Indian Special Forces (archived)

Deathstar

I’ve heard this before and I didn’t buy it then and I don’t buy it now.

you think western forces spend billions to make their soldiers less effective? Average Australian soldier has $27,000 worth of equipment issued to them. This makes the soldier more lethal, more survivable and more competent. they are force multipliers.

In India soldier gets issued a rifle and helmet just like 100 years ago. PLA have even realised the futility in this approach and are cutting their manpower by 30-40% so they can spend more on each individual soldier and CAPEX and they have a defence budget 3-4X India’s!

In this day and age people still making a case against mechanisation and automation?

you constantly are hearing in JK/NE about ops being called off because it’s getting dark, have heard of terrorists escaping cordons becuase of a lack of communication and command and control awareness. You’re telling me Indian forces aren’t compromised by their lack of equipment at all? I’d say you’re naive if you actually believe that.
But the problem is for country like India with such a high youth population , Armed forces acts as an excellent employer. Trimming the strenghs of forces is not just economic question but a political one too.
Total armed forces including paramilitary , armed police etc etc in India is 4 million plus , even more than China. Its not economical for a country with per capita less than 2000 dollars to equip its 1.3 million armed forces with equipments costing 27000 dollar on par with developed countries.
Yet still we have highly equipped force like NSG , SFs etc.
Jitni aukat hai utna hi de sakte hai hum. We are not in a position to compare our forces with that of the developing ones.
Australias per capital income is 45k and Indias is 7k i.e almost 6.5 times (ppp) so Indias forces shiush be equipped with min 27000/6.5 i.e 4k which is we do already.
Lets be realistic and not fret over US or Australian forces

you think western forces spend billions to make their soldiers less effective? Average Australian soldier has $27,000 worth of equipment issued to them. This makes the soldier more lethal, more survivable and more competent. they are force multipliers.
Indian army have ww2 colonial mindset.
Just like brits used them as cannon fodders.
Now current babus and imperial gernails still think troops as cannon fodders.
And they are supported by our great word class historical OFB for arms supplying.

Australia just spended more than 3 billion on defence equipment.

If army finds latest gear useless then why they use ancient bullet proof jacket and helmets?

But the problem is for country like India with such a high youth population , Armed forces acts as an excellent employer. Trimming the strenghs of forces is not just economic question but a political one too.
Total armed forces including paramilitary , armed police etc etc in India is 4 million plus , even more than China. Its not economical for a country with per capita less than 2000 dollars to equip its 1.3 million armed forces with equipments costing 27000 dollar on par with developed countries.
Yet still we have highly equipped force like NSG , SFs etc.
Jitni aukat hai utna hi de sakte hai hum. We are not in a position to compare our forces with that of the developing ones.
Australias per capital income is 45k and Indias is 7k i.e almost 6.5 times (ppp) so Indias forces shiush be equipped with min 27000/6.5 i.e 4k which is we do already.
Lets be realistic and not fret over US or Australian forces
Then why we are spending 65 billion on defence?
Why we create INSAS which in cost is comparable to American modern rifles no one asked you to produce shit and use shit.

We use expensive ammo which is of inferior quality.

Then we buy ultra expensive equipment from forgein ke nations which is expensive as fuck. We cannot have world class equipment if we keep on buying expensive shit.
We can produce equipment in india cheaper because we have cheap labour which also brings cost down and give employment to people. You cannot arm a 4 million strong army with videshi maal which we cannot afford.

Made in india cheaper in india and use it. Russians have lesser military budget than us still they are one of the most equipped and advanced army.

I’ve heard this before and I didn’t buy it then and I don’t buy it now.

In India soldier gets issued a rifle and helmet just like 100 years ago. PLA have even realised the futility in this approach and are cutting their manpower by 30-40% so they can spend more on each individual soldier and CAPEX and they have a defence budget 3-4X India’s!

In this day and age people still making a case against mechanisation and automation?

you constantly are hearing in JK/NE about ops being called off because it’s getting dark, have heard of terrorists escaping cordons becuase of a lack of communication and command and control awareness. You’re telling me Indian forces aren’t compromised by their lack of equipment at all? I’d say you’re naive if you actually believe that.
First of all I am not here to sell anything to anyone. What I've said and mentioned is whatever I have gathered first hand after discussing with ground forces and my tenure with them.

