sterlings can be provided to rural police personnel etc or sold off in Africa. We need to standardise our police personnel gears too.
Those sterlings are a waste of space even in a dustbin. Just sell them as scrap or convert it to semi auto, make some cosmetic changes and flood American civilian market with name 'Starwars blaster gun'. May be we'll get some money out of it.

Government forces of African countries won't buy this piece of junk as they can get uzis and Aks en masse cheap. Forget government forces even non state terrorists won't buy this.

Press F to pay respect to the legendary Sterling.

NotASussyBoi

Those sterlings are a waste of space even in a dustbin. Just sell them as scrap or convert it to semi auto, make some cosmetic changes and flood American civilian market with name 'Starwars blaster gun'. May be we'll get some money out of it.

Government forces of African countries won't buy this piece of junk as they can get uzis and Aks en masse cheap. Forget government forces even non state terrorists won't buy this.

Press F to pay respect to the legendary Sterling.
let's give them to balochi cops if balochistan is independent lol

So with the sig 716 deal dead and ak203 in a cold storage according to me now going for IWI ace in 7.62x51 for battlerifle ,5.56 variant for carbine and 7 .62x39 is a sound one .we are incapable of standardising ammo so just standardise the rifle
Army wanted 66,000 multi calibre weapons in the tender that was cancelled in 2011. We were very close to buying the ARX 160 which would have been another maintenance queen with only aimpoint RDS.

The Army decided to be clever and pushed the AR 10 based Sig 716i as a 'multi calibre weapon' due to it's modularity and made a joint purchase with IN and IAF.

The cost of the first deal for 72,400 (IA 66400) guns is 700 crore. However the TI ballistic computer sights for ~ 29,000 Sig 716i is 1400 crore for which trials were ongoing as per the last update.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.ti...t-improved-night-fighting-capabilities/843741
https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.thew...-against-repeating-us-assault-rifle-order/amp

The follow on order for 72,000 more guns was conceived when the AK 203 deal was not inked and the Russians were hardballing us. In addition we had a friendly US Govt. under Trump which we don't have right now.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.econ...an-sigsauer-guns/amp_articleshow/74001571.cms

Now we have cause for neither. The deal may have scraped through but the Russia-Ukraine War ended that avenue with SWIFT sanctions now on the table.

The Ak 203 deal is highly unlikely to be scrapped given that the factory, tooling and training has already been prepared combined with a political angle to the setting of the production facility.

The Galil ACE was under trails with various agencies (probably MHA) but there was no further information to be found regarding this.

To summarise, the Ak 203 deal will unfortunately go through.

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
Why does masshooters always go for the xm15 this gun was already notorious now its used again in baffalo shooting incident .bushmaster was sued in court for one case

May be easy access good rapport marketing etc.

Bushmaster provides quality firearms in USA and is a respected company. Rest all i think is just luck. Unfortunate incident.

Is it available in English...

All i know is its a derivative of HK and they have LMG DMR etc based on that and quick barrel/ mag change to convert it from 5.56 to 7.62 AK and possibly 7.62 NATO .

What sort of issues it's facing ?

MisraZ

Bushmaster provides quality firearms in USA and is a respected company. Rest all i think is just luck. Unfortunate incident.

All i know is its a derivative of HK and they have LMG DMR etc based on that and quick barrel/ mag change to convert it from 5.56 to 7.62 AK and possibly 7.62 NATO .

Bhai just use Google Translate.

As Onet learned, several of these weapons were tested by the Military Police in Warsaw. - When I saw that rifle, I thought it was some old digging gear. It was covered with rust, one of the gendarmes tells us.
At that time, he had a buttstock secured with a wide rubber band to prevent it from moving. I thought, "This is how this weapon is supposed to be tested?"
The shooters approached the rifle one by one and emptied the magazines in short bursts. Long bursts were not fired. The changes of the shooters allowed the weapon to dissipate some heat. The drama began with the 10th magazine. The weapon started to smoke despite the fact that it was properly prepared for firing - reports those tests Moszner. - The rifle bed, i.e. the element that covers part of the barrel, became so hot that it was impossible to shoot without gloves. Without them, a soldier will not be able to fire as many magazines in a combat situation without severely burning his hands
While firing the 30th magazine, the barrel of the rifle was bent under the influence of heat. - I have never seen a rifle barrel bend during shooting - says Moszner. - It was a dramatic situation. We stopped shooting for fear for the safety of the people involved.
During the tests, Paweł Moszner's team found that the gas regulator and the piston of the weapon fell out of the grotto. In order not to lose them, soldiers attach them to their weapons with ties, i.e. plastic clamps. Without the regulator, the weapon will not reload and you have to do it manually.

