Kaveri Engine

MonaLazy

because of the wet thrust, it reached 73KN, what we need is atleast 85KN
Why are you stuck on that figure like a broken record? Based on what facts are you challenging the word of DG, Aeronautics, DRDO? With the current Kaveri the Tejas can take to the air. She has said it, and I'll take her word any day over anybody else.

Lady said target was 78kN. She didn't say 85kN.
A classic case of fabricating problems where none exist. Let's not make a mountain of a molehill. Jet engine is a tough tech to master, but if people heading those prestigious programs say we have reached a milestone, why raise unnecessary doubt? Totally avoidable.

not to mention respetable lifecycle hours. 500 for dry is too low. airforce would be replacing engine every year - if those no's are true for wet kaveri too. I expect for wet hours to be even more less because of more temp extremes and moving parts.
Crawl. Walk. Run. We will get there. Why this fascination with self-flagellation?

Only the afterburner needs fine tuning . The dry thrust is adequate. Getting a certified flying time on the engine s important.. Else this will remain a prototype with no user willing to risk it.
Yes but you don't want to be spinning the wheels so to speak. If you can get the thrust right, then you can focus on improving the lifecycle because you know that you got the basics down.

karn

Yes but you don't want to be spinning the wheels so to speak. If you can get the thrust right, then you can focus on improving the lifecycle because you know that you got the basics down.
It really isn't an either or problem. If the dry section is giving it adequate thrust more examples should be manufactured and flown on FTBs/ drones to get the lifetime accurately. SOPs for maintenance have to be figured out and written down. In the meantime the afterburner can be enhanced to reach the required thrust.

BON PLAN

-*-
Interms of money, not technology
See the CFM56 success : the hot core was and remain US, the cold parts are french. It's a huge success !
I think for India it's better to study and produce the cold part of a world wide engine than 100% of a very average one, no?
I think a Indian-French engine may use the indian expertise in kind of variable dilution rate. Something french has not studied for years.

Crawl. Walk. Run. We will get there. Why this fascination with self-flagellation?
Yep all are proponents of Crawl Walk Run. But both the org and people are going to crib only, all three motion activities are being asked to do while insisting on tying legs in a sack(poor funding and testing infra). But what you are missing point when we are pointing inadequacies performance gap that needs to be covered before any serious production could happen.

MonaLazy

Yep all are proponents of Crawl Walk Run. But both the org and people are going to crib only, all three motion activities are being asked to do while insisting on tying legs in a sack(poor funding and testing infra). But what you are missing point when we are pointing inadequacies performance gap that needs to be covered before any serious production could happen.
Nobody is going to plonk Kaveri into service with the #45 & #18 squadrons tomorrow. Dr Tessy is talking about one airframe only (probably a LSP) for Kaveri integration and put it through it's paces. May be by the time the first in service Tejas planes come for MLU we will have a well-tested Kaveri ready for IAF service.

Vamsi

Why are you stuck on that figure like a broken record? Based on what facts are you challenging the word of DG, Aeronautics, DRDO? With the current Kaveri the Tejas can take to the air. She has said it, and I'll take her word any day over anybody else.
73KN engine is enough to fly Tejas, but will it fullfill IAF requirement? No

MonaLazy

73KN engine is enough to fly Tejas, but will it fullfill IAF requirement? No

Who said the evolution of Kaveri will stop at 73kN? Work on Kaveri's thrust and weight whilst also testing it in flight on a Tejas. It is the logical next step in the Kaveri program. Lockheed Martin called the then defence minister George Fernandes before Tejas' first flight telling him it will be a disaster. We persisted and look where we are today. Seeing similar scaremongering here today for Kaveri from members. Just seeing a Tejas fly with a Kaveri will be the Wright Brothers' moment of Indian aviation.

TopWatcher

It can happen if they want

Our babus & politic*cks want everything cheap & that too within small timeframe, thats where the problem lies, these m**f**kers spent just around 3K crores in total for Kaveri engine & they expected a F404 level engine....shamelessly repeating same mistake now
I dont know how babus think, giving away lakh of crore for 500+ planes is good but investing in our engine is not great.

