Indian Navy Developments & Discussions

Point is not to defeat us
Point is to exert influence on other countries especially IOR which they can do very easily
Controlling other nations policies and challenging us is their long term goal
Ok till 2040 they won't be able to fight us in IOR but after that when they would have been the most powerful nations on this world with excellent sea based logistics
But in short term they can deploy cbg without any problems and try to reduce our influence
Mai apki gali se nikla. Apka isme kya gaya ?
Laykin mai apka enemy no 1 hai , mai apki gali se nikla. Aap mere upar bandook taan ke mereko escort kiya gali ke end tak kyuki apko dar laga ki mai ulta sedha karega kuch .aka apke neighbors ke ghar pe bunker banayga ya unke kaan bharega apke baare me, "ki jai jagganath na ek no ka kharab admi hai. Chalo Saath milke Raat ko uski Gaadi se tel churayenge. Usko acha lesson milega "lekin apne meko escort kiya bandook dikhake , tab mai chup chap apke gali se nikal jaygea
Waise hi indiam navy bhi escort karegi even beyond 2040

jai jaganath

Mai apki gali se nikla. Apka isme kya gaya ?
Laykin mai apka enemy no 1 hai , mai apki gali se nikla. Aap mere upar bandook taan ke mereko escort kiya gali ke end tak kyuki apko dar laga ki mai ulta sedha karega kuch .
Waise hi indiam navy bhi escort karegi even beyond 2040
Beyond 2040 they will be in much advantageous situation with robust logistics and connectivity in SEA
Ap jo bol rahe hai woh ap 2040 ke pehle tak kar sakte hai
Post 2040 there won't be only 1 cbg but I guess Chinese will create an entire command for IOR with 3-4 cbg
Military bases surrounding us
Advanced weapons deployed on the overseas bases
Their intentions are very clear regarding IOR in long term
BUT WE SHOULDN'T IGNORE INDIAN NAVY'S POWER EXPANSION AND COUNTER SYSTEMS BUT AGAIN WE HAVE NO OTHER CHOICE THAN BEING DEFENSIVE BCOZ THAT'S IN OUR ATTITUDE
I REPEAT WE CANT DISREGARD INDIAN NAVY'S DENIAL POWER

Fatalis

Define sufficient.

For example in this pic, you can see 16 x UVLM cells and 16 x Barak-8 cells. The UVLMs are taking up almost twice as much space:

View attachment 175034

That's the point. For all the extra space you're wasting, in the end you only get to carry 1 missile per cell with the UVLM.

It's more than that - look at the pic above. Does it look like 4 x Barak tubes can fit inside each of the UVLM hatches?
From my point of view following are the sufficient numbers:
TypeUVLS
P-15A, P-15B32-40
P-17, P-17A, P-17AU24-32
NGMV, NGC08-16

Also, I am not sure about the authenticity of the source but it was mentioned there that a design study was done in 2017 to check fitting and loading of SAMs in the UVLM. This image was also added there.
Screenshot (640).png

Rassil Krishnan

NameLengthWidthHeight
MK-41635 mm635 mm7.696 m
Mk-57711 mm711 mm7.93 m
KVLS-I635 mm635 mm7.693 m
KVLS-II850 mm850 mm9.8 m
Chinese CCP VLS850 mm850 mm9 m
UVLM1000 mm1000 mm9.5 m

All the dimensions are of a single cell.

Our UVLM is the largest and IMO it will form the base of now under development UVLS. I also read somewhere that there were studies going on to test the quad-pack solution in the current UVLM for SAMs.
when was this UVLM dimensions released,is this official from drdo ? any prototypes?

Gessler

From my point of view following are the sufficient numbers:
TypeUVLS
P-15A, P-15B32-40
P-17, P-17A, P-17AU24-32
NGMV, NGC08-16

Also, I am not sure about the authenticity of the source but it was mentioned there that a design study was done in 2017 to check fitting and loading of SAMs in the UVLM. This image was also added there.
View attachment 175471
Development of a true Universal VLS system is already underway - it was confirmed by the DRDO director himself in official publications. But there is no information regarding:

1) Whether this uses the UVLM external casing, or a new, smaller one. I think it would be the latter due to space constraint issues I mentioned before.

