India-China Border conflict

A regular Indian infantry platoon looks like this in actual combat.

Pardon the music.
Not much has changed since Kargil.

Same INSAS and INSAS LMG at 0:15 seconds. The quality of uniform may have improved by a notch or two.

1653065693018.png

Angel of War

It was a Chinese mine. Read this "COPYPASTE"

"He died in the line of duty on 29th August night during an operation near the Blacktop peak around the South Bank of Pangong when he stepped on an old anti-personnel mine which was put by Chinese PLA around 1962’, revealed a source"

He here refers to Nyima Tenzin. The SFF trooper who died.
I believe it can't be a chinese mine , mines are laid when you want to defend your position against the enemy not when you are attacking your enemy

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Another good example of what a regular Indian army infantry company consists of -

What you see -
  • Old helmets with snow goggles
  • INSAS as the primary rifle, few got Ak-47, and very few have Sig 716
  • INSAS LMG
  • Carl-Gustav
  • Standard vest (can't tell if BPJ present or not)
  • Standard cold weather padded jacket
  • Pickaxe and other climbing equipments

So at the moment we have 340 regular infantry , 50 mechanised infantry , 65 RR and 46 AR battalions for a total of 501 battalions. Multiple media houses have reported that two rifle companies in each battalion will get Sig716 regardless of their location . So , since each company has 120-124 men we will consider that there will be 100 sig rifles for each of the two companies for a total of 200 in the battalion. So 200*501 = 100,200 rifles. In the previous order army had got 66,400 sig 716 rifles. But I don't have any idea about where the other 39,000 rifles will go.
How do we have 340 infantry battalions? I have roughly totalled battalions number in every regiment (acc to Wikipedia), it is near 400. And why would RR & AR need 200+ men with a battle rifle when their main role is urban combat?

I think I can answer that . We don't actively mine the LAC at any location in peacetime. But post 2020 We have started laying anti tank minefields in depth areas which can used as ingress routes for PLA armour , bur we aren't planting them right at the forward areas . The first time we started mining the LAC was somewhere in 2001 .
I'm an armchair general so take everything I say with an assload of salt.
We shouldn't even think of an offensive war against China just yet. Keep a tonne of mines in depots, mine the shit out of rear areas if war breaks out and leave narrow routes of ingress for logistics, reinforcements etc and egress (in case shit goes south, troops can retreat while mining their path).

Our goal mustn't be terrain but making it as fatal as we can for the Chinese.
Their young men are now a rare commodity and every loss is a loss too many. Fight a defensive war with a heavy focus on inducing casualties (chinis can't match our demographic edge 1:1) make sure the terrain becomes uninhabitable in your wake in case you do lose and wait till 2030 when they suffer the inevitable demographic collapse.

That's how I'd approach this. I'm retarded though.

Angel of War

How do we have 340 infantry battalions? I have roughly totalled battalions number in every regiment (acc to Wikipedia), it is near 400. And why would RR & AR need 200+ men with a battle rifle when their main role is urban combat?
340 regular infantry , 50 mechanised infantry, 5 airborne and 10 special forces

No buddy , mines are an integral part of our engineer regiments. We use them heavily
Yes we use them heavily, but also need to ensure that our Troops don't Walk into these mines, last month itself (news of it had come on 29/30th April) we had lost 2 jawans with 1 jawan injured in a mine Explosion near LOC.

How much did the CWG games cost the taxpayer?

How much did the first batch of SiGs cost?

I know blackpilling is contagious but kabhi toh banta hai yaar.

26/11/2008 - Indian Army soldiers outside Taj hotel

1653065899096.png

Angel of War

Yes we use them heavily, but also need to ensure that our Troops don't Walk into these mines, last month itself (news of it had come on 29/30th April) we had lost 2 jawans with 1 jawan injured in a mine Explosion near LOC.
Our own Mine fields are carefully fenced off . These BAT troops place mines along regular patrol routes tho which result in casualties

I believe it can't be a chinese mine , mines are laid when you want to defend your position against the enemy not when you are attacking your enemy
This Incident of an SSF Getting killed in a mine Explosion had happened before the events of Galwan Valley clash. Whatever it is, all media reports indicate that it was Chinese Mine.

Our own Mine fields are carefully fenced off . These BAT troops place mines along regular patrol routes tho which result in casualties
Than that is something I am relieved to hear. We might not be able to 100% prevent Casualties from Mine explosions but we might be able to Definitely avoid as many as we can.

Angel of War

I'm an armchair general so take everything I say with an assload of salt.
We shouldn't even think of an offensive war against China just yet. Keep a tonne of mines in depots, mine the shit out of rear areas if war breaks out and leave narrow routes of ingress for logistics, reinforcements etc and egress (in case shit goes south, troops can retreat while mining their path).

Our goal mustn't be terrain but making it as fatal as we can for the Chinese.
Their young men are now a rare commodity and every loss is a loss too many. Fight a defensive war with a heavy focus on inducing casualties (chinis can't match our demographic edge 1:1) make sure the terrain becomes uninhabitable in your wake in case you do lose and wait till 2030 when they suffer the inevitable demographic collapse.

That's how I'd approach this. I'm retarded though.
we must have offensive capability . Being on the defensive leaves you at the mercy of your enemy and you essentially hand over war control to him. It is foremost to ensure that we get our hands on the escalation ladder whenever we can . War can only end once you take the fight to the enemy's land

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
26/11/2008

How much did the CWG games cost the taxpayer?

How much did the first batch of SiGs cost?

I know blackpilling is contagious but kabhi toh banta hai yaar.

View attachment 156827
Problem is not money, but priority of the army. If you give them money, they will buy more tanks or missiles. Tiny amount of money is a alloted for personal gear of the troops.

I don’t understand this logic frankly. Army generals think soldiers can win war by making weird faces and battle cries.

Maybe it was some kind of face saving from the media , never believe one side of the story
According to those Media outlets, Indian government had not made much comment on this Incident of that SFF trooper getting killed in a supposed mine Explosion.

we must have offensive capability . Being on the defensive leaves you at the mercy of your enemy and you essentially hand over war control to him. It is foremost to ensure that we get our hands on the escalation ladder whenever we can . War can only end once you take the fight to the enemy's land
Our posture should be defensive. By that, I don't mean no offensive maneuvers.
I merely mean to say that any large concentration of troops should be in defensive roles.
Sneaky small teams can harass and hit any chink in the armor (see what I did :wink: ) but any large force attacking China (in it's current state) will get annihilated without air superiority.

Angel of War

Our posture should be defensive. By that, I don't mean no offensive maneuvers.
I merely mean to say that any large concentration of troops should be in defensive roles.
Sneaky small teams can harass any chink in the armor (see what I did :wink: ) but any large force attacking China (in it's current state) will get annihilated without air superiority.
defensive posture = giving the enemy an incentive to attack .