Indian Special Forces (archived)

Indian troops after fighting 5 wars could say 6 after adding the skimirish where we banged the Chinese and facing regular high to low profile terror attacks.

MOD babu's:- nahi nahi itne me nahi 5-6 aur lado fir dekhte hai equipment ke bare me.
The kind of upgrades you want to see will only come when the core doctrine changes from defence to offensive.

It’s the doctrine that dictates the kind of equipment that is procured.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

The thing is not that Afghanistan has a well equipped SF.I wont even give it priority coz they are funded by US and have no choice but the thing is that where are we when we compare ourselves to other countries.

Russian example i have given many times and it is the best example.

China has cut its military size and now we a bigger standing army than them.Now just wait and watch how well equipped they will start getting in the future.

I am not saying dont buy tanks but soo many tanks? I just want to know which country is gonna attack India with thousands of tanks and we will fight a modern day mahabharta?

Pakistan..lol..they wont even have fuel for those tanks after the first week.

China?..Yet to invent tanks which can fly over himalayas.

So why dont we focus a little bit on SF because anyway they are the ones fighting all your battles since 71.

And whats the excuse for non compliance of standard kit and uniform by the Army.

This chalta he attitude is totally unprofessional.

China has cut its military size and now we a bigger standing army than them.Now just wait and watch how well equipped they will start getting in the future.
Chinese white paper from past decade is claiming about Chinese ambitions about dominating the South China sea and becoming a naval power house to portray it's power globally to unofficially challenge the United States of America.
( this is the goal of China since Third Taiwan Strait Crisis)

So that makes big sense for China to re locate it's manpower towards it's ambitions of dominating the sea.

India on the other hand faces challenges of mass mobilization of troops from Pakistani front and have ongoing insurgency in many areas which require troops. I'm not justifying having a big standing armed forces but I'm saying that Chinese ambitions are different from india.
Technically i don't think Chinese will super arm its infantry because they are aiming to divert funds towards building a navy which will eventually be more costly.

Many strategist say that india needs to be somewhat prepared for the two front war if that thing is somewhat correct then i think we need a big land forces. For now Navy gets the least amount of % from armed forces budget and land forces gets the highest amount.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Chinese white paper from past decade is claiming about Chinese ambitions about dominating the South China sea and becoming a naval power house to portray it's power globally to unofficially challenge the United States of America.
( this is the goal of China since Third Taiwan Strait Crisis)

So that makes big sense for China to re locate it's manpower towards it's ambitions of dominating the sea.

India on the other hand faces challenges of mass mobilization of troops from Pakistani front and have ongoing insurgency in many areas which require troops. I'm not justifying having a big standing armed forces but I'm saying that Chinese ambitions are different from india.
Technically i don't think Chinese will super arm its infantry because they are aiming to divert funds towards building a navy which will eventually be more costly.

Many strategist say that india needs to be somewhat prepared for the two front war if that thing is somewhat correct then i think we need a big land forces. For now Navy gets the least amount of % from armed forces budget and land forces gets the highest amount.
Two front war can never be won by Superior numbers but superior technology.

I believe the Army needs to be handing over some of the counter insurgency ops to the CAPF.But then their training and planning is not of that level.

We need to increase the numbers of Cobra and deploy them to fight insurgency.The Army should be focusing more on the borders and conventional warfare.

And even if we dont cut the numbers whats the point in getting so many tanks?

Pakistan can never attack India on its own..if there is a two front war then why do we have nukes for?

In the worst case scenario nukes are the best defence for a two front war not numbers.

Sridhar_TN

The thing is not that Afghanistan has a well equipped SF.I wont even give it priority coz they are funded by US and have no choice but the thing is that where are we when we compare ourselves to other countries.

I am not saying dont buy tanks but soo many tanks? I just want to know which country is gonna attack India with thousands of tanks and we will fight a modern day mahabharta?

So why dont we focus a little bit on SF because anyway they are the ones fighting all your battles since 71.

And whats the excuse for non compliance of standard kit and uniform by the Army.