Its not like SEALS or Delta Forces have not aborted their missions or called off. They are not discussing it doesn't mean it has not happened. Moreover in our context have a look at the missions which were called off because of darkness and all. Those are the missions where regular forces were involved rather then SF. Unlike us no other country involve SF in COIN and CASO. So there is bound to be difference in gears and tactics when you go on and compare PARAs with SEALS or SAS or SPETNAZ or anything else. Operational circumstances and procedural approach of our SF is different from others.

If gears and weapons are the only parameters to judge, then don't you think it is beneficial to equip J&K police with all the latest gears and involve them in all the operations in valley? Same goes with Manipur and Nagaland police force. How many snaps of cross border ops of our SF has surfaced in media like the ones we see of US or any other SF?

Deathstar

Then why we are spending 65 billion on defence?
Why we create INSAS which in cost is comparable to American modern rifles no one asked you to produce shit and use shit.

We use expensive ammo which is of inferior quality.

Then we buy ultra expensive equipment from forgein ke nations which is expensive as fuck. We cannot have world class equipment if we keep on buying expensive shit.
We can produce equipment in india cheaper because we have cheap labour which also brings cost down and give employment to people. You cannot arm a 4 million strong army with videshi maal which we cannot afford.

Made in india cheaper in india and use it. Russians have lesser military budget than us still they are one of the most equipped and advanced army.
Our budget is more than we can afford tbh. Look at healthcare , education , R&D as % of GDP and compare it with defence. Most of the budget goes in as salaries , pensions etc etc. First aukkat badani chaiye humko aur fir defence budget. And then whatever remains , we spend it irresponsibly , huge cost overruns , delays in procurement , shoddy deals , kickbacks, lazy ass attitude of government babus

I don't think that. We cannot reduce our budget from what we are spending rn and we cannot boost economic growth without having a powerful military. So both things are interconnected for now our defence budget is okay but as economy rise we need to spend more.
For india to grow economically we need a stable country for which armed forces is required. Lesser health care and etc doesn't harm our long term gains.

As the then Minister of External Affairs, Pranab Mukherjee, while speaking at a Navy Foundation function in Kolkata in June 2007, spoke of the linkages between maritime affairs, international relations and the role of the Indian Navy. He said “The simple geographical fact that two-thirds of the surface of our planet is covered with water, gives rise to a peculiarly intimate relationship between international relations and maritime affairs. Yet, for too many centuries of our history, India has either neglected or devoted insufficient attention to this relationship. Fortunately, after almost a millennia of inward and landward focus, we are once again turning our gaze outwards and seawards, which is the natural direction of view for a nation seeking to re-establish itself not simply as a continental power, but even more so as a maritime power and consequently, as one that is of significance upon the global stage.” Recalling India’s rich maritime legacy of active trade links and cultural exchanges with the then known civilisations, he also brought out that it was only when the ruling elite forgot imperatives of maritime security that the country lost its domination in world trade and eventually, her independence

Military is important for India's growth.
I'm also saying we are spending our money on import which cost more and have more drawbacks if start spending this money on indigenous systems then we can provide employment and R&D growth will automatically boost.

Noname34

Careful bro, u are putting allegations over military. Dont u know our military is stagnant only because of Babus in MoD, jealous Ips/IaS lobby and lastly Nehrus. We gets faulty equipment from Ofb only because of the left wing unions and not because of the obsolete parameters demanded by tge decision makers.
Corruption percentage in military is less than the amount of bacteria remaining in toilet cleaned by harpic
Ok now this is just taking it to the extreme, there is no doubt that top military leaders don't have a lot of ideas regarding military procurement but things like beureaucracy, DPSU monopolies, underhand dealing by DPSUs, pathetic quality of their products, cronyism in MOD and god complexes amongst the beaureaucrats in the MOD are very much real and also to be equally blamed for this mess.

A bunch of this mess could be solved by creating specialised institutions to teach procurement policies to soldiers like in western countries but no, it does not exist and who is to be blamed for that?

The MOD of course. (There is still no progress on that by the way, the file is sitting on some shelf probably)

Also having a CDS post which overpowers a bunch of these silly beaureaucrats will help.

There is a need for a complete workdown from the bottoms up with regards to military procurement, there are plenty of examples of military procurement done right throughout the world, there is no shame in emulating them.

Gessler

Calling in airstrikes painting targets etc they simply don't have the equipment for that.
Equipment that enables a Forward Air Controller (FAC) role is present with Garuds - its one of their core capabilities. And given the fact that an overall lack of jointmanship means that the Indian military does not have JTACs (joint terminal attack controller) from all services, FAC remains a role that only Garuds are allowed to perform.

