India-China Border conflict

Joe Shearer

Indians have been asking for that from years now. So you are clearly barking up the wrong tree.
I don't think you realise China is a bully, and bullies don't give up until they are given a nice bloody nose.
I would like a new thread, honestly, on a simulated war-game with China. Until I know how to open one, I will reserve comment.

mokoman

I think the most pragmatic way would be for both sides to recognize the area of actual control and draw the border.

Will indians accept this plan?
from what i read , Chinese are even refusing to exchange their version of control line in certain areas in eastern ladakh.

"both sides" dont even agree to where the line is , never mind recognizing it or actually drawing a border based on it.

my question to u is will China forget about Tawang ? , Tawang has always been the key issue . there is no indication Chinese will ever drop their claim over it .

Joe Shearer

from what i read , Chinese are even refusing to exchange their version of control line in certain areas in eastern ladakh.

"both sides" dont even agree to where the line is , never mind recognizing it or actually drawing a border based on it.

my question to u is will China forget about Tawang ? , Tawang has always been the key issue . there is no indication Chinese will ever drop their claim over it .
That is why I have said all along that taking a defensive posture, playing college student level one-upmanship like doing yoga in front of them, and all the rest won't work. We have to fight a short, sharp war, AND win it, to restore equilibrium.

karn

That is why I have said all along that taking a defensive posture, playing college student level one-upmanship like doing yoga in front of them, and all the rest won't work. We have to fight a short, sharp war, AND win it, to restore equilibrium.
We are not the types to fire the 1st shot .. it will never happen...this generation does not have that mentality .. maybe that is why we play 69 D chess hoping we come out on top after being the ones who are taken off guard.

Joe Shearer

We are not the types to fire the 1st shot .. it will never happen...this generation does not have that mentality .. maybe that is why we play 69 D chess hoping we come out on top after being the ones who are taken off guard.
:rofl:

Joe Shearer

No harm gaming it, right?

Joe Shearer

Sir question should be can we protect tawang in case of all blown out war
I don't think so if we see connectivity in that region and especially border areas is literally nil as far as I have read and listened
So incase of war we should assume it be gone and rather think of compensation by capturing other parts comparable to is but again is this possible 🤔
That's why I'm suggesting a simulated war-game, to see the pros and cons.

Joe Shearer

I don't think so if we see connectivity in that region and especially border areas is literally nil as far as I have read and listened
So incase of war we should assume it be gone and rather think of compensation by capturing other parts comparable to is but again is this possible 🤔
To be honest, it is an idee fixe with Indians to think about capturing territory. I believe it should be done differently.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Tawang is among a few sectors which can be termed a "fortress" for the Indian army. Pretty-well protected, and now with Sela-tunnel, it can be considered well connected as well.

Infact taking Tawang will be extremely difficult for China.

karn

No harm gaming it, right?
Sigh .. if we want to game it .. we have to look at our assumptions..
1. What will be the troop build up on either side before hostilities actually start.
2. What are the goals of either side.
3. Let us work with the assumption that India will not attack 1st since past actions suggest so ..
4. If the above assumption is correct how will India withstand the initial barrage of missile that the Chinese will unleash.

I'm not able to say much here cause I'm just wondering aakhir mein karna kya hai.

I always worked with the worst case scenario of holding off China even as we are invading POK.
A defense posture does not mean there won't be counter attacks by us

Joe Shearer

My whole point has been that we are mesmerised by our defeat in 62, and until that mental domination is removed, we will never be able to develop our own identity and economic space in Asia.

karn

My whole point has been that we are mesmerised by our defeat in 62, and until that mental domination is removed, we will never be able to develop our own identity and economic space in Asia.
Being defeatist and non aggressive are not the same thing.

Joe Shearer

Sigh .. if we want to game it .. we have to look at our assumptions..
1. What will be the troop build up on either side before hostilities actually start.
2. What are the goals of either side.
3. Let us work with the assumption that India will not attack 1st since past actions suggest so ..
4. If the above assumption is correct how will India withstand the initial barrage of missile that the Chinese will unleash.

I'm not able to say much here cause I'm just wondering aakhir mein karna kya hai.

I always worked with the worst case scenario of holding off China even as we are invading POK.
A defense posture does not mean there won't be counter attacks by us
Boss, systematically sochein to sahi. Agar pahle se haath uthake baith gayen, to abhi unko Dilli tak bula lete, kharcha karke kya phayda hai?

Sir
You said about a short sharp war , don't you think chinese will escalate further?
It can spiral out of control and we must factor in the Pakistanis they will attack as chiense dictate them to , Infact they still sulk that they didn't attack us in 62 along with chinese