India's Moon Exploration Program

Skyh3ck

My heart is saying that lander will respond.. .....................

Even i am thinking that may be in few days we may have contact and it will respond..

I cried when K Sivan was crying on Modiji s shoulder.. never felt more connected and more Indian....

Failure is part of life, but our Mission is 90% success.. at least common people of india were talking about it and almost half of the nation was awake till 3 AM

afako

Hindufying India
That can be studied for further optimization. Repeating the entire procedure for approval of one step while not going ahead of that step in same run is insane, costly and a BAD DEAL.

I'm asking what would you do if rover responds?
See in space landings, there are 2 basics:

1) Controlled descent and soft landing on Moon or another planet. This is one mission. The extended version is point 2.

2) Sample Return which is done by a small rocket over the top of the lander (which landed in point 1) where samples are loaded and sent back to earth which then navigates towards Earth and enters Earths atmosphere and falls in either ocean or desert with heat shield and parachuting techniques.

Now if you want to Land a rover, a manned mission and get them back from Moon, Mars, Asteroid, there is nothing outside of the above 2. Everything is covered in that.

Let’s look at the most challenging parts in both the cases:

In Number 1, remember the Moon itself is orbiting on its own axis along with orbiting the Earth. It’s not a stationary object. The lander has to land at a pre determined spot. Timing is everything. Firing of thrusters at the right time with the right level of power. Stopping them just before it reaches a height of few meters so that dust from the surface doesn’t pile up on the lander upon landing. These may look small in terms of time and complexity but they are make or break for a mission which happened with the Vikram lander.

In number 2, exiting the atmosphere of that body, achieving the necessary delta to exit the gravity, then getting into the right trajectory towards earth, requiring the correct delta to get captured in Earths orbit either by firing thrusters (not possible to carry enough fuel for this part) or using gravity assist of Earth, surviving entry into earths atmosphere, recovery of samples. There is no guarantee that samples would not be contaminated or damaged.

Number 1 is the basics of all manned and unmanned LANDINGS on any extra terrestrial body. If you cut short there, you are gonna fail miserably in future.

Remember this was our first landing attempted. US and Soviets have a long learning curve with many failures.

Just giving you an idea of the amount of challenges that would come in your plan of directly going to Sample return mission.

Gollum

Mission is still a major success, we will fill the gap in our future missions. Proud of our scientists, back them through thick and thin. This field isn't easy at all, failures are expected. Just because ISRO sets such high standards in consistency we always expect them to be perfect in every possible way. Reality is even the mighty space powers like USA, USSR/Russia had to go through many roadblocks. We will learn from this experience and come back stronger and more well prepared next time. The commitment and mental toughness of ISRO personnel is inspiring.
Jai Hind.

PKMKB time

Hope we implement Major Arya's suggestion...
Post reported... If you have to forfeit swimming the English Channel from 21 metres from the shore, you don't listen to opinions of someone who has never swam.

Absolut_Vodka

Quarantined Abdul
Right now ISRO scientists are going through pain and sorrow and that can be handled. What is not easy to handle is to recheck all data and facts and find out that a non-critical, trivial equipment malfunctioned or one wrong code that caused failure. That's very frustrating and one feels like kicking himself.

We have many unique missions in pipeline like to Venus, sun etc. So let's not think too much because there are plenty of opportunities to create history.

PKMKB time

Hope we implement Major Arya's suggestion...
Yaar Uss GAYphodey Ko koi maths padhao.

And woh sala CH Fawad Hussain use kuch mat bolna,apna agent hai Pakistan me.Talks gibberish like sending Pakistan into space by 2022.

Infact the CH in his name means exactly what you think.

ganesh177

That image of Mr.Sivan crying on the shoulders of modiji has been plastered on the minds of every Indians today. Cant get it out so easily. I dont think anywhere in world this can happen though.

Cant wait for the day when ISRO tries again with sucess.

Now DG ISPR.. and a Pakistani minister refer to India as En dia .. How low can you get... Can't even imagine any Indian minister or Army spokesperson referring to Pakistan as Porkistan... This is a lower standard than even the pigs in the gutter...:crazy::crazy:
They are Paki ******s. That's how low.................................

Right now ISRO scientists are going through pain and sorrow and that can be handled. What is not easy to handle is to recheck all data and facts and find out that a non-critical, trivial equipment malfunctioned or one wrong code that caused failure. That's very frustrating and one feels like kicking himself.

We have many unique missions in pipeline like to Venus, sun etc. So let's not think too much because there are plenty of opportunities to create history.
Why is there an assumption that ISRO scientists are in pain and sorrow?

Watch the today morning video of Modi shaking hands with ISRO scientists, all of them seem to be upbeat.

Let’s not impose our feelings into them.

As far as Sivan is concerned, his emotional outburst this morning can simply be a case of gratitude to whatever Modi said in his speech combined with the stress of going thru checklists throughout the night.

I have gone thru such situations twice, pain and sorrow are not the emotions that were on top of my mind. In ISRO’s case everything is automated, there is nothing much they can do, except of RCA.

here2where

EDz8zRZUcAAFZEJ.jpg

Let's burn the above image into our memory. We went that close, that close.
This is how it all (our space odyssey) began, we will tell our grand-kids one day.