The only strikes non-IAF SFs can call down are indirect fires like mortars & artillery.

mdaDot6.png

Obviously, IAF airpower isn't as active as USAF/RAF when it comes to employing air strikes to take out WOT-type targets. And due to nature of heavily militarized LoC and lack of air dominance on other side, its better to rely solely on smart munitions & off-board ISR assets (satellites) to locate and discriminate targets. Even if we did it's not like our armed forces have a body who's job it is to declassify and release a constant stream of HQ pics to the public regarding military ops, see link below (most of pics from Kashmir are from civilian sources). So we don't get to see Garuds training/performing this role very often at all.

https://www.af.mil/News/Photos/igphoto/2000795092/

However, if at all a war erupts across LoC requiring usage of Kargil levels of airpower (or more), you can bet Garuds will have to be on the ground to ensure we don't reach a Kargil levels of ordnance dropped-to-effect achieved ratio.

Though, I'm glad IAF brass managed to carve a slice for Garuds of the ground-level fighting in J&K. The more action they get to see the better...in a force where jointness is lacking, institutional memory is the only way to achieve some level of competence. Because when push comes to shove and Garuds have to get to an advantageous position for directing fires, there's no telling how many buildings or caves they may have to clear in order to get there. Better to have troops who've already seen bullets flying at them prior to sending on such missions.

I'd take that we have written it in response to what I have written.

Nowhere I have said that SF guys don't need special tac equipment. But nowhere it is a written rule that they would be loaded with those for each and every ops. As I mentioned earlier, any equipment or even weapon a operator would carry would depend on the particular nature of operation. Now you can't expect one to carry a Laser designator to COIN or CASO op in valley. Even if he carries, what good it would be other then weight increment. He is not going to call in Air cavalry to take down a house. None of the SF team which goes on a night ops goes sans a NVG. But expecting them to wear one even at the afternoon sun in insane IMO.

As far as medical corp unit attached with any operational unit is concerned, I don't know where you got the idea that they go on without the bare minimum requirement. If you expect them to carry around or move around with a field hospital to carry out onsite surgery for grave injuries, well its not going to happen anyway. During ops they act more like paramedics rather then doctors or surgeons. So they only carries whatever bare minimum is required at times like that.

Now regarding Head gear and BPJ and gloves and kneepad. Among all of these BPJ is a must have and we are seeing them coming now a days. As far as Helmet vs Patka is concerned, now a days we are seeing Helmets making presence felt in the field of Patka. More of it has to do with the initial training process rather then availability. I've first hand experience of knowing operators who prefer Patka over Helmets only because he is more comfortable in a Patka rather then Helmet. Providing Helmets directly to field operatives is not going to make any difference unless it is made mandatory at initial training level. Modern helmets are becoming a part of training only recently ans the result could be seen in the young bloods. As far as veterans are concerned, you would see them in a Patka more often then a Ballistic helmet. Same goes on with other gears.

2008. Place Vairengte. A US column was training with an Indian column in CIJW school. All of them were veterans on both the side. One stark difference between both the team were the gears. Indian team was devoid of all the fancy head gear, comm set, gloves, kneepads, mask that the US team was sporting. But nowhere the team was lagging behind their US counterpart in operation aspect during the exercise. I was lucky enough to share mess space with few of the participants from our side & when I brought up the topic on gears, the unanimous reply was that they are not comfortable in those as they have not been trained in those gears. Its not like interaction never happens in between two teams and sharing of these gears had not taken place. But Indian counterparts were not comfortable while operating wearing those. So its a matter of how and with what you train which dictates the later part of life.

You have taken my answer in a completly wrong way. No where have I stated that we need to have nvg tubes during daylight or carry medical equipment worth a field hospital

Let me tell you what exactly I meant when I said medical operators

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equipment_of_a_combat_medic

I would like everyone to see what a bag of medical equipment contains and let me repeat it's just one bag that's it. Common sense will dictate one to use the above equipment than to risk with the life of a person by trying to send him to the hospital. All that stuff in one bag is you can say minimum nothing much and of course you can always remove a lot of stuff from that to get the bare minimum requirement but our bare requirement as I have stated slap a bandage and send him off. No morphine to calm him no iv no chest seals and a lot of stuff etc. You say our soldiers don't feel comfortable true absolutely how will they. All the other sf around the globe also at some point probably felt uncomfortable it's about training in that gear and turning it into your second skin. As far as helmets are considered having a ops core or virtus style helmet with integrated comms will be much better for our sf than a patka. We are yet to see a standardized uniform which is a basic requirment.

