INSAS Rifle, LMG & Carbine

Kunal, I don't know if 7m INSAS rifles were produced (2m definitely) but what of LMG production? 100,000 or so?
Our army is more than 10 million, INSAS is standard issure for all.

So 7 million is actual and more justified figure.

I cannot say about LMG, As i never asked that ..

It would be a calculated assumptions at best from my part ..

Kunal, I don't know if 7m INSAS rifles were produced (2m definitely) but what of LMG production? 100,000 or so?

sbm

Hey, that was from a Kunal post. I wonder if any SLRs are still held in reserve stock by the army?

ghost

Regarding number of Insas rifles -

Till date about 16.5 lacs Rifle 5.56 mm INSAS have been supplied to Indian Armed Forces (Indian Army. Navy, Air Force, MHA).
Insas LMG -
Mass production was commenced from 1997-98 and about 48,000 nos has been supplied to Army & about 70,000 nos to MHA so far. Last Indent for qty 14,232 nos received in 2010-11.
On 03.05.2016 as per Ministry Of Defence - http://164.100.47.134/lsscommittee/Defence/16_Defence_20.pdf

Mere 1.65 million is an error and not realistic, The estimation is perhaps based on outdated evaluation ..

==========

Not in Army as of now ..

Hey, that was from a Kunal post. I wonder if any SLRs are still held in reserve stock by the army?

sbm

You suspect the figure is considerably higher Kunal? I believe you'd be right. The armed forces would take maybe 1.3m for active service personnel alone. BSF, CRPF, ITBP and CISF are all all INSAS.

su35

I cannot say about LMG, As i never asked that ..

It would be a calculated assumptions at best from my part ..
May be a dumb question but why not INSAS LMG version is considered as standard rifle for IA it is a automatic one with same size of INSAS B1??

You suspect the figure is considerably higher Kunal? I believe you'd be right. The armed forces would take maybe 1.3m for active service personnel alone. BSF, CRPF, ITBP and CISF are all all INSAS.
Take into account old rifles too.

Not all martial races can carry such a rifle, That issue was a prime one during SLR service ..

LMG has a heavier and longer barrel nearly 20inch for continual firing, It is considerable heavy compare to AR ..

===========

An AR has to be smaller, Compact and could engage target upto 300ms, Combat are short and tense but carrying them everyday and that too under combat condition is a challenge ..

I personally feel 1B1 should have a 16inch barrel instead of 18inch, Flexibility is important ..

May be a dumb question but why not INSAS LMG version is considered as standard rifle for IA it is a automatic one with same size of INSAS B1??

Insas Rifle and and Insas LMG both have different properties and such as weight Range and Muzzle velocity
MV - 925 Mt/sec for LMG and 900 Mt/sec for Rifle

Range - 700 mt for LMG and 400 mts for Rifle

However, externally both are hideous and ugliest looking Rifle ever made in recent past.

sbm

Forget looks - does it work reliably? Is it accurate? Is it capable of modifications?

With better economy and better leadership, Things will get better and quality will improve ..
Kunal Bhai this is the new GPMG issued to selected units. My Bud and classmate tried it at range in the yearly firing exercise in Rajasthan during last winters.

His Garhwal Rifle Unit has been attached with 7 th Infantry Division facing Pakistani Border. So i guess they have issued to the the units posted at sensitive areas.Got the video too but don't know how to upload it.

Ideal replacement for BREN

SLK8G1491147369.jpg

From another source
AofjM1491146477 (2).jpg

PS - This was issued to the PARA SF back in early 2000 but they went with PIKA

Shadow

Kunal Bhai this is the new GPMG issued to selected units. My Bud and classmate tried it at range in the yearly firing exercise in Rajasthan during last winters.

His Garhwal Rifle Unit has been attached with 7 th Infantry Division facing Pakistani Border. So i guess they have issued to the the units posted at sensitive areas.Got the video too but don't know how to upload it.

Ideal replacement for BREN

View attachment 14860

From another source
View attachment 14861

PS - This was issued to the PARA SF back in early 2000 but they went with PIKA
Finally, someone got the pic.Thanks for sharing.Your contribution to D.F.I has been priceless.Keep them coming and also try to upload the video,if possible.

Thanks bud. I posted another pic long back when it isn't even issued but I didn't watermarked at that Time. You can see that pic somewhere in this thread.

Raj Malhotra

I think that it's just FN GMAG with bipod rather than normal tripod used by Indian Army. Almost 50 year old design but timeless in its beauty.

Similar to other FN MAG variants including the M 240 and unlike earlier Indian variant MAG 2A1 which is generally called MMG it's no longer crew served.

British Gurkhas in Afghanistan

article-0-0317C09F000005DC-455_468x286.jpg
images-59.jpeg

Raj Malhotra

Similar to other FN MAG variants including the M 240 and unlike earlier Indian variant MAG 2A1 which is generally called MMG it's no longer crew served.
I am not getting the point you are making. Are you saying that bipod mounted Fn Mag Mmg are now being issued on large scale to replace Bren? and such bipoded Mmgs will be operated by single soldier rather than team of 2/3?