Indian Special Forces

SGOperative

Kya farak padta hai bro
Our armed forces won't buy it just like nvds
2 companies making nvd but they are just not buying even though having requirement
Giving a big order to full-fill the complete army's requirement will invite backlash from PSUs like in the past, they dont innovate themselves but put hassle in others ways. Thats after Army Top Brass decides yeah we also need NVDs not to mention that.

PS- Anyone has any pic of RR with their NVDs

India Super Power

Giving a big order to full-fill the complete army's requirement will invite backlash from PSUs like in the past, they dont innovate themselves but put hassle in others ways. Thats after Army Top Brass decides yeah we also need NVDs not to mention that.

PS- Anyone has any pic of RR with their NVDs
Bro if u see nvd procurement
Marcos have binods
Para sf, garuds, nsg, etc all have monotubes
Although they have requirements of quads and binods and we are manufacturing locally but still no orders
I until now didn't understood their obsession with monotubes
Same is gonna happen to carbines for next 10 years u are gonna see Sterlings being operated as RFI for carbines are cancelled

SGOperative

Bro if u see nvd procurement
Marcos have binods
Para sf, garuds, nsg, etc all have monotubes
Although they have requirements of quads and binods and we are manufacturing locally but still no orders
I until now didn't understood their obsession with monotubes
Same is gonna happen to carbines for next 10 years u are gonna see Sterlings being operated as RFI for carbines are cancelled
Garuds got the Quads in some small numbers, NSG also ordered some recently around 200 IIRC. Para SF is the one without any Dedicated Dual ones they mounted to monocular but that was it.
PSUs are a hurdle here, Around 2014 or something, Army Needed better NVDs of around 1700 FOV but BEL lobbied to reduce the specs to their PVS7 Copies.

India Super Power

Garuds got the Quads in some small numbers, NSG also ordered some recently around 200 IIRC. Para SF is the one without any Dedicated Dual ones they mounted to monocular but that was it.
PSUs are a hurdle here, Around 2014 or something, Army Needed better NVDs of around 1700 FOV but BEL lobbied to reduce the specs to their PVS7 Copies.
Those quads which garuds have are of mku they have not yet launched it so I think those were going through trials and even though small quantities won't help they have large quantities of monotubes comparatively 🤔
Nsg ordered binods or quads

SGOperative

Those quads which garuds have are of mku they have not yet launched it so I think those were going through trials and even though small quantities won't help they have large quantities of monotubes comparatively 🤔
Nsg ordered binods or quads
NSG got binods, the number with Garuds is unspecified and they have more Mono you are correct on that.

India Super Power

NSG got binods, the number with Garuds is unspecified and they have more Mono you are correct on that.
Point is those who see frequent action and even in night like garuds or para sf
They haven't got a good night fighting capability even though we have industrial capability to produce
Toh kya ye log khak home grown carbines accept karenge
If govt won't allow to import the foreign companies will pay them to delay the deal until the stage arrives to import
For them Sterlings are better than any carbine until it's not foreign
Now just forget this carbines issue as it will derail the thread
Anyway the performance in procuring nvds are very poor

SGOperative

They haven't got a good night fighting capability even though we have industrial capability to produce
If govt won't allow to import the foreign companies will pay them to delay the deal until the stage arrives to import
Are bhai Carbine reveal abhi hi kia hai ruko zara sabar kro thoda rant ke lie

ALBY

Section Moderator
Quality of chinese gear is questionable.
and ofc, did they ever conduct any operations? 🤷‍♂️
So, not the correct benchmark imho!

I'd rather look up to SOBR/Yamam/CTSFO etc
It was not about benchmarking but even the SWAT units(part of local police units)got better gear than NSG. Though these are copies or locally made ones, gone are the days when china mass produced third class items..
Coming to experience we csn say NSG got much experience than these units but even that is not a big number compared with the above said units u mentioned. If you measure the effectiveness of a unit solely based on njmber of ops then even the GSG-9 or Gign wont be remembering when they had done an op the last time.
Don't think China will be giving substandard training to their elite units especially when they have ample resources to hire former SF guys from abroad.
Anyway it was a post to highlight how far these local swat units went in terms of modernisation

If they were serious about these things it would already have happened. Indian military doesn’t take night fighting seriously, it’s as simple as that

Quality of chinese gear is questionable.
and ofc, did they ever conduct any operations? 🤷‍♂️
So, not the correct benchmark imho!

I'd rather look up to SOBR/Yamam/CTSFO etc
Can’t keep making this assertion, the vast vast majority of CT units in the world have zero real world CT experience, even NSG hasn’t fired a bullet in anger for >6 years now and everyone involved in 26/11 and Pathankot has long since left that organisation.

realistic training and equipment levels are the best indicators of how a unit will function. The importance the Chinese are giving to both of these makes me believe they are not going to be merely paper tigers