The only solution lies continue kaveri program.

NutCracker

for Tejas we need 85KN atleast
Bruh So what ?? We are not planning to replace GE404 right now. Orders are already placed. Engine replacement of each of them is 10-15 years far.

Let them get multiple testbest of Tejas to install it and and fly for 1 decade and by then it's serviceability and thrust both would've evolved to the required parameters. Maybe even possible to refit them into small space taken by GE404 .

Nobody is going to plonk Kaveri into service with the #45 & #18 squadrons tomorrow. Dr Tessy is talking about one airframe only (probably a LSP) for Kaveri integration and put it through it's paces. May be by the time the first in service Tejas planes come for MLU we will have a well-tested Kaveri ready for IAF service.
Egjactly.. ditto

Vamsi

See the CFM56 success : the hot core was and remain US, the cold parts are french. It's a huge success !
I think for India it's better to study and produce the cold part of a world wide engine than 100% of a very average one, no?
I think a Indian-French engine may use the indian expertise in kind of variable dilution rate. Something french has not studied for years.
I'm not undermining the cold section,I'm not saying it's easy peasy, But what DRDO want is hot section related technologies especially SCBs, TBCs which can reach 2100K TeT, that's what they are gonna pay money for, if we are not getting it, then what's point of this deal?

MonaLazy

Godrej Aerospace plans Rs 500 crore facility for defence business

Godrej Aerospace AVP and business head Maneck Behramkamdin told TNIE that the investment will largely be towards establishing infrastructure and machinery, among other things.

Published: 17th February 2023 07:25 AM | Last Updated: 17th February 2023 01:45 PMA+A A-
Visitors take a look at the aircraft on display at the 14th edition of Aero India. (Photo | Nagaraja Gadekal, EPS)

By Hrithik Kiran Bagade
Express News Service
BENGALURU: Godrej Aerospace, a division of Godrej and Boyce, is investing around Rs 500 crore in a new manufacturing facility at Khalapur, located about 70km from Mumbai. This greenfield project, spread out on 100 acres of land, is anticipated to be completed within three years, and will be devoted to the defence and aerospace markets, the company said.

Godrej Aerospace AVP and business head Maneck Behramkamdin told TNIE that the investment will largely be towards establishing infrastructure and machinery, among other things. In September 2022, Godrej Aerospace won an order to manufacture eight modules for a DRDO engine. “It’s a Kaveri derivative engine – a 48 kN dry engine without an afterburner – for which we have the order to manufacture eight modules. As we speak, we are in the advanced stages of making the modules and getting into actual manufacturing,” Behramkamdin said.
It is learnt that the engine will be used in some autonomous air vehicles. “The design is according to the GTRE (Gas Turbine Research Establishment). We will manufacture the modules with our ecosystem partners. All processing, tooling and engineering will be done by Godrej. These engines would be delivered by late 2023 or early 2024,” he added.
Godrej has been a major contributor to the country’s aerospace story. It has been manufacturing engines for space. Godrej Aerospace has been partnering with ISRO for over 30 years to manufacture complex systems such as liquid propulsion engines for PSLV and GSLV rockets, thrusters for satellites, and antenna systems. The company has also played an integral part in the Chandrayaan and Mangalyaan missions. “With our consortium partner MTAR, we have delivered around 220 (Vikas) engines to ISRO. We have also delivered a good number of cryogenic engines,” Behramkamdin said.
Elaborating on the company’s other plans, he said, “We have been in the business of manufacturing the airframe for BrahMos for more than 20 years. We continue in that direction in the realm of airframes, mechanical systems, pneumatic systems, hydraulic systems, actuators for the LCA, and our foray into engines.”
“Today, we work for companies like Rolls-Royce and Safran for commercial aircraft... With the Kaveri engines, we want to gain experience and partner into modules. We want to go up in the value-chain... We are also getting into new categories, such as crash-worthy seating for helicopters and aircraft. Our focus is on missile systems, airframes and engines, among others,” he concluded.