The foot soldier has done more than what is required of him to compensate for the lack of gear.
True, SF has been very successful. Lacking all the gears that are required. Imagine how powerful they would be with full gear. And airborne support.
Going through the pics posted above, there was a pic of the cobra commando:
upload_2020-3-28_20-10-18.jpeg

This should be the gear for regular infantry. Not a commando. And needs matching camo boots and knee guards. Start from the bottom. Regular infantry equipments and gear. Decide on that. then move over to the SF and specialist units. Comtacs, helmets, plate carriers and plates, medical gear...

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

The foot soldier has done more than what is required of him to compensate for the lack of gear.
True, SF has been very successful. Lacking all the gears that are required. Imagine how powerful they would be with full gear. And airborne support.
Going through the pics posted above, there was a pic of the cobra commando:
View attachment 44878

This should be the gear for regular infantry. Not a commando. And needs matching camo boots and knee guards. Start from the bottom. Regular infantry equipments and gear. Decide on that. then move over to the SF and specialist units. Comtacs, helmets, plate carriers and plates, medical gear...
And this doesnt even take thousands of crores.

Sridhar_TN

And this doesnt even take thousands of crores.
If there is a possibility to draw a parallel, para sf would be akin to the green berets. AFSOD, to the navy seals. AFSOD will be deployed via, land , sea and air. These specialized units can be equipped with all the above said gear that’s is supplied by local industries. Very much possible.

I am not sure on categorizing the rashtriya rifles. Are they purely CT or can be regarded as SF? Either way, they remind you of the US SF that go
Undercover with rag tag clothing to blend in:
upload_2020-3-28_20-28-29.jpeg

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

If there is a possibility to draw a parallel, para sf would be akin to the green berets. AFSOD, to the navy seals. AFSOD will be deployed via, land , sea and air. These specialized units can be equipped with all the above said gear that’s is supplied by local industries. Very much possible.

I am not sure on categorizing the rashtriya rifles. Are they purely CT or can be regarded as SF? Either way, they remind you of the US SF that go
Undercover with rag tag clothing to blend in:
View attachment 44879
RR is nothing like anything else in the world.

R A Varun

China can shippon a thousand tanks in a day into pakistan through the gwadar and the CPEC

IN A WEEK THEY CAN HAVE AN ENTIRE NEW ARMY IN OUT WESTERNSIDE

Where do you get a thousand tanks in a week from where can you get ha

Lupus

China can shippon a thousand tanks in a day into pakistan through the gwadar and the CPEC

Idk what you're smoking boss but must be some potent stuff if it makes you think IN would let a Chinese ship reach Gwadar in the middle of a war. And CPEC is a dead horse.

Noone's saying don't buy tanks but plzzz for the love of God don't do it at the cost of special operations.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

From where will it ship?

From the sea route?..and our Navy will let them pass?

Or from the air route..and our AF will help them.

Or from the land route..and we will just keep watching.

From where?

Sridhar_TN

Cannot comment on gwadar. But if tanks rolling through CPEC, IA will do another Doklam. That’s how it works.
If Beijing takes those steps, then **drumroll** enter USA in the Indian Ocean.
US A/Cs making port calls to Indian naval bases etc. These situations have been well analyzed and strategic partnerships made therefore. The only way China can take on India,, via a two front campaign.

Lupus

Cannot comment on gwadar. But if tanks rolling through CPEC, IA will do another Doklam. That’s how it works.
If Beijing takes those steps, then **drumroll** enter USA in the Indian Ocean.
US A/Cs making port calls to Indian naval bases etc. These situations have been well analyzed and strategic partnerships made therefore. The only way China can take on India,, via a two front campaign.
Two points.

1) I don't understand this desi fetish of sucking up to Amreeka. They don't give two hoots about our welfare, only the safeguarding of 'murican interests which btw align with India only on the surface. We should indeed cooperate with the US to make up for our power/wealth disparity vis-a-vis China but NEVER rely on the US.

NEVER.

American friendship is akin to fancy wine in a poisoned chalice. I'd rather go thirsty.

2) This discussion has little to do with Indian Special Forces so I suggest we end it here to prevent further derailing this thread.