Know Your 'Rafale'

Prashant12

If it helps to protect the country, 100%!!!
But as Parrikar stated, 126 Rafales would have required 90.000 crores INR / ~ 14 billion USD. Now you tell me, what's better?

14 billion for...
- 126 fighters
- at air bases all around the country
- with licence production
- with critical ToT
- with option clause for 63 more
- with 7 billion offsets, reinvested into our aviation industry with state of the art techs
-To protect country, we can consider cost effective aircraft like su-30, tejas-mk1, mk2, plus upgrades to existing fleet.
-That 126 Rafales does not include weapons, modification, customization etc.
-Critical ToT is Joke. No Country transfers such tot, except screwdriver tot.
-License production of rafales makes the deal even more expensive just like su-30
-When india cannot afford 126 rafales, where is question of 63 more ?

Compared to the PMs deal

9 billion USD for...
- only 36 fighters
- only at 2 air bases in the north
- no licence production
- no critical ToT
- no option clause
- only 4.5 USD billion offsets, reinvested into our aviation industry for screwdriver jobs
Deal includes revival of kaveri engine, weapons, modification, customization etc.

Wrong, every force has their own operational requirements and their own budgets, based on the overall defence budget, so don't try to mix up all together.
Wrong, all are part of capital acquisition which is shared between three services and bulk of share goes for committed liability.

Not the reports are random, but you trying to justify your points with articles that don't support it.
Just google search, all the points are in the public domain.

Like i said they are cheaper options available like su-30 & tejas mk1, mk2.

No one justify 28 -30 billion for 126 rafales, when proposed FGFA itself is 25 - 30 billion for 127 fighters plus development cost.

Prashant12

If it helps to protect the country, 100%!!!
But as Parrikar stated, 126 Rafales would have required 90.000 crores INR / ~ 14 billion USD. Now you tell me, what's better?

14 billion for...
- 126 fighters
- at air bases all around the country
- with licence production
- with critical ToT
- with option clause for 63 more
- with 7 billion offsets, reinvested into our aviation industry with state of the art techs

Compared to the PMs deal

9 billion USD for...
- only 36 fighters
- only at 2 air bases in the north
- no licence production
- no critical ToT
- no option clause
- only 4.5 USD billion offsets, reinvested into our aviation industry for screwdriver jobs

Even if we had paid 20 billion, there is no doubt that any MMRCA deal, would had been better for India, IAF and our aviation industry, than the bad deal of the PM!

Wrong, every force has their own operational requirements and their own budgets, based on the overall defence budget, so don't try to mix up all together.

Not the reports are random, but you trying to justify your points with articles that don't support it.

:biggrin2:
Also that 28 - 30 billion price of 126 4th gen rafales is more than 127 5th gen fighters.

A HAL-made Sukhoi (around Rs 450 crore) also costs Rs 100 crore more than the price of the same jet imported from Russia.

So, despite Russian pressure to ink the long-pending final R&D contract for the FGFA, India now wants to know whether it will get good value for the estimated $25 billion it will spend to induct 127 of these single-seat jets.
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...h-full-tech-transfer/articleshow/57546519.cms

Sancho

-To protect country, we can consider cost effective aircraft like su-30, tejas-mk1, mk2, plus upgrades to existing fleet.
First of all, if that would be true, the PMs deal is even worse, because we wouldn't needed the 36 Rafales either!

Secondly, protecting the country requires capability!
Only upgraded MKIs will offer comparable capabilites to MMRCAs, which comes at additional procurement costs, than the once we produce now and MKIs have higher operational costs than MMRCAs as well, which is one reason why IAF insists on MMRCAs.
LCA lacks even capability to meet it's own requirements and is far below MMRCA requipments.

So no there is no alternative to MMRCA, that is more cost-effective, with the same capability, you can only choose another more cost-effective MMRCA in higher numbers and that's what the government is at least claiming to do with new MMRCA tenders, rather than follow on orders of Rafale.

-That 126 Rafales does not include weapons, modification, customization etc.
According to Parrikar, it included everything. But as I said, even if we take 20 billions, which is in the middle of his and your price, the simple fact that the MMRCA deal offered far more of everything in return, makes it far more useful for India.

-Critical ToT is Joke. No Country transfers such tot, except screwdriver tot.
Which is a nice claim, but can be easily disproven by comparing the Thales offers of Rafale in the MMRCA and the Rafale deal.

MMRCA
- licence production of RBE 2 AESA radar
- licence production of FSO-TV
- integration and maintenance of these systems in India

Rafale deal
- integration and maintenance of RBE these systems in India

Deal includes revival of kaveri engine, weapons, modification, customization etc.
The same had been the case for a Rafale MMRCA deal, because Kaveri revival is part of the offsets and ISE is based on operational requirements of IAF and not specific to a certain procurement policy or to specific negotiations.

