Indian Special Forces

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
If all airborne would also be converted to SF what's the final strength of para SF then?

I am getting a feeling from my wild side that
Entire para regiment=para sf according to army then para+marcos+garuds=afsod
Next they will take few battalions from each sf unit and some better equipments and form something like jsoc
Truly wild thought 😜
@Waanar @abingdonboy @COLDHEARTED AVIATOR pls comment
Sorry but you don’t understand what JSOC is then.

JSOC is a Command, not a single unit. IA/IAF/IN would have to carve out their own SMUs FIRST then a JSOC can be created

+ @Waanar AFSOD is NOT an operational unit and it will now fade away with this move rendering it pointless.

Can any member educate me on this.

Are we going to russian VDV way or American way

US- specialised tiered SOFs separated by mission profile and operational commitments

Russia- one generalised airborne force used as a blanket force to deal with both military and law enforcement roles

which one does it sound like India is adopting?

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
Most probably we are going THE INDIAN WAY of doing things.

150-200 from each battalion are being trained and not the whole unit.
But that wouldnt make a lot of sense.but we have our own way of screwing things up

Arihant Roy

yes SAS is the equivalent to DEVGRU/CAG in role, structure, training etc. Not sure how that changes anything? For the Indian Army they don’t have a tier 1/2/3, their designated SF is PARA SF, that is the tip of THEIR spear. SG is no SAS in role, mandate or anything. SG is the ground force element of an external intelligence agency and I’m getting sick and tired of hearing that they are some CAG/SAS equivalent- this is NONSENSE and has no basis in reality.

So yes comparisons will be made to SAS because they are their army’s tip of the spear and PARA SF is the Indian army’s. It’s not SAS’s fault that IA doesn’t know what SF is and have grown and diluted their ‘SF’ capability beyond its ability to maintain their proficiency to the level of an actual SF unit like SAS.

+ no SAS/SBS operators are NOT freaking deputationists- they are there until they retire, transfer or are dropped for performance reasons.This widespread deputation nonsense is solely an Indian phenomenon caused because IA is so inflexible and lobbies against permanent cadres at NSG, SG etc for fear that they will not be able to retain their most talented. The end result is the deputation forces are not able to build up their own cultures as easy and institutional lessons will struggle to be implemented in the long term
Sorry to say this but there isn't any imaginable way in which Para SF can be equated to SAS.

And you seem to be living under an illusion that SG is merely an extended arm of our external intelligence agency. Keep living inside that bubble of yours.

And yes SAS members return back to their parent units. Can't say about SBS. There are airborne people who have served twice in SAS .

Arihant Roy

US- specialised tiered SOFs separated by mission profile and operational commitments

Russia- one generalised airborne force used as a blanket force to deal with both military and law enforcement roles

which one does it sound like India is adopting?
Russia doesn't have one generalised airborne force ? Read up about VDV before posting.

Law enforcement duties are now the preserve of the Rosgvardia which amalgamated existing OMON and SOBR units.

VDV isn't a light airborne unit. They have their own BMPs , T-72B besides the usual coterie of BMD-2,4M, BTR-D and other air dropped vehicles . VDV itself is 40000+ troops. Almost equivalent to three Indian army corps along with organic artillery , sir defense, armour and mechanised infantry.
VDV itself has its own SF brigade. 45th Guards Spetsnaz at Kubinka.

And for Russia their tier 3 unit is GRU brigades while their tip of the spear tier 1 unit is SSO of there there are again two units.

The Shrike

If the next generation of Army officers selection and promotion is even worse than this then expect regular Infantry battalions to be SF soon.
Well a most (retired) officers seem to think our Javans are kindergarten kids whose balls don't drop till they complete 4 years service, so maybe they will affix "special" to regular infantry to differentiate it from Agniveers. :lehappy:

Sorry to say this but there isn't any imaginable way in which Para SF can be equated to SAS.

And you seem to be living under an illusion that SG is merely an extended arm of our external intelligence agency. Keep living inside that bubble of yours.