Bullet wounds can also be treated in field in fact are by many countries it simply makes sense to stop the blood flow right there than to let him die of blood loss by sending him to a far off point. for our sf we have the liberty that they are in our own country where a chopper or mrap is always ready to pick them off but what about when they are outside say afghanistan how will an injured guy get help there. As for the remaining points having plate carriers with proper pouches for faster reloading and better carriage suppressors for stealth and drones still stand we can cannot move on to be a world class so unit until we have them because a world class sof unit operators outside there own territory and thats when we will realize how lacking we are.

Equipment that enables a Forward Air Controller (FAC) role is present with Garuds - its one of their core capabilities. And given the fact that an overall lack of jointmanship means that the Indian military does not have JTACs (joint terminal attack controller) from all services, FAC remains a role that only Garuds are allowed to perform.

The only strikes non-IAF SFs can call down are indirect fires like mortars & artillery.

View attachment 39785

Obviously, IAF airpower isn't as active as USAF/RAF when it comes to employing air strikes to take out WOT-type targets. And due to nature of heavily militarized LoC and lack of air dominance on other side, its better to rely solely on smart munitions & off-board ISR assets (satellites) to locate and discriminate targets. Even if we did it's not like our armed forces have a body who's job it is to declassify and release a constant stream of HQ pics to the public regarding military ops, see link below (most of pics from Kashmir are from civilian sources). So we don't get to see Garuds training/performing this role very often at all.

https://www.af.mil/News/Photos/igphoto/2000795092/

However, if at all a war erupts across LoC requiring usage of Kargil levels of airpower (or more), you can bet Garuds will have to be on the ground to ensure we don't reach a Kargil levels of ordnance dropped-to-effect achieved ratio.

Though, I'm glad IAF brass managed to carve a slice for Garuds of the ground-level fighting in J&K. The more action they get to see the better...in a force where jointness is lacking, institutional memory is the only way to achieve some level of competence. Because when push comes to shove and Garuds have to get to an advantageous position for directing fires, there's no telling how many buildings or caves they may have to clear in order to get there. Better to have troops who've already seen bullets flying at them prior to sending on such missions.

The equipment above in that picture is so bulky it will be a nightmare to set that up in enemy territory

What I wanted Guards to have is something more hand held like the latest one USA has the eye of God type systems. We also need a jtac to pass information in sync with a isr or awacs platform keeping them up to date rest iIagree with.

You have taken my answer in a completly wrong way. No where have I stated that we need to have nvg tubes during daylight or carry medical equipment worth a field hospital

Let me tell you what exactly I meant when I said medical operators

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equipment_of_a_combat_medic

I would like everyone to see what a bag of medical equipment contains and let me repeat it's just one bag that's it. Common sense will dictate one to use the above equipment than to risk with the life of a person by trying to send him to the hospital. All that stuff in one bag is you can say minimum nothing much and of course you can always remove a lot of stuff from that to get the bare minimum requirement but our bare requirement as I have stated slap a bandage and send him off. No morphine to calm him no iv no chest seals and a lot of stuff etc. You say our soldiers don't feel comfortable true absolutely how will they. All the other sf around the globe also at some point probably felt uncomfortable it's about training in that gear and turning it into your second skin. As far as helmets are considered having a ops core or virtus style helmet with integrated comms will be much better for our sf than a patka. We are yet to see a standardized uniform which is a basic requirment.

Bullet wounds can also be treated in field in fact are by many countries it simply makes sense to stop the blood flow right there than to let him die of blood loss by sending him to a far off point. for our sf we have the liberty that they are in our own country where a chopper or mrap is always ready to pick them off but what about when they are outside say afghanistan how will an injured guy get help there. As for the remaining points having plate carriers with proper pouches for faster reloading and better carriage suppressors for stealth and drones still stand we can cannot move on to be a world class so unit until we have them because a world class sof unit operators outside there own territory and thats when we will realize how lacking we are.
Let me quote myself here regarding what I said about Medi Kit.

As far as medical corp unit attached with any operational unit is concerned, I don't know where you got the idea that they go on without the bare minimum requirement. If you expect them to carry around or move around with a field hospital to carry out onsite surgery for grave injuries, well its not going to happen anyway. During ops they act more like paramedics rather then doctors or surgeons. So they only carries whatever bare minimum is required at times like that.
Now lets see what a soldier in IA carries as his Medikit.

