Skirmishs at LOC, LAC & International Border

With Doklam and Brics both finished China will take some time to prepare for next panga. In the meantime Pak can be screwed royally. I guess the recent statements by army brass mean something is cooking on LoC front. News of more terror camps and higher number of terrorists seem to be a justification for an army Op in the planning.

Indian Army Chief Gen Bipin Rawat has a big mouth: China's Global Times on salami slicing, two-front war remarks

Another hot air from gobar times...

Sent from my XT1562 using Tapatalk
So what's wrong with what the Army Chief said? Does that amount to saying he has a 'big mouth'? Isn't what he said a fact that the whole world knows? A two-front war was a threat perception that existed since 2008. So what's new? It's therefore strange that it still gives you the insensitivity to bash the Chief, which is uncalled for.

Indian Sniper.001

So what's wrong with what the Army Chief said? Does that amount to saying he has a 'big mouth'? Isn't what he said a fact that the whole world knows? A two-front war was a threat perception that existed since 2008. So what's new? It's therefore strange that it still gives you the insensitivity to bash the Chief, which is uncalled for.
Bhai, if I'm not mistaken, you have misconstrued him. He didn't say it, he merely quoted 'Gobar Times'. Yes, he should have attached the link, but he didn't. Those were not his words.
CC: @PD_Solo

Bhai, if I'm not mistaken, you have misconstrued him. He didn't say it, he merely quoted 'Gobar Times'. Yes, he should have attached the link, but he didn't. Those were not his words.
CC: @PD_Solo
Oooops! My bad! But his post makes it look like he said that the Chief has a big mouth! I wish he had put that in quotes as it was from Gobar Times! :smile:

Copy to: @PD_Solo

square

Strategic Issues
chini ki bhav , upper necchey hota rahta hai..

Indian Sniper.001

It will be costly

surgical strikes are less expensive but of high risk to soldiers life

one surgical strike would cost army hardly 1-2 crore.
Another point is that will be drive fear deep into the Porkis hearts, that we can strike them at will in PoK (our territory). Also, we have the option of making it psychological if we actually burn them and deny them their hoors. What say?

yes
like crossing over and hitting them
ghus ke marna

It will be costly

surgical strikes are less expensive but of high risk to soldiers life

one surgical strike would cost army hardly 1-2 crore.
Wanted to do this for a long time. Talking plainly on numbers, how much should we value a soldier.
Taking the 38% of defence budget earmarked for salaries of 15 lakh soldiers, it comes to 621400 per soldier per year. In India gross value added per employee is 6.6 as an average. Lets take 10 for soldiers.
So, the value each soldier adds per year will come to 62 lakhs. (Correct my calculations please)

Now we can calculate which option is better.

Wanted to do this for a long time. Talking plainly on numbers, how much should we value a soldier.
Taking the 38% of defence budget earmarked for salaries of 15 lakh soldiers, it comes to 621400 per soldier per year. In India gross value added per employee is 6.6 as an average. Lets take 10 for soldiers.
So, the value each soldier adds per year will come to 62 lakhs. (Correct my calculations please)

You need to go and have a look at the tenders from IA. Close to 70% of tenders are food, nutrition and medical.

IA Is not like our regular jobs, IA does much more to take care of soldiers and their families.

You need to go and have a look at the tenders from IA. Close to 70% of tenders are food, nutrition and medical.

IA Is not like our regular jobs, IA does much more to take care of soldiers and their families.
Would it come to 38% as it does for salaries? I supposed the increased Gross Value Added (productivity in other words) should cover it?

Also add training cost to it and what ever @ezsasa has mentioned. Even then the surgical strike would be cheaper than launching MRL or field arty. Or deploying airforce.

Much cheaper will be use of drones. Deployed from forward airbases or handled from satellite locations based on portable power units.

1. you save fuel
2. you save time
3. you save life and unnecessary ammo.

If drones are deployed from mainland airbases then cost will be high as communication would require power to produce specific frequency to command and communicate the drone.

Away from the standoff, Indian Army battled the elements to secure LAC

While the nation’s eyes were riveted on the war of eyeballs at Doklam, the Indian Army was battling another set of adversities on the Line of Actual Control (LAC) in Uttarakhand just so as to be prepared should any hostilities break out. A visit to the frontier by The New Indian Express, even as the ‘expeditious disengagement’ at Doklam was being announced, brought home the odds India’s military faces in securing India’s borders in this arc of the LAC.

The path up to Barahoti, Niti Pass and other areas close to the LAC is treacherous. It’s a narrow snaky path with the sheer drop of the mountain on one side and a steep valley on the other. Landslides and shooting stones are a possibility at any time. A misjudgment by an inch or two can result in a plunge down the valley with absolutely no hope of survival. Get caught in a landslide and there is no guarantee how long one could be stuck here without help.

There’s no mobile phone connectivity throughout the 100 km stretch and not a single fuel station. Plus, at heights above 16,000 ft, oxygen is rare and high-altitute pulmonary oedema can be a killer. In case the situation demands travel at night, this is nothing but a deadly game of Russian roulette.

Ever since the Doklam standoff began between India and China, hundreds of trucks transported artillery equipment and thousands of men up this treacherous stretch from Josihmath to the LAC. The heavy movement of artillery and troops was carried out amid fears that a ‘limited action’ could take place on this front instead of at Doklam. Repeated incursions by Chinese troops here indicated that possibility.

In sharp contrast to the metal-topped roads, rail links, air strips, radar systems, fuel depots and other state-of-the-art infrastructure on the Chinese side, the Indian Army convoys which were moved to Joshimath from different places were vastly hampered by the poor infrastructure on the Indian side. p9

Some of the units arrived here from Dehradun, about 300 km away, after navigating landslide-prone zig-zagging roads. But their hardest task was the last 100 km stretch from Joshimath to Barahoti and Niti Pass.

To travel from Joshimath to Niti Pass, civilians need an Inner Line Permit from the office of the sub-divisional magistrate in Joshimath. At Tapovan, some 15 km beyond Josihmath, mobile phones go dead. Further along starts a dangerously slushy path which can bring vehicles to the brink if not driven carefully.

http://www.newindianexpress.com/nat...ed-the-elements-to-secure-lac-1653920--1.html