TopWatcher

Godrej Aerospace plans Rs 500 crore facility for defence business

Godrej Aerospace AVP and business head Maneck Behramkamdin told TNIE that the investment will largely be towards establishing infrastructure and machinery, among other things.

Published: 17th February 2023 07:25 AM | Last Updated: 17th February 2023 01:45 PMA+A A-

By Hrithik Kiran Bagade
Express News Service
BENGALURU: Godrej Aerospace, a division of Godrej and Boyce, is investing around Rs 500 crore in a new manufacturing facility at Khalapur, located about 70km from Mumbai. This greenfield project, spread out on 100 acres of land, is anticipated to be completed within three years, and will be devoted to the defence and aerospace markets, the company said.

Godrej Aerospace AVP and business head Maneck Behramkamdin told TNIE that the investment will largely be towards establishing infrastructure and machinery, among other things. In September 2022, Godrej Aerospace won an order to manufacture eight modules for a DRDO engine. “It’s a Kaveri derivative engine – a 48 kN dry engine without an afterburner – for which we have the order to manufacture eight modules. As we speak, we are in the advanced stages of making the modules and getting into actual manufacturing,” Behramkamdin said.
It is learnt that the engine will be used in some autonomous air vehicles. “The design is according to the GTRE (Gas Turbine Research Establishment). We will manufacture the modules with our ecosystem partners. All processing, tooling and engineering will be done by Godrej. These engines would be delivered by late 2023 or early 2024,” he added.
Godrej has been a major contributor to the country’s aerospace story. It has been manufacturing engines for space. Godrej Aerospace has been partnering with ISRO for over 30 years to manufacture complex systems such as liquid propulsion engines for PSLV and GSLV rockets, thrusters for satellites, and antenna systems. The company has also played an integral part in the Chandrayaan and Mangalyaan missions. “With our consortium partner MTAR, we have delivered around 220 (Vikas) engines to ISRO. We have also delivered a good number of cryogenic engines,” Behramkamdin said.
Elaborating on the company’s other plans, he said, “We have been in the business of manufacturing the airframe for BrahMos for more than 20 years. We continue in that direction in the realm of airframes, mechanical systems, pneumatic systems, hydraulic systems, actuators for the LCA, and our foray into engines.”
“Today, we work for companies like Rolls-Royce and Safran for commercial aircraft... With the Kaveri engines, we want to gain experience and partner into modules. We want to go up in the value-chain... We are also getting into new categories, such as crash-worthy seating for helicopters and aircraft. Our focus is on missile systems, airframes and engines, among others,” he concluded.
Now some hope for kaveri.

BON PLAN

-*-
I'm not undermining the cold section,I'm not saying it's easy peasy, But what DRDO want is hot section related technologies especially SCBs, TBCs which can reach 2100K TeT, that's what they are gonna pay money for, if we are not getting it, then what's point of this deal?
Single crystal blade is directly linked to your industrial capacity.
I think SAFRAN can't easily produce GE crystal blades and so is the contrary.
Apart selling you a whole metallurgy R&D lab and factory, it's not the right way.

Vamsi

Single crystal blade is directly linked to your industrial capacity.
I think SAFRAN can't easily produce GE crystal blades and so is the contrary.
Apart selling you a whole metallurgy R&D lab and factory, it's not the right way.
This is what I have understood after reading so many pages in both BRF & Strategic Frontier Forum....GTRE achieved 1455 deg Celsius TeT using their DMS4 blade + their current TBC....

what they now need is a new bilayer TBC (which looks like currently in development)

+ air cooling methods i.e both internal (convectional and impingement) cooling and external (film/transpiration) cooling + new blade material to reach 2100K target. They need foreign help in last 2

IMG_20221129_183950.jpg

New Bi Layer TBC under development
Source: SFF