2) Whether the new UVLS will have any provision for quad-packing of still smaller missiles like VL-SRSAM. Common sense (if we follow the established American & Chinese models) dictates that it should - however, don't underestimate our capacity for stupidity either, or our lack of clear planning & foresight.

I'm aware of the source you mention - I myself am a moderator on that forum. As you said, it's only a study and nobody knows what came of it.

The picture however, is only for illustration purposes - it's taken from a 2016 (or earlier) Chinese publication regarding the VLS on their Type-055 DDG, nothing to do with our UVLM:

Fatalis

Development of a true Universal VLS system is already underway - it was confirmed by the DRDO director himself in official publications. But there is no information regarding:

1) Whether this uses the UVLM external casing, or a new, smaller one. I think it would be the latter due to space constraint issues I mentioned before.

2) Whether the new UVLS will have any provision for quad-packing of still smaller missiles like VL-SRSAM. Common sense (if we follow the established American & Chinese models) dictates that it should - however, don't underestimate our capacity for stupidity either, or our lack of clear planning & foresight.

I'm aware of the source you mention - I myself am a moderator on that forum. As you said, it's only a study and nobody knows what came of it.

The picture however, is only for illustration purposes - it's taken from a 2016 (or earlier) Chinese publication regarding the VLS on their Type-055 DDG, nothing to do with our UVLM:

Thank you for pointing the issues of my post and rectifying it with an authentic source.

Much appreciated.

I was just putting my thoughts on the UVLS but yeah let's wait for the official thing.

Aditya Ballal

INS Vikrant’s fleet operationalisation integration trials to begin shortly with WNC.
View attachment 175728View attachment 175729View attachment 175731View attachment 175733
Mig 29K with a German Mototok Electric Towbarless Pushback/Towing tug.

Fatalis

Warships under construction/trials:

NameQuantityBuilder
Kalvari class SSK
2​
MDL
Tushil class Frigates
2​
Yantar Shipyard
Triput class Frigates
2​
GSL
Nilgiri class Frigates
7​
MDL + GRSE
Vishakhapatnam class Destroyers
3​
MDL
ASWSWC Corvettes
16​
CSL + GRSE(L&T)
MPV
2​
L&T
Anvesh
1​
CSL
Sandhyak class SVL
4​
GRSE(L&T)
Nistar class DSV
2​
HSL
Total
41​

Some other ships are also under construction but are not counted in the total by IN. They are:
  • Arihant class = 02
  • Diving Support Craft = 05
  • Missile Cum Ammunition Barges = 08
  • Ammunition cum Torpedo cum Missile Barges = 11

R A Varun

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PathtoPride?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc^tfw">#PathtoPride</a><a href="https://twitter.com/indiannavy?ref_src=twsrc^tfw">@IndianNavy</a> showcasing next generation Combat Management System in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DefExpo22?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc^tfw">#DefExpo22</a> . <br>Design caters for optimal interoperability targeting manned-unmanned teaming operations. <br>An Integrated Combat System evolving new age warfare. <br> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Technologyforfuture?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc^tfw">#Technologyforfuture</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AatmanirbharBharat?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc^tfw">#AatmanirbharBharat</a> <a href="https://t.co/K6OrLrcZBX">pic.twitter.com/K6OrLrcZBX</a></p>&mdash; IN (@IndiannavyMedia) <a href="">October 14, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Point is not to defeat us
Point is to exert influence on other countries especially IOR which they can do very easily
Controlling other nations policies and challenging us is their long term goal
Ok till 2040 they won't be able to fight us in IOR but after that when they would have been the most powerful nations on this world with excellent sea based logistics
But in short term they can deploy cbg without any problems and try to reduce our influence
They will certainly patrol IOR always, though they won't be able to defeat Indian navy in IOR either after 2040 even if we account current position of Indian navy vis a vis, leave alone Indian navy in 2040s which would have double the number of ships it has today.

Nor it would be an intelligent thing to patrol Indian Ocean with a CBG given anti ship and anti submarine capabilities and proximity of India.