Indian Special Forces

Kumaoni

An officer becomes a Lt Col by mid 30s (in most cases), so u expect them to just deal with admin work of the battalion?
Do the planning and monitoring of the actions, join as reinforcements if need be, but attacks need to be lead by JCOs and YOs.

Losinf an officer is never good. Nearly cost IA battles in 65 and 71

Fire and groove

TLDR your posts too, they aren't some wunderbar pearls of wisdom either. Pad, ja napad, mera kya jhata hai.

Discuss or don't discuss, I am just saying if you're one to believe like some others that we have no SF only good infantry, well you're in the kool aid + piss drinking gang too.
That's because we have no army SOF. Slapping the tag and vaguely training them in that direction doesn't change the fact that they're neither equipped nor organized for the effort.

EternalNxg

We have JCOs for a reason. I get that COs want to motivate and all but that time was over when you became Lt. col sir.
I think the main reason why they go on ops despite being Lt cols and Colonels is their age. U can become Lt col by 35 - 36 and a Colonel by 39. Maybe they consider themselves too young to be doing admin work?

Kumaoni

I think the main reason why they go on ops despite being Lt cols and Colonels is their age. U can become Lt col by 35 - 36 and a Colonel by 39. Maybe they consider themselves too young to be doing admin work?
What u consider and what needs to happen are totally different. If that’s the case, then I don’t see the purpose of JCOs. My grandfathers brother retired from the Indian army in his 40s as a JCO. JCOs need to be the ones leading the platoons to charges.

EternalNxg

What u consider and what needs to happen are totally different. If that’s the case, then I don’t see the purpose of JCOs. My grandfathers brother retired from the Indian army in his 40s as a JCO. JCOs need to be the ones leading the platoons to charges.
In short this habit of COs leading ops has to be stopped and the mantle has to be passed on to the jco's?

shouryav105

Its still unprofessional, Their is a structure in place for a reason,they get brownie points for going in ops but it should be opposite and they should be held accountable , If you cant realise and fullfill you responsibility then just leave man,There should be strict restriction regarding this .

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

An officer becomes a Lt Col by mid 30s (in most cases), so u expect them to just deal with admin work of the battalion?
Its not admin work it command and control.Like coach of a cricket team doesnt open the innings.

Planning is required.

COs presence in such situations shows a lack of respect of maturity of other officers.

And 30s or 40s a combat casuality of a commanding officer is a set back to the entire unit..if you played chess also you would know.