Another design problem concerns the buttstock made - according to the authors of the analysis - "from damage-promoting materials".

In their report, the authors include photos of torn butts and torn butt mounts. "The manufacturer noted that the weapon is also intended for ... hand-to-hand combat. But how to hit the enemy with such a weak butt?" - they ask in their study.

After WOT soldiers reported that rust was attacking the grottos after just one day in rainy conditions at the training ground, the team decided to conduct their own test. One of the carbines was left without cleaning for two days after shooting, and the other one for a week.

They are both rusty and had to be sprayed on to use them. We had to open the rifle and spray chemicals to make it usable again - reports Moszner.
Another aspect in which specialists have compared the construction of the mainsail to those "made under conspiratorial conditions during World War II" is the "incredible" number of screws used to assemble the weapon.
In their report, the authors also present a popular online photo showing the breakage of the entire magazine well, i.e. the element into which the rifle magazine is inserted

In the photos, the team shows bolts made so sloppy as if they came from a "home workshop". - If such an element breaks, it is at the welds - informs us Moszner. - It is also a very serious image issue pointing to a primitive workmanship that cannot be found in modern weapons.

Lonewarrior

Nope
Yup
And nope

It's not based on HK; it's a (kinda) licensed production of Magpul's Masada-II.
Now what's a Masada-II?
Well actually there were two quite distinct patents from Magpul's side for an assault rifle. One of them eventually became Masada/ACR and the other one was shelved. They acquired this patent and made it into MSBS/Grot with some tweaks.

The problem with MSBS is that it's a top of the line assault rifle but; the production facility is yet to evolve into its full potential.

Some quite common reported problems are :

1. Either too high glass fibre in polymer or too little. In both cases it results in things cracking or even breaking. The stock hinges break quite often so does the magwell.

2. The bolt is not properly heat treated nor it is stressed relived after welding. Some MSBSs have got there bolt carrier cracked or chipped after only a few hundred rounds.

3. Surface treatment on steel parts are substandard resulting in rust.

4. The gas regulator is not fully optimised. There have been instances where it has simply fallen off without any kind of manipulation from the user.

Nope
Yup
And nope

It's not based on HK; it's a (kinda) licensed production of Magpul's Masada-II.
Now what's a Masada-II?
Well actually there were two quite distinct patents from Magpul's side for an assault rifle. One of them eventually became Masada/ACR and the other one was shelved. They acquired this patent and made it into MSBS/Grot with some tweaks.

The problem with MSBS is that it's a top of the line assault rifle but; the production facility is yet to evolve into its full potential.

Some quite common reported problems are :

1. Either too high glass fibre in polymer or too little. In both cases it results in things cracking or even breaking. The stock hinges break quite often so does the magwell.

2. The bolt is not properly heat treated nor it is stressed relived after welding. Some MSBSs have got there bolt carrier cracked or chipped after only a few hundred rounds.

3. Surface treatment on steel parts are substandard resulting in rust.

4. The gas regulator is not fully optimised. There have been instances where it has simply fallen off without any kind of manipulation from the user.
To sun it up, it's the Polish brother of INSAS.

BlackViking

@Johny_Baba @Lonewarrior , sorry for bothering you again.
I have a new doubt. In M-LOK I know that a nut rotates and fit in to the slot, but in the fab defense lower handguard, it appears to me that there is no space for the nut to rotate as the heat shield is just behind (for the blue one).
Screenshot (1)_LI.jpg

Even in this pic shared by Lonewarrior, I am unable to make any guess how the nut rotates as I cannot guess if there are any hollow spaces just behind the slot.
at-paintball_fabdefense_vanguard-046.jpg

What I want to know is that whether FAB Mod has slots of the type in left or the right according to the pic I drew (below).
InkedUntitled_LI.jpg

(Yellow/Red: Heat Sink, Green: Slots, Black: Lower Handguard Body)

Do Fab Defense use some other kind of nut-bolt instead of the standard Magpul nut-bolt (below)?