Indian Special Forces (archived)

ALBY

Section Moderator
Please dont post political posts in this thread.Just keep this thread as apolitical as it was always.

If you want to be aware of the latest tech you need to either mingle with the forces shich have those or either check net for for the updates.I am sure my civilian frnds who plays pubg knows about more guns and scopes than those few frnds who happened to be majors now 😋
Now, that's too far. PUBG and stuff are good for a very rudimentary idea of what combat is like (range, teamwork, drawbacks of types of rifles) but it's not 1X scope, it's a M4comp aimpoint. It's not 2x scope, it's M4Comp aimpoint with magnifier. It's not 4x scope, it's an ACOG.

Also, I think military must've mandated training on NVS, Thermals etc since even Ghatak platoons are getting those. Let's not forget the naming due to licensing with HK416 being M416 and blah blah blah.
I have a friend in NDA. Army cadet. Very much knowledgeable about guns. Even the platforms not available to Indian Army. Was very impressed with me arguing about penetration by certain calibres but otherwise extremely well rounded and knowledgeable considering NDA doesn't start service specific training till the last semester IIRC.

Having interacted with a lot of civilian counterparts in the govt job, my impression is that an average Armywala is quite well educated and updated, Fauj is the only organization where there is no reservation and the only merit is upheld in all respect and in 80 percent of the cases. 20 percent abbreviations as compared to all aberrations in civvie street is a damn good standard. Fauj is the only organization that updates and upgrades its cadre be it officers or NCOs / Jawans at every level and every stage. No other service in India has to pass his part B or Part D Examination of five subjects before one is a substantive major and has to undergo courses of instructions at every stage of his career progression starting from YO Course to NDC, No Comparision anywhere,,,

They are well educated and well trained for their job as compared to a JNU clot...

I am very intrigued by your assertion on English... probably you just do not know that India is run under signatures of Govt School, peasant and farmer boys who constitute 80 percent of Class A Services in India... The public school brats just do not have it in them.. they are fit enough only to be in Corporate Calcutta under petticoats of their boss's wives or do a Bollywood druggy stunt.

When it comes to environmental awareness, I very much would like soldiers to know well about Pakis, Chinese, Bangladeshis, Nepalis, Srilankan etc which is their envelope. Acting like a US Rambo, or the colonialist racist British Sargent has no meaning even in near future.

I have been part of about 12 joint exercises with them and I am fully aware of their mettle. A British SAS officer can be as dumb as Bhoop Singh. When it comes to IAF and IN their strength is their machines which necessarily means technical skill but may not include knowledge levels. Tommis did not make better soldiers because they spoke English nor do IAF corporals make better NCOs because they can also speak a little English or sometimes better than some IPS outside...

You do not seem to understand the Job profile and required skill levels... you probably want them to act like Tom Clancy's Jacob directing nuclear strikes from Pacific Fleet while sitting on the Everest.
Absolutely sir , average sainik is educated because he serves a professional army .
I once saw a video , on you tube about indian army training during , British era around ww2 .
They could operate, radio equipment, do heliograph drills and perform complex calculations for artillery even then .
So if they could do this then , so what they could do or understand now .
Technical knowledge is upto ones interest.
If the soldier cares , about what happens to other armies and their equipment, then it's his own curiosity but indian army jawans , know how to operate their weapons and equipment like a pro in which ever component of army they serve .

Namaskaar

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Lack of certification and lack of benchmarking of military skills in equivalence to common civilian qualifications.. Ah

You must have heard the familiar noises that PM Modi makes time and again about skill education and skill development.. the new education policy somewhat is beginning in that direction.

It has been donkey's years since UNESCO has issued a direction paper specially to the developing countries how to recognize skills, benchmark the skills, carry out certification and establish equivalence with commonly recognized civil education.

That is an important step towards recognizing and incentivizing skills. All jobs in the market as also govt jobs are benchmarked to education / technical skills. Imagine if MoD were to employ a radar operator or technician in South block. How would they fix his grade and Pay ? The BA qualification Babu would never accept that he has some skills or qualifications. He would sit on a hunger strike if that soldier is paid a Babu's scale.

