India Pakistan conflict along IB and LoC (July 2021 onwards)

Smoothbore125mm

That's nonsense, in all probability. I'd say, among the 3 services, they'll have maybe a couple of thousand (and even that might be too optimistic a figure).
they have 4 billion order book right now so that equates to 1000-1300 missile (taking 3-4 million per missile)

mokoman

Indian Army Gernail during Service: Avoid war at any cost, because everyone knows IA equipment shortfalls..

Indian Army Gernail after Retirement: Thrash Pakistan Army on Indian TV channels for breakfast and then again for lunch..

Thank God we have 1.8 lakh manpower shortfall, with Modi planning to reduce another 100k of these clowns.

View attachment 258057
everything is done by design and on purpose .

A Lieutenant General who dealt with manpower — he has superannuated but still can’t be named — went to meet the Joint Secretary concerned in the PMO to inform him about the alarming deficiency. When he spelt out the estimated shortfall, he was informed: “Sahib ko sab malum hai” (Sahib knows it all).

I raised the matter at a veterans’ seminar last year, which was presided over by Gen Pande. Stunned silence prevailed.

In 2023-24, the capital outlay pertaining to defence modernisation and infrastructure development was Rs 1.63 lakh crore, while Rs 1.38 lakh crore were allocated for pensions.

By April last year, after the Integrated Defence Staff ordered a 10 per cent reduction in combat units, manpower deficiency had risen to alarming levels.

does army really need 14 lakh personnal ? , even chinese PLA army is only 9 lakh . better to invest in new tech and better gear than setting up large cannon fodder army , only real issue here is shortage of officers .

Azaad

A Lieutenant General who dealt with manpower — he has superannuated but still can’t be named — went to meet the Joint Secretary concerned in the PMO to inform him about the alarming deficiency. When he spelt out the estimated shortfall, he was informed: “Sahib ko sab malum hai” (Sahib knows it all).

I raised the matter at a veterans’ seminar last year, which was presided over by Gen Pande. Stunned silence prevailed.

In 2023-24, the capital outlay pertaining to defence modernisation and infrastructure development was Rs 1.63 lakh crore, while Rs 1.38 lakh crore were allocated for pensions.

By April last year, after the Integrated Defence Staff ordered a 10 per cent reduction in combat units, manpower deficiency had risen to alarming levels.

does army really need 14 lakh personnal ? , even chinese PLA army is only 9 lakh . better to invest in new tech and better gear than setting up large cannon fodder army , only real issue here is shortage of officers .
Where's the modernisation & so called new tech ? RN the IA is enjoying the worst of both worlds. It's political masters want them to downsize which they're obliging with , no questions asked or protests offered & at the same time they aren't modernising or at the very least going in for massive induction of artillery , armour & infantry arms on yesterday's basis , for reasons they know best .

Blood+

Given we are so blessed by having such great and peaceful neighbors on all sides, I'd say we need both.

Azaad

they have 4 billion order book right now so that equates to 1000-1300 missile (taking 3-4 million per missile)
Average cost of a Brahmos varies between 6-8 million USD. Check out the various contracts signed for it in the recent past & do the calculations.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
China doesn't face any "land invasion" threat where they will need a large manpower to defend. The only frontier where that might be required is LAC, but they know we aren't gonna steamroll into Tibet at least in the next 50 years.

We, on the other hand, have 2 active fronts. At western front we have desert-dwelling savages with infinite supply of Jihadis, and on the northern front technologically superior enemy with good manpower as well.

Blood+

Average cost of a Brahmos varies between 6-8 million USD. Check out the various contracts signed for it in the recent past & do the calculations.
Nah, it's currently going for something like 5-5.5 mil a piece, which is still hella expensive.

daya

वैसे अग्निवीर के पीछे कोई मंत्री शामिल नहीं था बड़े अफसरों की मर्जी से बनी है , ये बात भी किसी फौजी ने मुझे बताई है.

Azaad

Nah, it's currently going for something like 5-5.5 mil a piece, which is still hella expensive.
Nope. This exercise was prompted by a similar argument on another forum & at an exchange rate of INR 80 to 1 USD , the bandwidth I've provided earlier was arrived at. You can do the exercise if you want to verify it at your end.

mokoman

Where's the modernisation & so called new tech ? RN the IA is enjoying the worst of both worlds. It's political masters want them to downsize which they're obliging with , no questions asked or protests offered & at the same time they aren't modernising or at the very least going in for massive induction of artillery , armour & infantry arms on yesterday's basis , for reasons they know best .
China doesn't face any "land invasion" threat where they will need a large manpower to defend. The only frontier where that might be required is LAC, but they know we aren't gonna steamroll into Tibet at least in the next 50 years.

We, on the other hand, have 2 active fronts. At western front we have desert-dwelling savages with infinite supply of Jihadis, and on the northern front technologically superior enemy with good manpower as well.
Given we are so blessed by having such great and peaceful neighbors on all sides, I'd say we need both.
where is the money for this ?

Azaad

I WILL go by what the Chinese says and you should too. As my instructor says, it's a lot better to overestimate your opponent and over train than underestimating him and then getting your shit kicked in.
Are you in the Army or any of the CAPFs ?

Azaad

Make more provisions. Your budget ought to be a reflection of both - your economic strengths & the threat perception. Ask yourself if we're complying with any , leave aside either or both stipulations?
where is the money for this ?