I strongly believe additional Rafale negotiations are going on parallely. Most probably IAF is saying to the french fries-"See we have options. We have the Gripen, F-21, Mig 35, that new single engine Russian vodka ready to Make In India. So woo us. This is your deal to loose. You peeps already lost a mega billion deal in Australia. Offer us a better price".
The IAF Chief in his first media encounter, Unplanned and unprepared let his heart flew out and MWF was there. In the following prepared and vetted speeches, he again throws the MMRCA bait. He wants the French to come down on price and MoFinance babus to open up the purse for 2 additional Rafales. IAF gets 72/110 of their ever loved and lusted french Madame' . MoF babus holds the cash bag. DRDO Chief Satheesh Reddy is right hand of PM and was given a tenure extension some time back because he is Modi's goto man for Defence and procurments like Doval and Jaishankar for Natsec and Foreign Affairs. He will advice the Modi against this 110 make in india MRFA bakwas. Some people here are simply overestimating the power and influence of service chiefs in India.
If the babus want, they can make our Genraals and Marshaals dance to Rehman's param sundari and kick their MRFA sundari out to gutters. Forget MoD, MoF babus will kill MRFA sundari
IAF is no where at fault here
Rafale is all in all suprior aircraft than both MKI and Mirage-2000
MWF is not even in its category
With woping 9 ton payload capacity
The amount of Weapons package it offers
Scalp+Meteor combo
Any professnal force will ask for it in 21 st century
As it give supremacy over adversaries
Irony in your statement is demeaning to A institution which served and bled for Nation
And even bleeding for it today by flying 50 era
Aircraft
That Billions $ we waste on needless socialist schemes every year 20 % of which goes to corruption.
I don't think IAF is asking for anything less
Giving to the reputation DSPSU'S has
And there commitment to.push deadlines I don't think
IAF is anywhere wrong on there assumption to.presume dedication of projects like
MWF and TEDBF completion in allocation time
Giving to the factor if Govt changes after 2024
When we are have impending Limited Skirmish on the cards anytime now