The fault also lies with Services leadership who never think anything beyond the barrel of a gun... Defence Services is nothing but skills but where is the recognition of those skills and establishing equivalence? It is not there because there is no certification of SF Commandos skills.... He is treated as uneducated and unskilled as he has no Colonial qualifications such as English as @COLDHEARTED AVIATOR has loudly claimed in this forum....

So a politician would want to exploit skills of an Ex SF soldier but at the price of a security guard...
Thats right old man..Were you not feeling bad for the ex Para SF DSC jawan with balidan badge when you went to pick your stock of Old monk from the CSD recently.

JConline

Rare to see IA australian peel drills on camera. Basic infantry stuff I know but still. Thanks for the post.
Australian peel is a fairly standard shoot and move drill among other SFs too. There are videos of foreign SF operators practising variations of it, like the central peel and so on.

Photos & clips from 2016
Those are fairly modern shooting and movement drills. Also, anybody else notice the ComTacs style comms on the operators in quite a few of the stills. Good stuff.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Absolutely sir , average sainik is educated because he serves a professional army .
I once saw a video , on you tube about indian army training during , British era around ww2 .
They could operate, radio equipment, do heliograph drills and perform complex calculations for artillery even then .
So if they could do this then , so what they could do or understand now .
Technical knowledge is upto ones interest.
If the soldier cares , about what happens to other armies and their equipment, then it's his own curiosity but indian army jawans , know how to operate their weapons and equipment like a pro in which ever component of army they serve .

Namaskaar
I didnt think while posting about the level of maturity of the readers of this thread before posting but i think many have not understood my point at all.

Firstly,unless and until you want to sit in a well and say All is Well you need to be updated about the happenings of the world.

For that you need to know Colonial bhasha which is accepted the world over as is their system of Army and ranks like Major or Colonel and the Indian Army insignia which also has English swords not Indian..Toh jab itna accept kar hi lia he toh angrezi accept karne ka kya dard maloom nhi.

Now if you dont know that will you be competent in handling your equipment?..Big Yes

But

Where will you be on a global level?..You will be where exactly the PLA is..substandard training and levels.

Then on your thing about technical knowledge or skill being important.

Sirji outside of the Army loading 155mm guns is not counted as a skill.

So once the soldier leaves the fauj he either becomes a truck driver or thoko salam to everyone who walks into a bank holding a dunali..thats the reality.

The Army should take care of the welfare of its troops post utilising them.

The only people who have a good life after military are all from technical backgrounds like Pilots,sailors,engineers or doctors or corporates all of who speak angrezi.

Topic close...if anyone has still not understood you can DM me.

I didnt think while posting about the level of maturity of the readers of this thread before posting but i think many have not understood my point at all.

Firstly,unless and until you want to sit in a well and say All is Well you need to be updated about the happenings of the world.

For that you need to know Colonial bhasha which is accepted the world over as is their system of Army and ranks like Major or Colonel and the Indian Army insignia which also has English swords not Indian..Toh jab itna accept kar hi lia he toh angrezi accept karne ka kya dard maloom nhi.

Now if you dont know that will you be competent in handling your equipment?..Big Yes

But

Where will you be on a global level?..You will be where exactly the PLA is..substandard training and levels.

Then on your thing about technical knowledge or skill being important.

Sirji outside of the Army loading 155mm guns is not counted as a skill.

So once the soldier leaves the fauj he either becomes a truck driver or thoko salam to everyone who walks into a bank holding a dunali..thats the reality.

The Army should take care of the welfare of its troops post utilising them.

The only people who have a good life after military are all from technical backgrounds like Pilots,sailors,engineers or doctors or corporates all of who speak angrezi.

Topic close...if anyone has still not understood you can DM me.
Okay , I dont know much .
Thanks for telling me about your perspective nonetheless.
I will never use english completely.
I just dont want to .
Urdu words are already a menace but still I dont like using completely english words .

