Indian Special Forces (archived)

WARREN SS

Yup. Russia has deployed S300 and sent military advisers in Venezuela.
Let Tell u Reality US is Avoiding Direct conflict With Russia And Waiting For Provocation They are smart Enough To not engage US Soldiers

In Real World US Army Annihilate Any Army In the World Within Conventionally

Unconventional War is arena Were US Might Failed Be it Vietnam or Afghanistan ,Syria, Iraq

No power on earth has balls To kill US Soldiers in direct confrontation Even for provocation

Sir i agree with everything you are saying but the point I was making was is the Deployment of SOF personel with no clear objective in broad daylight the Apt use of them?

Why fly in a SOF unit when an Infantry Unit would have sufficed?

We (at an HQ level) continue to miss the boat on things like Strategic Employment and Operational Security. Our Conventional Commanders continue to confuse Commando Missions with SOF missions.

If the creation of SOD is to finally persecute Strategic SOF missions then where does that leave the rest of our SOF units? Simple light infantry / commando taskings?
Sir, things are evolving and evolving for better, I think. There might have been something and they would not have moved there or orders nothing below the Corps. Moreover, during ceasefire time many things get overlooked and relaxed. Had I been their commander, I would have two cases of Rum and given to NSCN (IM) commander for his boys to enjoy. I would have tried to meet all his cadre and see for myself how well are they equipped nowadays.

Nagas would be floored with such a gesture. All said and done - they are gentlemen ... deadly gentlemen.

Requirement of SF to be placed with and under regular formation in our operational situation and environment will never cease. You will continue to live with that as also with SOD.

Gessler

Saw this recent picture of a rebel Venezuelan soldier using an AR-57 with bullet feeder through top and an empty magazine in bottom to catch spebt casing leaving no trace. Do Indian SF have these kind of weapons?
If we have, I haven't seen it.

However, a regular brass catcher (commonly used by Army & CAPFs at firing ranges) does the same thing.

cartridge-4-e1489032544442.jpg

We mostly use very jugaad models. Here we can see plastic bottles being improvised for the role -

cartridge-1.jpg

It is kind of sad to see. But then again, we have a hundred other areas where we're lacking which need to addressed first before worrying about brass catcher jugaad.

Downside of having brass catchers though is that in the event of a malfunction, it becomes difficult to quickly* assess what the problem is (failure to feed, failure to eject, etc.) as its not easy to get a clear view of the chamber. I've also heard of cases where the catchers themselves induce malfunctions as a spent casing might bounce around and get jammed back in the chamber.

* at a glance.

Purpose-built brass catcher models are available like this one, which you can tack on to the gun (so long as they're compatible) without need of any modified P90-type feed system as seen on the AR-57.

Let Tell u Reality US is Avoiding Direct conflict With Russia And Waiting For Provocation They are smart Enough To not engage US Soldiers

In Real World US Army Annihilate Any Army In the World Within Conventionally

Unconventional War is arena Were US Might Failed Be it Vietnam or Afghanistan ,Syria, Iraq

No power on earth has balls To kill US Soldiers in direct confrontation Even for provocation
If I stretch your argument a bit more, Americans are not interested in small fights like Venezuela.

Looking at retraining of US marines to back to their basics of shore based invasions recently, looks like they are planning medium term for either noko or China..

If I stretch your argument a bit more, Americans are not interested in small fights like Venezuela.

Looking at retraining of US marines to back to their basics of shore based invasions recently, looks like they are planning medium term for either noko or China..
Russia can not be overlooked . They will be back soon to their armoured divisions...

WARREN SS

Russia can not be overlooked . They will be back soon to their armoured divisions...
Sir You really think Russian Armored Division Will last USAF Stand offs And Cluster Sensor fused Weapons

Nevertheless Kindly Check US Amour-ed Divisions It Will Miracle For Russians To even Last a Week in Direct Confrontation

Kindly Check Invasion of Iraq And In What Pace Us Armour-ed regiments Move To Baghdad

Read about the Air Sea battle concept that the Pentagon has adopted to deal with China.

Back to basics of military fighting.

Sir You really think Russian Armored Division Will last USAF Stand offs And Cluster Sensor fused Weapons

Nevertheless Kindly Check US Amour-ed Divisions It Will Miracle For Russians To even Last a Week in Direct Confrontation

Kindly Check Invasion of Iraq And In What Pace Us Armour-ed regiments Move To Baghdad
How will Russian armored divisions even get to Venezuela?
The Russian Navy's surface fleet is a hodge podge mix of some advanced small frigates and massive sized rust buckets.

Haldiram

The US went into Syria to topple Assad. That wet dream is still pending.

Russian armoured divisions In Venezuela?
No No..
The context was US slowly coming back to conventional forces..
You mentioned N korea and China and I added Russia..

The possibility of an engagement with Russia in Eastern Europe still not ruled out..
Hence armoured division..
"US coming back to their armoured divisions"...

WARREN SS

The US went into Syria to topple Assad. That wet dream is still pending.
US Just Want Power Play And geopolitics.Tell Assad To Down Singe USA Military Plane or destroyer See what comes Next ??
Not That I challenge Putin don't have that balls To down Single US fighter or destroyer Even After US Navy Cruise Missiles Strikes in Syria

Last Time US Army Really Fight With All it might against Adversary was in WW2 When they have Real threat

No No..
The context was US slowly coming back to conventional forces..
You mentioned N korea and China and I added Russia..

The possibility of an engagement with Russia in Eastern Europe still not ruled out..
Hence armoured division..
"US coming back to their armoured divisions"...
replied in chit chat thread....
no point derailing SF thread for this discussion.

Haldiram

I wonder if a steady cam type contraption can be designed to make the ballistic shield hands free, similar to what movie [emoji327] camera operators have.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View attachment 34745
PARA SF during yesterday's Shopian encounter ..........
Just can’t comprehend how these guys can still have such crappy equipment after all these years. You actually see Ghataks with better and more standardised equipment.

Appalling lack of professionalism by those who are meant to be “elite”