Screenshot_2019-11-01 First Aid Kit Type - B pdf.png

Screenshot_2019-11-01 First Aid Kit Type - B pdf(1).png

Screenshot_2019-11-01 First Aid Kit Type - B pdf(2).png

This is the general Medikit of an Indian soldier. This weighs around 15 to 20 Kg. Do you think the 60 kg battle load which a SF operator generally carries is just his ration and Ammo?

Now I'd not blame our ignorance in this matter. We generally perceive what west sell.

Careful bro, u are putting allegations over military. Dont u know our military is stagnant only because of Babus in MoD, jealous Ips/IaS lobby and lastly Nehrus. We gets faulty equipment from Ofb only because of the left wing unions and not because of the obsolete parameters demanded by tge decision makers.
Corruption percentage in military is less than the amount of bacteria remaining in toilet cleaned by harpic
I was recently talking to some my elders in Hyderabad who are fairly well to do and connected. They were talking of heavy corruption in the QA part of the army for approving the konkur's and other shell casings.

you mean commission for imported items...

INDIA'S PREPARATIONS?

the killing Of Baghdadi should ring definite alarm bells in Pakistan and put the fear of life in Pak-sheltered global jihadi terrorists like Hafiz Saeed, Azhar Masood and Syed Sallahudin. India is gradually inching towards them. They have to realise that no hideout is safe when the counter terror forces decide to eliminate the high profile terrorists, in any case they are no match to Osama Bin Laden and Baghdadi, who were tracked and killed in territories least expected. High-value targeting not only helps eliminating top leadership but also forces them deeper underground does impeding their capability o directly influence and motivate its cadre. Once the trio realises that they are being targeted by India, there ability of free movement in Pakistan and POJK would severely hampered. India has already raised a tri-service command of Special Forces and is also acquired/acquiring the necessary systems and weapon platforms to carry out such strikes. It is a matter of time.

The operation conducted by US Delta Force has many pluses to its credit and can easily be termed as an outstanding operation since it involved not only perfect and meticulous planning, it also needed equally daring and professional execution. The most outstanding achievement of the operation is pinpoint intelligence to the extent that Baghdadi always wore a suicide vest. This input helped the American planners save lives of the combatants by grouping military dogs in the task force. The final chase inside the tunnel was done by the specially trained Dogs Had the soldiers being chasing the impact of suicide blast would have resulted in large scale causalities among the commandos. In its pursuit of capability building for these type of operations india need to develop the capability of intelligence acquisition of such a level.

rkhanna

INDIA'S PREPARATIONS?

the killing Of Baghdadi should ring definite alarm bells in Pakistan and put the fear of life in Pak-sheltered global jihadi terrorists like Hafiz Saeed, Azhar Masood and Syed Sallahudin. India is gradually inching towards them. They have to realise that no hideout is safe when the counter terror forces decide to eliminate the high profile terrorists, in any case they are no match to Osama Bin Laden and Baghdadi, who were tracked and killed in territories least expected. High-value targeting not only helps eliminating top leadership but also forces them deeper underground does impeding their capability o directly influence and motivate its cadre. Once the trio realises that they are being targeted by India, there ability of free movement in Pakistan and POJK would severely hampered. India has already raised a tri-service command of Special Forces and is also acquired/acquiring the necessary systems and weapon platforms to carry out such strikes. It is a matter of time.

The operation conducted by US Delta Force has many pluses to its credit and can easily be termed as an outstanding operation since it involved not only perfect and meticulous planning, it also needed equally daring and professional execution. The most outstanding achievement of the operation is pinpoint intelligence to the extent that Baghdadi always wore a suicide vest. This input helped the American planners save lives of the combatants by grouping military dogs in the task force. The final chase inside the tunnel was done by the specially trained Dogs Had the soldiers being chasing the impact of suicide blast would have resulted in large scale causalities among the commandos. In its pursuit of capability building for these type of operations india need to develop the capability of intelligence acquisition of such a level.
The intelligence heavy lifting was done by The Kurds and Iraqis

It would be much better for India to use deadly precision artillery strikes with the help of drones or drone strikes itself.

In the end what matters is the result no matter the way you achieve it.

Sending our sf that deep is full of risks our choppers can be defected to things can go south in a very short amount of time.

For now our sf must do cross border raids in pojk only nearby.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

INDIA'S PREPARATIONS?

Hmmm except NSG no SF uses dogs in India.

IndiaRising

INDIA'S PREPARATIONS?

https://www.thehindu.com/news/inter...d-to-a-west-asian-country/article23972788.ece

China wants Pakistan to relocate Hafiz Saeed to a West Asian country