India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

Bhurki

This is written by:

So the rational behind them using there Drones, Arty with PGMs is a reality we must accept. They know that airforce isn't there suite so they will use other means to stop our ground forces to force push into there territory which is very harsh terrain.
Drones are really a no brainer for any military today, rich or poor. It provides you excellent ISR capabilities for few % cost compared to regular techniques like border patrol or using combat jets. China probably has the largest inventory of drones in the world, even larger than the US. They might not be state of the art like rq-170/180 or rq-4, but all of them have enough EO capability to guide a company worth of soldiers to cover an area that a conventional force would need a battalion to cover.
Add to that excellent infrastructure for mobility, and that company will be standing ready at the point you were expecting to surprise them.

jackhammer2

Overwhelming softpower....
What such power does India have that it can exercise over China? Other than the ones that have already been exercised.

The event of 2015 blockade severely woke up Nepal, and you see extended infrastructure projects with China starting up now. Nepal is actuely aware of its dependance on India, but it used to be a non issue before 2015. After 2015 however, the increasing tendency of China to give soft loans and Nepalese tendency to get out of chokehold of India got mutually satisfied.
A new railway project was just revived last week.
China isn't really doing anything new here, those infrastructure projects might lessen Nepal's dependence on India but they will take few years to operationalize .The current reality of Nepal is that even the move like demonetisation gave them a headache thats how much entangled they are with us. The only difference here would be that unlike India, China would exercise its power over Nepal with much more effectiveness.
The problem is internal, Nepal's behavior haven't changed overnight we were sleeping earlier and now we are over cautious.

Shashank Nayak

It seems china is also using the print another one of their new weapons.

I can never understand print some of their articles are actually good some are pro gov some are anti I have just come to the conclusion that they tend to push a certain narrative under the guise of being unbiased.
Panag is just trying to impress amateurs.. Indian doctrine assumes use of Chinese electronic warfare and non contact warfare. CDS Rawat himself said as much about any future war on China front.. and also said conflict with China on LAC will be long drawn.. A had read an article, where US fears losing much of its PGM inventory, in the process of only capturing a few artificial islands in SCS.. These PGMs are costly, and there are only so many.. If India manages to withstand and disrupt the kill Chain, a high concentration of indian forces would be able to defend territory..

Shashank Nayak

Overwhelming softpower....
What such power does India have that it can exercise over China? Other than the ones that have already been exercised.

The event of 2015 blockade severely woke up Nepal, and you see extended infrastructure projects with China starting up now. Nepal is actuely aware of its dependance on India, but it used to be a non issue before 2015. After 2015 however, the increasing tendency of China to give soft loans and Nepalese tendency to get out of chokehold of India got mutually satisfied.
A new railway project was just revived last week.
China will have a hard time manging the logistics to supply 50000 troops in Aksai Chin during winter, from thousands of kilometers away.. Tibet has a population of just 30 lakh for a reason.. Tibet is a bloody desert.Whatever some pundits might blabber, China will not be able to feed 2.5 crore nepalis all by itself during winter, if India starts a Madesi crisis.. Also most fertile land of Nepal is in Terai.. where India has a lot of influence.. We are being nice, to these little basta**ds, and they think they got us by the balls...

Shashank Nayak

China isn't really doing anything new here, those infrastructure projects might lessen Nepal's dependence on India but they will take few years to operationalize .The current reality of Nepal is that even the move like demonetisation gave them a headache thats how much entangled they are with us. The only difference here would be that unlike India, China would exercise its power over Nepal with much more effectiveness.
The problem is internal, Nepal's behavior haven't changed overnight we were sleeping earlier and now we are over cautious.
China will never be able to finish off Nepali dependence on India.. The operative word here is "NEVER".. The simple reason being that the vast lands of Tibet are a desert..
We can crush and starve all of Nepal if we wanted to..

Bhurki

If Nepal's dependance

In 2010, India -90% China -10%
In 2030, India - 60% China -40%

Wouldn't this be considered a loss for India?

Bhurki

China will have a hard time manging the logistics to supply 50000 troops in Aksai Chin during winter, from thousands of kilometers away.. Tibet has a population of just 30 lakh for a reason.. Tibet is a bloody desert.Whatever some pundits might blabber, China will not be able to feed 2.5 crore nepalis all by itself during winter, if India starts a Madesi crisis.. Also most fertile land of Nepal is in Terai.. where India has a lot of influence.. We are being nice, to these little basta**ds, and they think they got us by the balls...
You'll be surprised to see their infrastructure building capability.
They are quite used to absolute impossible civil engineering tasks. It wouldn't be much of a problem for them to construct stuff in Tibet if they really wanted to open a front towards India for decades.
Eg. Chengdu Lhasa railway.

jackhammer2

Arre forget about supply chains , 4 gurkhe comes to my and nearby villages in Himachal during farming seasons to work and go back to Nepal with a portion of the profits. They even say that reservation given to dalits is the best thing as it allows them to make some money and survive. And people here think that China will replace India for Nepal. Been hearing such stories from porkis about cpec too.

Shashank Nayak

You'll be surprised to see their infrastructure building capability.
They are quite used to absolute impossible civil engineering tasks. It wouldn't be much of a problem for them to construct stuff in Tibet if they really wanted to open a front towards India for decades.
Eg. Chengdu Lhasa railway.
I know the railway dude.. you tell me now.. why are your supermen chinese not been able to support 10 crore people in the vast lands of Tibet. Why is the population of tibet only 30 lakhs. There is only so much technology can do, because cost benefit analysis starts bearing down on you, beyond a certain point.. however big your economy is..

Although Nepal is ranting like mad.. its words are yet to translate into actions that cause real harm to India.. India believes in giving a long rope, i guess..
I would rather a tight slap and dump on road side to bring them back senses.

Let them embrace the bat munchers for couple of years, they will come running back unable to bear the chinkis stinking breath.

Bhurki

I know the railway dude.. you tell me now.. why are your supermen chinese not been able to support 10 crore people in the vast lands of Tibet. There is only so much technology can do, because cost benefit analysis starts bearing down on you, beyond a certain point.. however big your economy is..
Obvio its stupidity by economic sense. But so was urumqi high speed rail, that no one uses. And still made that $20B disaster.

Bhurki

Nepal is too small a market.. and India can live with slightly reduced trade.. Like i said, China cannot replace India completely.. w.r.t Nepal, not now .. not in 50 years
Trade is really not the issue here. The issue is something like hambantota happening, and nepal having to cede a certain useful piece of territory.

They have to expend more money.. to sustain 50000 troops thousands of kilometers away from the hinterland. Tibet is a desert with a population of 30 lakh.. It cant support these extra troops by itself.. Our supply lines are steeper.. but they are much shorter.. BUt, their economy is also bigger.. Permanent large scale deployment on the LAC creates complications during a two front scenario for the chinese, in case Taiwan declares independence. So, neither India nor China wants permanent large scale presence in ladakh.. But, if they dont vacate, we should permanently deploy 3 divisions in ladakh, so that they too suffer..
50000 troops are required to be maintained anywhere in India so that is a standing expenditure. The cost of Logistics, extra clothing. tentage, fuel for warming and drying, and some extra allowances are the only added expenditures out of the revenue head. ,

The cost is really on war material. You can keep troops at Ambala without some or most of the ammunitions but not in Ladakh.. The real beneficiaries will be OFB and DPSUs who will reek with orders and lots of commission..