Indian Special Forces (archived)

Popeye

You will be shocked to know that if you interact with fighter pilots or SF people most if not all will have no clue about the latest technology and what other countries are upto.

I can bet and say that anyday people like @rkhanna and @abingdonboy will easily have more knowledge about technology and the latest in SF world as compared to an SF officer.

Specially if you talk about Para SF.I have many times called them very low with education but high on aggression and experience as compared to Marcos or Garuds.

Marcos and Garuds are from technical background who i expect to know more about their stuff.

Para are basically red necks of India :pound:

Most of them are govt school passouts with very basic english knowledge..basically kisan or fauji families.

Now why the officer was talking like that i have no idea because everyone in Infantry or SF complaints about gear.

I was shocked to be honest and i didnt watch the full thing.

A good knowledge about the capabilities of the adversely goes a long way in pulling out a mission successfully.
IMG_20201009_215719.jpg

Vishalreddy3

Don't know if para SF joining NSG post retirement. What role will they play? Advisory ? Instructor? Very few positions.
Wow, even Para SF is doubtful? This is where our security ecosystem sucks! In any other countries such as the US, any special operations operators after retirement, joins any gendermiere/Federal units or joins as a SWAT operator in the local police departments. Some people go further and join Private military contractors for better pay. Its disheartening to hear that Ex-Para SF after retirement join as a security guard.

rkhanna

Wow, even Para SF is doubtful? This is where our security ecosystem sucks! In any other countries such as the US, any special operations operators after retirement, joins any gendermiere/Federal units or joins as a SWAT operator in the local police departments. Some people go further and join Private military contractors for better pay. Its disheartening to hear that Ex-Para SF after retirement join as a security guard.
Hmm don't really understand what you are getting at. Unlike the US where soldiers sign up for tours which are limited to a few years, soldiers in India are usually lifers. I.e when they get out (and not early due to injury) they are much older.

However some do join PMc in The ME etc. Many take jobs in Corporate india. I know that an ex Para chap used to be head of security for JPM APAC out of Singapore.

but like coldhearted said. Most of our Jawans have no life skills for post military. They are uneducated. And with no English (which is the language of business in India) it's harder. I. America a huge number of GI/NONCOms go back to University and get absorbed by private sector - PMC / Oil & Gas / think tanks, become entrepreneurs etc

but don't forget that even bigger number end up of the streets as homeless.

Popeye

These pitiful pictures are enough indication of Horrible Economic Situation of our Nation. For Bread and Butter Professional decorated ex special force soldier forcefully have to do security guard job.

avknight1408

If OROP implemented well. Might be we don't have to watch such day.
If you are going to make allegations then please come with proof. I have posted in another thread that after OROP budget allocation for pension rose from 54k crore(2015) to 1.33 lakh crore(2020). MoD spends more money on pensions than salaries or capital expenditure.

OROP has bankrupted MoD. Last year IAF capital budget was cut but pension allocation was increased.:frusty:

rkhanna

If OROP implemented well. Might be we don't have to watch such day.
Unfortunately Socio economic issues go far far more deeper than OROP. OROP is a bandaid. The country has zero social infrastructure. A crumbling education system ( I find even IIT / IIM candidates substandard in interviews to a large degree) , we have crumbling healthcare. The exploitation of the poor even under labor laws is extraordinary.

If your country is full of scamming politicians , Babus , Corporates, common man ,you dont have much option to begin with. Also ever increasing size of pensioners doesn't help
Such is life in almost every country on the planet. Human beings are selfish arsholes. Nothing extraordinary about our country.

But this is grossly OT to this thread. Let's take it elsewhere

My last on this

Lack of certification and lack of benchmarking of military skills in equivalence to common civilian qualifications.. Ah

You must have heard the familiar noises that PM Modi makes time and again about skill education and skill development.. the new education policy somewhat is beginning in that direction.

It has been donkey's years since UNESCO has issued a direction paper specially to the developing countries how to recognize skills, benchmark the skills, carry out certification and establish equivalence with commonly recognized civil education.

That is an important step towards recognizing and incentivizing skills. All jobs in the market as also govt jobs are benchmarked to education / technical skills. Imagine if MoD were to employ a radar operator or technician in South block. How would they fix his grade and Pay ? The BA qualification Babu would never accept that he has some skills or qualifications. He would sit on a hunger strike if that soldier is paid a Babu's scale.

The fault also lies with Services leadership who never think anything beyond the barrel of a gun... Defence Services is nothing but skills but where is the recognition of those skills and establishing equivalence? It is not there because there is no certification of SF Commandos skills.... He is treated as uneducated and unskilled as he has no Colonial qualifications such as English as @COLDHEARTED AVIATOR has loudly claimed in this forum....

So a politician would want to exploit skills of an Ex SF soldier but at the price of a security guard...

rkhanna

Lack of certification and lack of benchmarking of military skills in equivalence to common civilian qualifications.. Ah

You must have heard the familiar noises that PM Modi makes time and again about skill education and skill development.. the new education policy somewhat is beginning in that direction.

It has been donkey's years since UNESCO has issued a direction paper specially to the developing countries how to recognize skills, benchmark the skills, carry out certification and establish equivalence with commonly recognized civil education.

That is an important step towards recognizing and incentivizing skills. All jobs in the market as also govt jobs are benchmarked to education / technical skills. Imagine if MoD were to employ a radar operator or technician in South block. How would they fix his grade and Pay ? The BA qualification Babu would never accept that he has some skills or qualifications. He would sit on a hunger strike if that soldier is paid a Babu's scale.

The fault also lies with Services leadership who never think anything beyond the barrel of a gun... Defence Services is nothing but skills but where is the recognition of those skills and establishing equivalence? It is not there because there is no certification of SF Commandos skills.... He is treated as uneducated and unskilled as he has no Colonial qualifications such as English as @COLDHEARTED AVIATOR has loudly claimed in this forum....

So a politician would want to exploit skills of an Ex SF soldier but at the price of a security guard...
Let's end this topic here.