Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

anirban8

They have upper hand and it's quite cringy how we sometimes act like pakistanis and underestimate a superior enemy.
I think we don't. If we are to believe what the Chinese say to be true then how do you explain the Nancy Pelosi incident? Also I generally use this technique but you can get a rough estimate of how good a military hardware is by putting a multiplier on the exported hardware(hope that makes sense) and what the chinese have exported so far has been .... let's say nothing eye catchy

anirban8

1)this is literally assumption without factual existence of capability
Hal has stated 16 aircrafts pm by 2028 u can field only 83 that's final
We don't have any functional mic to expand the production in short period
So forget about it
Your MIC will only develop when you place a higher quantity order. No private sector involvement will come from such small order quants.

anirban8

1A's also come with other benefits a huge one being you will have an aircraft with very good availability(western engine). 10's so even if we have them in lower numbers better availability will make up for it.

jai jaganath

Your MIC will only develop when you place a higher quantity order. No private sector involvement will come from such small order quants.
Yeah bro
Iaf will not give any further orders until 83 have been delivered
Hal has capability of 24 but 16 will be done as iaf has paid for it
We can't increase our production rate in short time
As we need a considerable time to establish a production line
We are not China

jai jaganath

1A's also come with other benefits a huge one being you will have an aircraft with very good availability(western engine). 10's so even if we have them in lower numbers better availability will make up for it.
They are replacing it with ws-10c which is indigenous
Do they won't face such problems

Gyyan

I think we don't. If we are to believe what the Chinese say to be true then how do you explain the Nancy Pelosi incident? Also I generally use this technique but you can get a rough estimate of how good a military hardware is by putting a multiplier on the exported hardware(hope that makes sense) and what the chinese have exported so far has been .... let's say nothing eye catchy
It's simple if you go by the assumption that china doesnt want to wage war until it's ready and America is playing games so the PLA is forced to so before they are completely sure.
It's bad to overestimate the enemy but no one who underestimated their enemy has won a war no matter what the difference a good example would be US-Vietnam war.
The PLA is not stronger than US Army by any means but they are catching up and it's not my statement there are a lot of similar statement from US top brass the 200bn $ is used by china smartly they are using any means possible to bridge the gap buying copying stealing everything.
When we can believe china stole data from the f22 and f35 program what stops you from thinking that they can use the data to produce something.
Think about it if we can produce something they can do and they are also putting huge chunk of money in it and for far more longer time than us.
We should accept we woke up late.

jai jaganath

It's simple if you go by the assumption that china doesnt want to wage war until it's ready and America is playing games so the PLA is forced to so before they are completely sure.
It's bad to overestimate the enemy but no one who underestimated their enemy has won a war no matter what the difference a good example would be US-Vietnam war.
The PLA is not stronger than US Army by any means but they are catching up and it's not my statement there are a lot of similar statement from US top brass the 200bn $ is used by china smartly they are using any means possible to bridge the gap buying copying stealing everything.
When we can believe china stole data from the f22 and f35 program what stops you from thinking that they can use the data to produce something.
Think about it if we can produce something they can do and they are also putting huge chunk of money in it and for far more longer time than us.
We should accept we woke up late.
We didn't woke up late brother
We haven't waken yet

Gyyan

You can see the Chinese progressing faster and faster in radar field the mofos got a freaking uni just for this.

Tata will be developing fighter jets for the Indian Air Force
India has two nuclear-capable hostile neighbours waiting to escalate military confrontation with it. No one knows when a small skirmish will turn into a full-scale war. Further, in the uncertain world order, where allies betray at a whip, Atmanirbharta (self-reliant) for its own defence is the best option for a country like India. Heading in this direction, India is aggressively pushing its Indigenous defence industries to collaborate with the world leaders & establish production, manufacturing, research & development of equipment here in the country itself.

F-21 Fighter Aircraft – Made in India
Tata-Lockheed Martin Aerostructures Limited (TLMAL), a joint venture between Tata Advanced System (TASL) & Lockheed Martin is the top contender in a race to win the $20 billion contract to manufacture about 114 multi-role fighter aircraft (MRFA). Remarkably, these aircrafts will be developed from indigenous manufacturing lines.

Since 2010, Tata Sikorsky Aerospace Ltd (TSAL) – a joint venture between Tata & Lockheed Martin has collaborated to make India, the manufacturing base for cabin aerostructures for the S-92 helicopter. Further, TLMAL is also aggressively pushing for C-130, the advanced tactical airlifter manufacturing & production completely in India.