Just google search, all the points are in the public domain.
Lol, again not the reports are the problem, but that they doesn't support what you claim!

Sancho

Advaidhya Tiwari

Which is a nice claim, but can be easily disproven by comparing the Thales offers of Rafale in the MMRCA and the Rafale deal.

MMRCA

Rafale deal
License production is assembly. No one needs that. Don't repeat the same thing over and over again. Tell me when someone other than Russia agrees to give blueprint of technology to DRDO.

Only upgraded MKIs will offer comparable capabilites to MMRCAs, which comes at additional procurement costs, than the once we produce now and MKIs have higher operational costs than MMRCAs as well, which is one reason why IAF insists on MMRCAs.
LCA lacks even capability to meet it's own requirements and is far below MMRCA requipments.
That is called absurdity. Rafales are not some god made items. The quantity advantage of Tejas trumps the size advantage of Rafale. Quality x Quantity is what wins the war.

Equation of strength :- Strength = (Quantity X Quality X WillPower) + Leverage

Prashant12

First of all, if that would be true, the PMs deal is even worse, because we wouldn't needed the 36 Rafales either!

So no there is no alternative to MMRCA, that is more cost-effective, with the same capability, you can only choose another more cost-effective MMRCA in higher numbers and that's what the government is at least claiming to do with new MMRCA tenders, rather than follow on orders of Rafale.

According to Parrikar, it included everything. But as I said, even if we take 20 billions, which is in the middle of his and your price, the simple fact that the MMRCA deal offered far more of everything in return, makes it far more useful for India.

Su-30 has all the capability, that india wanted and eventually all su-30 fighters will be upgraded.
Even rafale also have higher operational which is why serviceability of french airforce is 48%.
LCA & Su-30 is best cost + capability for IAF.

MMRCA
India got TOT even in su-30 deal, but still imports the radar and even spares too.
India got TOT in scorpene sub deal, but only 30% indigenous rest all are imported from france despite so called tot.
You check every deal tot is nothing but joke.

Source ?

The same had been the case for a Rafale MMRCA deal, because Kaveri revival is part of the offsets and ISE is based on operational requirements of IAF and not specific to a certain procurement policy or to specific negotiations.
It was never part of any negotiations during mmrca deal.

Lol, again not the reports are the problem, but that they doesn't support what you claim!
Then you prove your claims, since you haven't provided any source.

Again example for your random and pointless use of reports, neither does the article say anything on the Rafale / MMRCA costs, nor does FGFA have even the same requirement or industrial meaning as MMRCA fighters or the MMRCA.
Unlike you i am making points backed by source.

Cost of 126 Rafale is 28-30 billion.
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/repor...ikely-to-dent-iaf-s-strike-capability-1957107

Cost of 127 FGFA + dev is 25 billion.
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...h-full-tech-transfer/articleshow/57546519.cms

FGFA has more industrial meaning than expensive MMRCA because mmrca is just another license manufacturing like su-30 with fake TOT, whereas FGFA is co-development project with india funding 50% development cost & work share.

All of what you wrote may be true but keep in mind that Rafale is an in service plane at present. Care to share how many FGFA s are flying in Russia or India. IAF needs planes now, infact its already running late on obsolence timeline.

For whom? Certainly not India. And the co-development is about as legitimate as a INR 5000 banknote.

Rossis want us to foot the bill for their three-legged bear while they slip the tech to the Cheenis under the radar.

No thanks, I'll take off the shelf purchases when they have ti ready. If that ever happens that is.

Advaidhya Tiwari

India got TOT even in su-30 deal, but still imports the radar and even spares too.
India got TOT in scorpene sub deal, but only 30% indigenous rest all are imported from france despite so called tot.
You check every deal tot is nothing but joke.
Su3o is full ToT, even radar. BARS radar is Indian and so is the engine. Only 485 spare parts out of 32000 are imported and that too as license fees, not due to lack of Technology. Russia gave full ToT as India had paid for its development.

I agree that France did not give full ToT for submarine. But the number if 50%.
All of what you wrote may be true but keep in mind that Rafale is an in service plane at present. Care to share how many FGFA s are flying in Russia or India. IAF needs planes now, infact its already running late on obsolence timeline.
Without numbers, we are not going anywhere. Unless you give me a way to get planes in thousands, there is no point chattering about 36/72 planes. Just like cars can be made in lakhs, there is nothing that stops from planes being made enmasse except to avoid arms build up.

As of now, Su30 MKI and Tejas are made in India and sufficient quantity of the two will be sufficient to do all the jobs for India. Rafale is a liability in terms of dependence on imports for spares, maintenance etc.

darshan978

Darth Vader

MMRCA

Rafale deal

what? blind khangressi speaking white lie.
if 126 rafale was available for 14billion why did we gone for 36 rafale @8billion dallars? because,mr pidi
whole deal was not even finalized, plus you might be quoting 14billion dollar @ ~2010 price and you should remember it 2018 not ~2010.
and can u tell us why qatar and egypt also bought rafale @almost similar price as india?