Nothing to do with this thread. Please take it elsewhere. Please don't bring politics jn here. The Gent in the picture is a civilian now.
Delete the post i thought there is a SF guy in the post with his qualifications and serving i posted it nothing more nothing less.
As some people were talking about qualification of the troops so i thought this would come in handy that guy was 10th pass.
Okay it have nothing to do with this thread but people have filled two pages about qualifications and after life of the troops @Mods should also delete that.
It's not about politics in anyway that post just shows difficult life troops lead after leaving the force.

rkhanna

I found the shooting drills different..I dont know..what do you say.
Yes and no. They are moving more naturally for sure. Also saw an image of a soldier holding a hand gun in the 2 fisted squared stance.

But still see a lag in when the soldier runs and takes a knee and sights and take the shot.

Also no mag change in the Australian peel on the retreating party. ?

Also in the NV shots , are the operators in the video doing low light drills without NVGs ? Couldn't make out

Just my 2 paise. For whatever it's worth

Hmm don't really understand what you are getting at. Unlike the US where soldiers sign up for tours which are limited to a few years, soldiers in India are usually lifers. I.e when they get out (and not early due to injury) they are much older.

However some do join PMc in The ME etc. Many take jobs in Corporate india. I know that an ex Para chap used to be head of security for JPM APAC out of Singapore.

but like coldhearted said. Most of our Jawans have no life skills for post military. They are uneducated. And with no English (which is the language of business in India) it's harder. I. America a huge number of GI/NONCOms go back to University and get absorbed by private sector - PMC / Oil & Gas / think tanks, become entrepreneurs etc

but don't forget that even bigger number end up of the streets as homeless.
I heard there are many trades in Army where soldiers can earn degree and they are absorbed in corporate world and also in Universities and Colleges as HOD and asst. Professors in many fields.
I have seen so many ex serviceman in my university. Almost every dept had an ex-serviceman at higher roles.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Yes and no. They are moving more naturally for sure. Also saw an image of a soldier holding a hand gun in the 2 fisted squared stance.

But still see a lag in when the soldier runs and takes a knee and sights and take the shot.

Also in the NV shots , are the operators in the video doing low light drills without NVGs ? Couldn't make out

So the guy who taught me these things and i m not a Para SF guy but he used to say the more stable you are with your movements and taking positions the better you are at hitting something.

We used to do it more the like NSG way of walking fast with a proper posture plus there was no transition and little slow like me. haha

In the end whatever floats your boat i guess..Pakis do chimpanzee jumps while shooting...Spetsnaz does some other circus :pound:

rkhanna

So the guy who taught me these things and i m not a Para SF guy but he used to say the more stable you are with your movements and taking positions the better you are at hitting something.

We used to do it more the like NSG way of walking fast with a proper posture plus there was no transition and little slow like me. haha

In the end whatever floats your boat i guess..Pakis do chimpanzee jumps while shooting...Spetsnaz does some other circus :pound:
Well sure. But for a bunch of guys who are should be shooting 300 rounds a week I would expect superior speed and accuracy while on the move than normal infamtry. Hence special forces right?

Ps these look to be work up drills before getting deployed. So one drill doesn't paint the full picture.

Second - this is at high altitude. Have no idea what these guys have been doing before the shooting drill or how fatigued they are.

Nice sir ji, waiting for SF specialists to come and start commenting on weapons, equipment and tactics.....🤣🤣🤣
Quote one single post where there was unreasonable criticism in the entire thread, please.
Will be waiting.

Exactly what I was thinking. The movement looks very "comfortable". Also, what was shown here was either very basic or vague stuff.

rkhanna

Quote one single post where there was unreasonable criticism in the entire thread, please.
Will be waiting.

Exactly what I was thinking. The movement looks very "comfortable". Also, what was shown here was either very basic or vague stuff.
So most workup excerises start with the basic so that would be fine. Being official footage it would be vague and out of context. There is no way this footage made it out without some ones okay. Looks like a nice propoganda piece vs china as well