The constant collaboration with Tata by Lockheed Martin is an effort aligned with the Modi government’s policies of producing the aircraft inside Indian borders. The American defence company is pushing for its F-21 production in India which is an ode to the country’s ‘Make in India’ initiative.

Buy Global Make in India
Indian security experts have estimated that we require around 42-squadron strength of combat Aircraft to fight a two-front war. Currently struggling with 18-squadron is a great concern for the Indian Air Force. Moving in this direction, India on an urgent basis acquired 36 Rafale fighter aircraft from France in a ready-to-fly condition. Further, to maintain its squadron capacity, we are looking for indigenous options so that in future we do not depend on foreign countries either for spears or for aircraft.

To shape the policy of Atmanirbharta in defence manufacturing & production. India is looking for foreign suppliers for the required 114 MRFA. These suppliers will be partnering with Indian defence companies to make the aircraft in the country itself so that the dual purpose of self-reliance & industries growth can be achieved.

According to a defence think-tank Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI), with a $76.6 billion military budget (2021), India is the third-largest military spender in the world. The 2021 spending is a remarkable increase of about 33% from the 2012 budget.

Furthermore, the estimated defence budget for 2022-23 is Rs 5,25,166 crore. Out of this huge sum, around 27%, around Rs 1,44,304 crore is capital outlay, meant for adding new capacities. The capital expenditure is spent on buying new weapons like aircraft, guns, warships & other military hardware for the military.

The fat capital expenditure in defence has attracted many companies in India. Moreover, foreign countries are lining up to collaborate with budding domestic companies to get a share in India’s defence productions. The partnership between Lockheed Martin & Tata’s defence is also the result of India’s defence offset policy. This requires foreign companies to collaborate with local vendors for their defence manufacturing, research, design & production. Further, early partnerships help companies in getting contracts as their operational efficiency is more in line with minute details of the process. TLMAL, a joint venture of Tata & Lockheed Martin is also expecting the same to get the contract of 114 MRFA.

Lockheed Martin is actively lobbying for its F-21 fighter aircraft for the Indian Air Force (IAF). It claims to be configured specifically for IAF. Further, with the collaboration of Tata, they will set up the production unit in India. If they are able to bag the contract, it will be India’s first private company to manufacture fighter aircraft in India. The collaboration will give Tata an edge in independently producing fighter jets for India.

factfigures

Entire Porkiland has 405 Combat planes currently. Adding additional 58 J10C we will get a grand value of 463 combat planes.

Composition:
1. J10C - 72 (Currently 14 in service)
2. JF17 - 134
3. F16 - 75
4. Mirage III - 60 (Older Radar Grifo)
5. Mirage 5 - 69 (Older Radar Grifo)
6. Chengdu F7 - 53 (Dog shit)

Current IAF Composition consist of 636 Combat planes. We can take on PAF easily but against PLAAF it is a proper shit show.

Composition:
1. Rafale - 36
2. SU -30 MKI - 262
3. Tejas - MK1 - 32
4. MIG 29UPG - 65
5. Mirage 2000 - 51
6. Jaguar - 130 (My guess may be 60 airframes will go for Darin 3 upgrades, read in some article)
7. MIG 21 bison - 54 (Going to be replaced, shorthanded for now)

We can take on PAF in aerial combat. Also, Porkiland issue is all their critical area under our Rocket artillery range. So, Army can assist in fighting the Porks Air force.

On the other hand, PLAAF 1729 combat planes. Now the problem arises here. We are outmatched 3:1 ratio on combat planes.

Composition

1. JH - 7 - 216
2. J 7 - 388 (Garbage may be moved to do some basic task)
3. SU-27 - 50
4. SU - 76
5. SU 35 - 24
(Combine SU family here is 150 lesser than SU 30 MKI count)
Fun ends here:
6. J8 - 96 (Garbage)
7.J10 - 235 (Headache)
8. J11 - 346 (Massive Headache)
9. J16 - 128 (Massive headache)
10. J20 - 50 (Absolute Headache with Proper SEAD capable plane)

Lol. We don't have proper response here. For J10 we need a Tejas MK2. Against the SU series and J11, J16 we need Dassault Rafale and SU 30 MKI, for single engine fighters like J7, J8 JH7 we need a Tejas MK1A.

Still MK2 is on preproduction phase.
Rafale squadron level is low.
SU 30 MKI needs upgradation.
Tejas MK1A order size is insufficient.