Advaidhya Tiwari

if 126 rafale was available for 14billion why did we gone for 36 rafale @8billion dallars? because,mr pidi
whole deal was not even finalized, plus you might be quoting 14billion dollar @ ~2010 price and you should remember it 2018 not ~2010.
and can u tell us why qatar and egypt also bought rafale @almost similar price as india?
Rafale deal did not have agreeements for spare parts, maintenance, ToT in the initial $14 billion deal. If these additional packages and weapons package is added, the cost would have gone to $26 billion

darshan978

Darth Vader
and 126 rafale would have cost around 28-30 billion if and only if we would have successfully negotiated with french but unfortunately just like 2010 the negotiation failed(2014) under modi govt. bcoz w all know how tiny our budget is so rafale deal is non viable so modi gone for 36 and that was huge mistake as every khangressi dont know economy of scale and cost of production lol... every one is not commerce student tho..

Without numbers, we are not going anywhere. Unless you give me a way to get planes in thousands, there is no point chattering about 36/72 planes. Just like cars can be made in lakhs, there is nothing that stops from planes being made enmasse except to avoid arms build up.

As of now, Su30 MKI and Tejas are made in India and sufficient quantity of the two will be sufficient to do all the jobs for India. Rafale is a liability in terms of dependence on imports for spares, maintenance etc.
Why dont you post reasonable numbers for a change. You talked abt thousands of nuke bombs in another thread, now asking way to produce planes in thousands. While it sounds good in theory, its impractical to do, atleast for India. For a country that took years to finalise 126 planes yet could not do so, eventually bought 36 planes which are still being debated to hell.
Other than arms buildup there are other constraints like budget, technology level, skilled labour etc that limits the production numbers of any product, not just fighter planes. You could read abit of production management for a start.

Sancho

License production is assembly.
Wrong, that are 2 separate things. We licence produce the MKI in India, with most of it's parts sourced from Indian sources. Only those parts that are produced abroad, will be assembled and integrated in India.

That is called absurdity. Rafales are not some god made items. The quantity advantage of Tejas trumps the size advantage of Rafale. Quality x Quantity is what wins the war.
Wrong again, because you need around 3 times the LCAs to carry the weapon loads, or do the missions, that a single Rafale can do. So numbers are not LCAs advantage, but a necessity to match the capabilities of MMRCAs. That's also why no other major air force uses light class fighters anymore, but prefer to start with medium class fighters at the lower end, because they add more capabilities and therfore can take over more roles from high end fighters, which translates into lower operational costs. And by the fact that LCA currently comes also with pretty high costs, the higher need of numbers, is also a financial burden on IAF for procurement and operational terms.

Advaidhya Tiwari

Why dont you post reasonable numbers for a change. You talked abt thousands of nuke bombs in another thread, now asking way to produce planes in thousands. While it sounds good in theory, its impractical to do, atleast for India. For a country that took years to finalise 126 planes yet could not do so, eventually bought 36 planes which are still being debated to hell.
Other than arms buildup there are other constraints like budget, technology level, skilled labour etc that limits the production numbers of any product, not just fighter planes. You could read abit of production management for a start.
Please stop your cost calculations based on current prices. The cost is escalated due to lack of scale and extraordinary checks in quality. With reducing unnecessary quality checks repetitively and increasing scale, the cost will come down drastically. The cost of a Tejas won't be over 25 crore if entirely made in India and mass produced in thousands. India can afford planes enmasse as scaling will reduce costs drastically.

Wrong, that are 2 separate things. We licence produce the MKI in India, with most of it's parts sourced from Indian sources. Only those parts that are produced abroad, will be assembled and integrated in India.
MKI is produced with full ToT and is the true license production. The license production offered by western countries are nothing but assembly. Western countries are hypocrites who say one thing and do another and whose words are devoid of meaning. The french license production means assembly.

Wrong again, because you need around 3 times the LCAs to carry the weapon loads, or do the missions, that a single Rafale can do. So numbers are not LCAs advantage, but a necessity to match the capabilities of MMRCAs. That's also why no other major air force uses light class fighters anymore, but prefer to start with medium class fighters at the lower end, because they add more capabilities and therfore can take over more roles from high end fighters, which translates into lower operational costs. And by the fact that LCA currently comes also with pretty high costs, the higher need of numbers, is also a financial burden on IAF for procurement and operational terms
We don't need 3 times LCA. 2 LCA is sufficient to be better than rafale. No other major airforce has extremely hostile neighbourhoods like India so close-by. It is not a good comparison.