And yes SAS members return back to their parent units. Can't say about SBS. There are airborne people who have served twice in SAS .
First point, who is disputing that?

Secondly, I don’t know what you think SG is and I don’t really care. It isn’t India’s equivalent to SAS/CAG, it isn’t a military unit and it doesn’t have the mandate of JSOC. I’m sure they have some specialist capabilities but they are part of an external intelligence agency and are used for their needs, you can imagine what those would be. Think more on the lines of GRS and SAD, not CAG.

and absolutely no, SAS is not a deputationist unit, it has a permanent cadre. Once you pass SAS selection you are SAS until you retire or chose to go elsewhere. Can members go to other units and come back as per their own career demands?Sure but that’s nothing like the deputation policy of SG, NSG, SPG etc

vidhwanshak

Well a most (retired) officers seem to think our Javans are kindergarten kids whose balls don't drop till they complete 4 years service, so maybe they will affix "special" to regular infantry to differentiate it from Agniveers. :lehappy:
I think you are right.

Russia doesn't have one generalised airborne force ? Read up about VDV before posting.

Law enforcement duties are now the preserve of the Rosgvardia which amalgamated existing OMON and SOBR units.

VDV isn't a light airborne unit. They have their own BMPs , T-72B besides the usual coterie of BMD-2,4M, BTR-D and other air dropped vehicles . VDV itself is 40000+ troops. Almost equivalent to three Indian army corps along with organic artillery , sir defense, armour and mechanised infantry.
VDV itself has its own SF brigade. 45th Guards Spetsnaz at Kubinka.

And for Russia their tier 3 unit is GRU brigades while their tip of the spear tier 1 unit is SSO of there there are again two units.
You’re missing my point but sure keep debating the semantics to distract from the bigger issue here.

Arihant Roy

You’re missing my point but sure keep debating the semantics to distract from the bigger issue here.
I agree with your point that our powers be are absolutely ignorant of the potential of SF and how to utilise them . And i also agree with your point of Army further diluting the standards of SF by converting Airborne to SF .

There are vested interests within the higher hierarchy of the Army and the Airborne community has a very strong lobby. All this time there were cribbling about the higher pay of their SF brethren and questioning the alleged step brotherly treatment being meted out to the airborne fraternity .

Three star generals from the Airborne or Para are rejoicing this conversion on twitter.

BlackViking

Moni saved by reducing pensions will be funneled in to Gernail's pockets as commission for "special equipment" for "Special Forces".

Op Kahuta

So bro this entire forum should be closed if we can't speak if we don't belong to field
Most of them here don't belong to the particular that doesn't mean they are wrong or they don't know about it
He is stating things with facts so what's wrong in accepting criticism
Aree bhai, there is a fine line b/w discussing on topics that u are unaware of and asserting ur opinion blindly without any proof/evidence to back your claims. All I saw was making fun and disrespect of the armed forces leadership cuz for some cod fanbois they can't have their ego satisfied when they compare Indian SF and gora SF. Aaj teri field ke baare mein ulta sidha bolne lganga ki ur field is trash and that u know nothing of ur field, I am sure u wouldn't like it. Aur agar tereko lg rha hai ki what he said is 100% true, then provide source or some solid evidence to back his claim.
I am sure if I start shittalking the gora SF here, there would be so many butthurt mf cuz being a brown sepoy is still a thing apparently

ALBY

Section Moderator
Bhai sun na tu gand mara apni. Just cuz u have said that Para SF is doomed doesn't make it as an ultimate gospel. Fkface living in the UK and giving gyan to Indian SF. Ek baat bta mc how come you are living in UK if you are so concerned about Indian SF? How come you aren't serving the country here? Sale 100m toh full sprint nhi kr payega aur unko gyan pel rha hai jiska duty hai desh ka raksha krna. I feel pity for u and ur chelas who like a mfking whore hover around to like any of your posts. I am honestly thankful to god that none of u mf are working for the national security cuz God knows we would be doomed if people like u did
Mind your language. If you cant express your opinions in a civil way then you better not. Its so simple.