Looks in this decade if we don't put our shit together then we are royally fucked out. Since J31 is under testing.
We must look at how PLAAF, PLA & PLAN are disposed on ground. 90% of their forces are located/focussed towards East. This ratio is only true with the assumption that entire PLAAF will be operating against us and that all of them HAA capabilities! China won't be a fool to do that.
Yes, we do also have a strong possibility of a two-front war.

Gyyan

Entire Porkiland has 405 Combat planes currently. Adding additional 58 J10C we will get a grand value of 463 combat planes.

Composition:
1. J10C - 72 (Currently 14 in service)
2. JF17 - 134
3. F16 - 75
4. Mirage III - 60 (Older Radar Grifo)
5. Mirage 5 - 69 (Older Radar Grifo)
6. Chengdu F7 - 53 (Dog shit)

Current IAF Composition consist of 636 Combat planes. We can take on PAF easily but against PLAAF it is a proper shit show.

Composition:
1. Rafale - 36
2. SU -30 MKI - 262
3. Tejas - MK1 - 32
4. MIG 29UPG - 65
5. Mirage 2000 - 51
6. Jaguar - 130 (My guess may be 60 airframes will go for Darin 3 upgrades, read in some article)
7. MIG 21 bison - 54 (Going to be replaced, shorthanded for now)

We can take on PAF in aerial combat. Also, Porkiland issue is all their critical area under our Rocket artillery range. So, Army can assist in fighting the Porks Air force.

On the other hand, PLAAF 1729 combat planes. Now the problem arises here. We are outmatched 3:1 ratio on combat planes.

Composition

1. JH - 7 - 216
2. J 7 - 388 (Garbage may be moved to do some basic task)
3. SU-27 - 50
4. SU - 76
5. SU 35 - 24
(Combine SU family here is 150 lesser than SU 30 MKI count)
Fun ends here:
6. J8 - 96 (Garbage)
7.J10 - 235 (Headache)
8. J11 - 346 (Massive Headache)
9. J16 - 128 (Massive headache)
10. J20 - 50 (Absolute Headache with Proper SEAD capable plane)

Lol. We don't have proper response here. For J10 we need a Tejas MK2. Against the SU series and J11, J16 we need Dassault Rafale and SU 30 MKI, for single engine fighters like J7, J8 JH7 we need a Tejas MK1A.

Still MK2 is on preproduction phase.
Rafale squadron level is low.
SU 30 MKI needs upgradation.
Tejas MK1A order size is insufficient.

Looks in this decade if we don't put our shit together then we are royally fucked out. Since J31 is under testing.
There are about 140+ of j20 and are being procured in 40+ according to some analysts.
The numbers ramped up after their new engine came to be.

Arjun Mk1A

We must look at how PLAAF, PLA & PLAN are disposed on ground. 90% of their forces are located/focussed towards East. This ratio is only true with the assumption that entire PLAAF will be operating against us and that all of them HAA capabilities! China won't be a fool to do that.
Yes, we do also have a strong possibility of a two-front war.

Combat Ratio is skewed towards them. They can have 2 planes for an aircraft lost compared to that we would run out of planes if we started to lose it.

As two front is base. We need a strong air force since Pakis are also getting J10. So, we need to manage the JF17, F16, J10 from Pakistan.

Gyyan

Again the porkies would be first to buy the FC-31 once ready for export if they can get the money.
And we can say for sure it would be before AMCA is in service.
Again they have the option to TF-X while we have no options for gen 5 except the felon(if offered and the IAF wants another Russian get😓😓😓)

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
Bro pls don't think they will stop their j-10ce nos here
They will procure in 100s literally a huge nos
Their strength is gonna increase with time
Their awacs easily outnumber us
It's fact they will be matching our nis by 2027-28
Porkies don't need to procure like us, in war times chinka will loan them a 100 J10 from their own inventory. IAF will be caught with their knickers in a twist

Gyyan

I don't know why we don't harass the Porkies every now and then at the border using fighter jets like the Chinese do to taiwan and other countries.
Their country is in shambles already let's add fuel to the fire.

I don't know why we don't harass the Porkies every now and then at the border using fighter jets like the Chinese do to taiwan and other countries.
Their country is in shambles already let's add fuel to the fire.
if they are not able to manage things internally with in the next few months, they themselves will do something stupid and provoke our response to distract their awam.

No hurry, we can wait.