The planes are not for CAS roles but air to air and strike roles. For long range attack, there is always Su30. I never claimed that Tejas is enough on a standalone basis. Combination of Su30 and Tejas is needed to maintain cost effectiveness and offensive attacks

Please, I remember as if it was yesterday, Dassault was jumping to offer full TOT, source codes etc. The RFP had a 60% TOT clause as part of MMRCA, hence even by that figure the MMRCA was a better option. Weapons and Indian specific enhancements have been known a long time. It was clear even back then IAF would slap some Israeli helmets, weapons and other things onto it's versions.

Sancho

Su-30 has all the capability, that india wanted
Yes, it offered all we wanted in the late 90s, when we ordered them, it doesn't offer what it needs for modern air combat now, that's why it's technically not as capable as most MMRCAs and needs an upgrade, that also increases it's costs.

A common misconception

1) ToT for how to assemble or produce airframe parts, or how to build an AESA radar are 2 different things. That's exactly why the MMRCA requested critical techs like AESA, engine or EW from the start as part of the licence production, or why the government is asking for ToT that can be useful for AMCA, in the MMRCA 2.0 now.

2) Neither licence production, assembly or ToT has anything to do with spare supply! Every OEM and it's country mainly benefits from support contracts and spare supply over the 30 to 40 years of operational life of the fighters and not just from the procurement costs they get. So they sell fighters in flyaway condition, with assembly or licence production parts, but they never will give away full control of the lucrative upgrade and spare supply.

3) Our licence productions and the indigenous contents in it, kept growing and growing with each new contract. The MKI deal, gave us far more own work and capability, than earlier Mig 21 licence production deals, just as the MMRCA was meant to reach a new benchmark for contracts as well. The 50% offset requirement alone, was a first, the performance and quality clauses in the DPP were partly because of the lessons learned from the initial problems in the MKI licence production, the request for higher customization and techs was a show of strength too, because we were in a good position to negotiate and even the PBL the current government added to the DPP 2016, is another progress for any new deal we make.

MMRCA
An official shared this example. The radar on the Rafale jet is to be manufactured by Bharat-Electronics Ltd (BEL) at its facility in Bangalore. The Radome (the protruding snub nose on the aircraft) is, however, manufactured by HAL at its Hyderabad facility. Dassault wants clarity on how the two units will coordinate their activities.
https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/gov...eal-going-through-518850?amp=1&akamai-rum=off

Rafale deal
Leveraging Thales offset commitment as part of Rafale Contract, the JV is to develop Indian capabilities to integrate and maintain Radar and Electronic Warfare sensors
https://www.thalesgroup.com/en/worl...d-reliance-defence-limited-form-joint-venture

It was never part of any negotiations during mmrca deal.
First of all you don't know that, unless you were part of the UPA or NDA negotiation teams, which I highly doubt.
Secondly, UPA and NDA were still negotiation the basic MMRCA deal, which was in a deadlock because of Dassaults non compliance to the RFP. Any negotiations on weapons (with MBDA, Rafael), or on enhancements (Rafael, IAI, Thales, Dassault), could had been done only after an agreement and compliance on the MMRCA deal.

Unlike you i am making points backed by source.
That's the point, you don't back your claims, since the reports you post talk about completely different things!

The report you posted on the Mirage licence production, confirmed me not you! You only tried to spin the content of the article to make it suit you, but that's it.
Same goes for the FGFA article, where you are even right, that it has far more industrial benefits than MMRCA, because it was meant to be a co-development. But it still has no meaning for the MMRCA requirement!
The LCA programme has the most industrial meaning and benefits for Indian aviation industry, but in operational terms for IAF, it is nothing but a low end supporting fighter requirement, while MKI and MMRCAs are needed to defend the country with the necessary capability.
That's why randomly mixing up things, doesn't somehow create a point for you.

Sancho

if 126 rafale was available for 14billion why did we gone for 36 rafale @8billion dallars? because
Last time I checked Parrikar was NDA defence minister and now ex NDA/BJP ministers are asking exactly this question too, how the costs went up from Parrikars statement's, to the costs in the PMs deal?

So you not only have proven to know nothing about the MMRCA/Rafale issue, but not even about which party is claiming what?

If you have nothing meaningful to contribute to the topic, other than baseless claims and name callings (for which you just were punished by the mods if I read it correcrly), why bother to comment at all?

Sancho

We don't need 3 times LCA. 2 LCA is sufficient to be better than rafale.
A single Rafale can carry

2 fuel tanks
2 x BVR missiles
2 x WVR missiles
Up to 6 x 500lb LGBs

for basic CAS roles.

You need 2 to 3 LCAs to carry only the bombs, with additional LCAs in escort configs, because LCA can't carry 4 x AAMs in strike configs.

Don't just claim things, just to disagree, at least look up the official ADA mission configs to understand what it can do.