India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

scatterStorm

Maj. Gen GD Bakshi is underrated by most who dismiss him as just a “Jingo”. He has an extraordinarily distinguished record, has a PhD in military history authored many books and has tasted personal loss with the death of his brother in 1965. Someone who put his money where his mouth was and showed immense courage.

A good read:
Don't get me wrong, I am aware of Mjr. Gen. GD Bakshi. He is a scholar, leader however I am talking about cool headedness. He can provide his hindsight, however provoking for a quick action by demanding the govt. Isn't something you can do on a whim.

India’s answer to China-backed Thai Canal plan is a huge military upgrade in islands
China will be one of the biggest beneficiaries of the Thai Canal project, aka Kra Canal, thalt will give Beijing an alternative route to the congested Malacca Strait

china fearing naval blocakde of malacca straits. This is propaganada canal will take long time
to build if ever?
If we can blockade the Chinese from using the Malacca Strait, we can do the same to the Chinese using the Kra Canal too as an alternative route. It is far closer to the Andamans and is thus well dominated by us.

1598326941607.png

since USA controls dollars so yeah it is nothing for them .
Well USA is printing a lot of money. Most of this money is electronic nowadays, it is like adding zeroes on a computer.

Though it seems you can add any number of zeroes and the world will continue to honour USD; such a theory is not supported either by economics or history. Eventually depreciation of USD will take over as the main theme.

If we can blockade the Chinese from using the Malacca Strait, we can do the same to the Chinese using the Kra Canal too as an alternative route. It is far closer to the Andamans and is thus well dominated by us.

View attachment 57137
This canal is not yet built. Will take a min of a decade to build after it is started.
Not an immediate issue.

However an upgrade of A&N islands is needed - not only militarily but economically. A&N islands is where India should lease land to American companies for offshore factories.

Bhurki

since USA controls dollars so yeah it is nothing for them .
No. Its not about controlling thr dollar, its about servicing the debt. Japan has 200% debt to gdp ratio, but it isnt exactly sunk.
Debt doesn't matter at all as long as you put it to good use.

Bhurki

Well USA is printing a lot of money. Most of this money is electronic nowadays, it is like adding zeroes on a computer.

Though it seems you can add any number of zeroes and the world will continue to honour USD; such a theory is not supported either by economics or history. Eventually depreciation of USD will take over as the main theme.
Depriciation of one's currency is always good if you want to boost your exports.
This is actually what the trade war is for. China undervalues its currency making US products uncompetitive. US will be quite happy to see the dollar depreciate, but so many people buy USD bonds and give free money to US, that it just cant dip..

View attachment 57137
Yes, but you're missing the Myanmar-controlled Coco islands that are just 40 km northeast of A&N. Myanmar allowed PLAN to build a listening post now, it's only a matter of time before there's a PLAN base.

Point being that chicoms will keep pushing until we push back in a big way. And we cannot procrastinate until "we're better equipped." They'll keep scaling up their equipment levels to maintain an edge over ours. This is not a money/equipment problem as the babus would have the PM believe.

johnq

I don't know man...

I mean, if the local goonda is ragging the wife,
would you give the wife to the local strongman to "occupy" her.
That is why I said lease, as in for a monthly fee, and not sell. Besides, your analogy doesn't work because China has been "occupying Aksai Chin" from even before 1962. By leasing it to the US on paper, it would make the game more interesting, especially if they insist on using their military to occupy it.

Bhurki

That is why I said lease, as in for a monthly fee, and not sell. Besides, your analogy doesn't work because China has been "occupying Aksai Chin" from even before 1962. By leasing it to the US on paper, it would make the game more interesting, especially if they insist on using their military to occupy it.
US already deploys from Diego garcia in the Indian Ocean and from the Singapore naval base which is at the mouth of malacca strait.

Why would it spend money on a comparitively desolate place that offers no extra operational benefits?

US already deploys from Diego garcia in the Indian Ocean and from the Singapore naval base which is at the mouth of malacca strait.

Why would it spend money on a comparitively desolate place that offers no extra operational benefits?
Also it will be political suicide by modi giving indian territory for foreign bases is not something you want to do.

Bhurki

Also ir will he political suicide by modi giving indian territory for foreign bases is not something you want to do.
International geopolitics doesn't give two hoots about India's internal politics.
If US wanted a base on Andaman islands, it would have had one, no matter what effect that has on internal politics.
(Eg. Ramstein in germany, Okinawa in Japan)

johnq

It gives the US an excuse to attack the Chinese in Aksai Chin. It gives it a strategic foothold to attack Xinjiang to "free the Uyghurs." Aksai Chin is also rich in rare earth elements which are used in electronics/electric batteries and which China currently has a monopoly on, which allows China to blackmail the world. But the main thing would be the US being able to sit in China's backyard, and would turn all of China's strategic calculations upside down, including much of China's nuclear missiles currently sitting in tunnels under Tibet.

Bhurki

It gives the US an excuse to attack the Chinese in Aksai Chin. It gives it a strategic foothold to attack Xinjiang to "free the Uyghurs." Aksai Chin is also rich in rare earth elements which are used in electronics/electric batteries and which China currently has a monopoly on, which allows China to blackmail the world. But the main thing would be the US being able to sit in China's backyard, and would turn all of China's strategic calculations upside down, including much of China's nuclear missiles currently sitting in tunnels under Tibet.
It just doesnt suit the cost benefit analysis.
Why would US want to hurt the buffer zones of xinjiang and tibet when it can much easily target the east part which will cause a lot more damage through the open seas.

cereal killer

Lol why would US want an in hospitable piece of land that has no significance to its interests. Aksai Chin is crucial for India but even more for China as it provides connectivity to Xinjiang via G219 highway. US kaha se aya idhar

UZI™️

Vstol from the other forum us claiming that this is the last meeting we are going to be having with china.

That Indian army's deployment is complete and GOI has been given the thumbs up.

One last meeting and then the fight begins.
And this is what the cheenese want,They want us to make the first move i.e by shooting first.But We have to play it smart,Before shooting we should do the same and occupy their land.Then Fortify that area.Then use these lands as bargaining chips.

johnq

It just doesnt suit the cost benefit analysis.
Why would US want to hurt the buffer zones of xinjiang and tibet when it can much easily target the east part which will cause a lot more damage through the open seas.
It would be a strategic gain, mainly because of the nuclear missiles in Aksai Chin and Tibet. The Xinjiang-Uyghur independence angle is more for the "moral" reason for war, and the rare earth elements that are mined in Aksai Chin are worth more than their weight in gold, so that fulfills the commercial reason. In any case, it's not likely that India will be "occupying" Aksai Chin anytime soon, so why not let the two bullies fight it out? It would be Kuwait getting Iraq out of its oil fields by using US all over again.