India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

Gandaberunda

That was a rhetorical answer!! My point is that if the IAF has gone in for C-17s, C-130s, P-8s, M-777s, Apaches and Chinooks, your ba**s are already in US hands. To now say that you are afraid of US sanctions for US fighters is nuts!!.
All those US weapons in IAF inventory ain't frontline weapons to be afraid of sanctions

omaebakabaka

I've also forgotten the exact number but as far as I can remember that's not a small number.

Fort Worth, Texas plant was producing F16 for a long time and more than 4.5 k F16s were built. they offered to shift that plant to India with > 400 pending orders.

please note, HAL will upgrade plant to 18/20 capacity with 83 Tejas orders (though there will be follow on orders). we can get an idea about capacity of F16 line there from this.

nobody has the capacity is nothing but an excuse and a blatant lie sorry.
This is true when USAF was procuring in large numbers for a certain amount of time and F-16 is in production for a long time, so those numbers are not surprizing considering its success and NATO adaption. You are ignoring too many variables in how production is optimized and plant and product lifecycle. F-18 plant was going to be closed if there were no export orders, that was the situation. Supply chain is lot more complex and just having years old machinary moved to India will not churn out things in numbers suddenly. Anyway, this is the end of my input on this topic.

But aug 29/30/31 ke raath boht kuch hua still nothing going to happen Kuch nai hua GN
What rubbish. Both armies got together and sang bhajans in praise of God and their respective Govt's.
Aur kuch nahi hua tha...pissed with their border postings, both sides agreed to swap flags and planted them in their territory resulting in 100's of pages of futile discussions in defence forums and causing massive headaches for the respective webmasters.

Synergy

The pain actually starts after writing the cheque.
That makes me balk at the idea of QUAD on the same lines as NATO.
Those high tech weapons will mean nothing as the leash will be in American hands.
We can only gnash teeth like bad puppy of USA.
that's a different dimension. I'm not talking about that. my point is do they have production capacity or not?

and I will only vote for used F16 from US (if we get any). no point in buying brand new F16 at this point in time when we'll have mwf and tedbf/orca in the very near future.

I will be very happy if we buy 66 Mirages from Taiwan and upgrade that plus integrate meteor. and ditch this mmrca/mrfa drama.

omaebakabaka

Raw numbers do matter. If China realizes that the LAC has become like the LOC and with the rate that they are manufacturing, they will be able to deploy 20-25 squadrons against the IAF, a combination of J-10Cs, J-11Ds, J-20s and H-6s. Couple that with the PAF. Every single IAF commander has been crying out for increasing IAF squadron numbers to at least the sanctioned 42.
You are not getting it....there will not be 100's of airbases to host those squadrons in Tibet. No one does that, what you are saying operationally does not make any sense. IAF calculates surprise offensive capacity of the enemy at a give time and they plan to react to it. What you are suggesting is war games played on video game...Two front is real and threat will be addressed by taking into account more than just IAF numbers. no one will let them gain those numbers as you suggest like Russia or USA or Japan without balancing it on their east coast....it simply wont happen the way you are thinking.

Shashank Nayak

At that point, operationally it becomes more complex when you think about it. Range is one factor.....when runways are destroyed.....didn't Pakis almost threaten even Ambala in one of their offensive initiation (I think its 71 but don't remember).....there will be enough with 32 to 42 squads to fill in losses. I think IAF plans that way....we are nuclear for a reason.....any overwhelming force from multiple fronts that puts our existence at stake will lead to nuclear retaliation....otherwise why do we have it?
In case there is mass movement of chiness Precision strike weapons near the Tibet border.. IAF will redeploy accordingly.. Any surprise cruise missile attack might come via chinese bombers.. these launches will be detected before the missiles cross the border.. and considering that IAF readiness during such a contingency will be very high.. wherein pilots take off within 2 minutes to 5 minutes of an alarm.. a good number of fighters can be saved even in forward bases.. ( discounting hardened and underground shelters)
Also, with materials available today runways can be repaired within hours.. the 60 sophisticated american cruise missiles that hit syria were a waste of money and did not even cripple the third rate syrian airforce.. Assad planes were back to flying within 24 hours of the attack..

AmoghaVarsha

Pilots can't be trained on a new jet in weeks.
It takes on an average 200 hrs of flight time to learn Basic fighting manuevers and then more to learn BVR, Ew etc. The fighters may get to IAF within weeks, but I'm not sure there are squadrons of IAF pilots combat trained for F16 just sitting around.
If there is an aircraft outside our inventory that we have trained in is the F16.

LDev

You are not getting it....there will not be 100's of airbases to host those squadrons in Tibet. No one does that, what you are saying operationally does not make any sense. IAF calculates surprise offensive capacity of the enemy at a give time and they plan to react to it. What you are suggesting is war games played on video game...Two front is real and threat will be addressed by taking into account more than just IAF numbers. no one will let them gain those numbers as you suggest like Russia or USA or Japan without balancing it on their east coast....it simply wont happen the way you are thinking.
See bolded above. Because the historical mindset of MOD in India has been to plan for today, that is why the current situation exists. Always plan for where the enemy is going to be 5-10 years from today. That is how to you plan your fleet and procurement. Otherwise why the adhoc purchase of 36 Rafale. The fact is that the LCA was first proposed in 1985 and 35 years later there are 1-2 squadrons which are not exactly what the IAF wants. Only the Mk1A which will take another 3-4 years will achieve that minimum requirement. The MMRCA was first proposed in 2001 for 126 aircraft. 19 years later the IAF has got 5 so far. In 1985 when the LCA was first mooted the Indian and Chinese defense budgets were on par. Now the Chinese defense budget is at $230 billion and India is at $ 70 billion. What do you think will be the Chinese defense budget 10 years from now? Yes, they have got many shortfalls, in technology, training etc. but the threat is very very real and growing for India. The assymetry in the force structure between the 2 countries is growing. India either needs totally superior technology or it needs a huge increase in numbers in ships, planes and battlefield systems.

Lancer

Bana
Theoretically guy has summarized the equation very well but he is forgetting that Chini Moldo garrison is virtually under siege by IA & that's a big victory coz it was their launch pad for a possible invasion into Chushul. They came from there in 1962 Rezang la battle as well I guess.
Moldo Garrison >> Finger 4 or 3 when it comes to strategic significance.

Regarding Hot spring Gogra & Depsang well that's indeed a concern. If Chinese initiate any action, these are the places & I guess we will be ready to push them back & regain lost ground.
But aren't the other two places tank-able areas? Why would India be remotely concerned there? Chinese would get gang banged in armored warfare against us.

Sanglamorre

kya chutiya kaat rahe hai ye BC
Sunday Guardian report said it took less than 120min to capture the heights and I guess they should have started from the nearest base ...???
You really believe they're relying on people to carry supplies at this juncture? It's just sending a signal.

And, in all honestly, they haven't said what part of journey is done by what and how.