India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

Now that Independence day is over.. GOI should go ahead and ban Huawei / ZTE as quickly as possible. Lets make full use of the corona induced economic slump+chinese aggression, to castrate Indian pressure groups batting for chinese goods.. This period of reduced demand is the best period to de-addict the indian economy from Chinese goods, with minimal withdrawal symptoms.
I am sure Ravi Shankar prasad and co has been already provided big bucks from China . So there will be some eyewashes for the public and rest will go on.

Remember he is the biggest thug in the BJP.

DownWithCCP

I am sure Ravi Shankar prasad and co has been already provided big bucks from China . So there will be some eyewashes for the public and rest will go on.

even I get goonda vibes from him lol on a serious note apart from him looking like a big thug what makes you think he is a thug?

LDev

HAL had proposed a plan for 72 Su-30Mki last year for $5B on a line that was already operational..
Doesn't seem such a bad idea now, does it..
Getting another 72 SU-30s is digging your already deep hole in which you are even deeper. The IAF wanted to stop the SU-30 numbers at the original 140 contract. And to get 126 Mirage 2000 as a single vendor MMRCA buy. But because that original Mirage 2000 deal never went anywhere the SU-30 line kept on rolling to supplement numbers. And so today the IAF has got 272 SU-30s with 1998 vintage radars, RWRs and missiles, engines that require to be overhauled every 500-1000 hours and an airframe life of 5000-6000 hours. Also, clearly the Russian AAMs are not up to spec otherwise they would not be replaced by the Astra and now by the Mica according to reports in the last few days. Upgrading this huge fleet with modern equipment is a headache because no western OEM wants their PGMs on a Russian platform and Indian PGM development is slow. Consider that though Israeli supplies ELTA radars to India, they continue to use the original Raytheon/Northrop Grumman radars on their F-16s, F-15s and F-35s.

LDev

USAF B2 bombers deployed to Diego Garcia:

Since the bombers arrived at Diego Garcia after flying direct with numerous aerial refuelings, a trip that took over an entire day, they have flown a handful of sorties.

On August 18, 2020, two of the three B-2s at Diego Garcia flew out into the Indian Ocean and “conducted joint interoperability tactics training,” according to Pacific Air Forces (PACAF). Typically, “joint” activities refer to those where other U.S. military services also take part, while training focused on “interoperability” often involves foreign allies and partners. The Air Force did not say whether any other forces, American or otherwise, joined the bombers for this flight.

Trio Of B-2 Stealth Bombers Deployed To The Island Of Diego Garcia As Seen From Space

Bhurki

Getting another 72 SU-30s is digging your already deep hole in which you are even deeper. The IAF wanted to stop the SU-30 numbers at the original 140 contract. And to get 126 Mirage 2000 as a single vendor MMRCA buy. But because that original Mirage 2000 deal never went anywhere the SU-30 line kept on rolling to supplement numbers. And so today the IAF has got 272 SU-30s with 1998 vintage radars, RWRs and missiles, engines that require to be overhauled every 500-1000 hours and an airframe life of 5000-6000 hours. Also, clearly the Russian AAMs are not up to spec otherwise they would not be replaced by the Astra and now by the Mica according to reports in the last few days. Upgrading this huge fleet with modern equipment is a headache because no western OEM wants their PGMs on a Russian platform and Indian PGM development is slow. Consider that though Israeli supplies ELTA radars to India, they continue to use the original Raytheon/Northrop Grumman radars on their F-16s, F-15s and F-35s.
Everything is evil, but sukhoi is the lesser evil since India can make most of it in its own territory.
No royalties need to be paid now to anyone, even russia.
Also, there's already existing infrastructure that allows to continue its build without any other overhead costs.
Atlast, because it is such a big brute, it has the capability of being highly upgradable and adaptable. Most of the indian weapon tests happen on this aircraft, be it brahmos, astra, guided bombs, other missiles etc.

Indrajit

This matter doesn’t get decided at his pay grade, it’s way above that.

Indrajit

Everything is evil, but sukhoi is the lesser evil since India can make most of it in its own territory.
No royalties need to be paid now to anyone, even russia.
Also, there's already existing infrastructure that allows to continue its build without any other overhead costs.
Atlast, because it is such a big brute, it has the capability of being highly upgradable and adaptable. Most of the indian weapon tests happen on this aircraft, be it brahmos, astra, guided bombs, other missiles etc.
Actually we still have to order some Russian parts which of course now cost a bomb, so much so that the made in India Su30 is much, much more expensive than when got directly from Russia.

The only chance of getting planes quickly would be with the Americans, that’s a give
Apply the breaks and read the whole MMRCA thing again if we are going to buy 120 aircrafts then those aircrafts will be build in india and then production speed will depend how quickly we can produce those aircrafts in india. One huge part of MMRCA is make in india and development of aerospace infrastructure and manufacturing capabilities.
And if we import less than 120 let's say importing 40 F-21 it will be illogical at best because currently we don't have any infrastructure to maintain and support American aircrafts.
And Dassault said that they cannot give guarantees if they work with HAL because of flaws of HAL. But that was not the case if we allow dassualt to work with their chosen indian partner.

And if we procure small number of more rafale it will also protect us from khichidi

daya

Su-30 MKI was roaring in North Uttar Pradesh in evening today. CAP due to Chinese re-enforcement along lipulekh or practice run???

Chandragupt Maurya

India should side with mongol nationalists they’re discriminated in Nepal but unlike madheshis they have small population they’re barely 3% of total population of Nepal my heart bleeds for Mongolians they’re so beautiful people they want an independent country like Bhutan

I love the way India is taking its time to respond to the PLA's brazen expansionist adventure in Ladakh, methodically equipping itself with some outstanding weapons, giving China enough rope. Dear @China_Amb_India for Your Excellency's kind introspection

rajkumar singh

This is a continuation of the thread "India China LAC & International Border Discussions" which ran into 1,338 pages and over 26,750 posts. That thread was like a bottle of Maaza (less than 4% of actual fruit).

Try to stick to the military, tactical, and strategic angles of the ongoing situation. As of 10/07/2020 news is rather slow, as there's a "de-escalation" of forward positions at certain points at the LAC (while the mechanized rear formations of both sides remains intact and vigilant).

Try to refrain from off-topic posts.

DownWithCCP

Can anyone with a sound knowledge on diplomacy and negotiations(military or otherwise) tell me what is it that goes on during these talks, according to my naive understanding negotiations can only be done when there is give and take(just like any transaction for that matter) we have not taken any chinese patrolled territory so aren't negotiations heavily skewed towards the chinese side since they currently are standing in territory that we claim, wouldn't this whole stand off been resolved had we done a swift quid pro quo against the chinese and then called them up for negotiations where we agree to restore status quo ante and slowly all the newly inducted troops also could be taken care of and the stand off could have been ended then and there, instead what we have done is the opposite, we have gone in for talks without having anything to offer and with the chinese claiming the whole process of having been completed are forcing down upon us a fait accompli and as time passes doesn't it become harder to initiate a quid pro quo?

maximus777

I have exactly the same questions in my mind. What in the world are we discussing during these marathon chai samosa baithak?!?