India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

Sanglamorre

If the recent India Today polls are anything to go by, with the amount of public thinking the Modi govt has given a befitting reply to China already... I don't see GoI taking any military measures out of voter concerns.

Good thing though, same polls showed 90% support China stuff ban.

Bhurki

Price does not matter if products are made locally. Local value addition always increases GDP (buying power). So price alone should not be a yardstick.

Most pc components made in china fail within months. These are very low price but are highly unreliable. Do we need to import such things?
Most consumers have a defined budget.
Going out of that budget is impossible for many businesses and consumers. They can't spend 20% extra just on a whim.
Also Indian brands haven't exactly tried to make their mark on quality. The low quality Chinese components that you talk about come at high discounts as compared to rivals.
If you pay the same as rivals, then quality picks up considerably. Eg. Iphones from China.

Sehwag213

If the recent India Today polls are anything to go by, with the amount of public thinking the Modi govt has given a befitting reply to China already... I don't see GoI taking any military measures out of voter concerns.

Good thing though, same polls showed 90% support China stuff ban.
Majority also want to go to war with China

20200810_125227.jpg

20200810_125323.jpg

mokoman

https://www.thedrive.com/the-war-zo...ive-harpoon-anti-ship-missiles-to-deter-china

Two Taiwanese F-16A Vipers have flown air patrol missions armed with live AGM-84 Harpoon anti-ship missiles. Taiwan’s Liberty Times said the missions were launched amid fears of imminent Chinese military exercises that are expected to be designed to simulate capture of the Taiwan-administered Dongsha Islands, in the northern area of the South China Sea.

https://taiwanenglishnews.com/taiwa...inese-invasion-drills-in-the-south-china-sea/

The Chinese People’s Liberation Army (PLA) was preparing for landing drills near Hainan Island in August to simulate the capture of Pratas Island, which is located in the Dongsha Islands group. Primary concerns hinge upon China’s strategic ambitions to seize territory in this strategically important location as this archipelago is located close to routes from Chinese naval bases on Hainan Island to the open Pacific.

:hmm: Could be only posturing or they may try to capture the island under Taiwanese control. If they are successful it will be huge blow to US,Japan,South Korea alliance.

Sehwag213

Yeah, but will this "should" convert to any substantial pressure where a clear dissatisfaction on how it was handled would have done that much more?
Chinese will have to be evicted or India's relation will China will deteriorate very badly.
Because Modi will find it very difficult to suppress this issue during election rallies as opposition parties will constantly have a go at him over Ladakh issue and this will hurt his strongman image.

mokoman

So, Chinkis are saying "large impact on bilateral relations", if Japan follows footsteps of India & US.

@mokoman Hell yeah !! App ban was a retaliation. And making them loose money was only a part of the agenda.
Any economic retaliation from our side will mean nothing to Chinese. US and Japan banning tik tok wont matter to them either.The Chinese stock market hit 10 trillion last month , their economic output is also doing fine.

I frankly don't expect Modi to go to war with China over the LAC either .

:dude: Feed them biscoots and tea over long negotiations.i dun care.

Real action has to be in GB.

Kick the dog , master will cry.

Any economic retaliation from our side will mean nothing to Chinese. US and Japan banning tik tok wont matter to them either.The Chinese stock market hit 10 trillion last month , their economic output is also doing fine.

If we were to think in terms of pure gain n loss, it'd be more sensible to push for GB. Far lesser resources spent, far more area gained and would check Chinese economic growth considerably.

But this is, as my father would say, "मूछ की लड़ाई" (war of the moustaches) we have with China.

Hard to digest but the Chinese are squatting on lands that we claim as our own in certain areas in Ladakh - Pangong Tso and Depsang. Now, you can be the judge if Modi ji was lying or not.
Everyone has been lying since 1999.... above all MMS and all previous govts//

Modi simply said that since he took over no new areas have been taken by China except Galwan from where Chinese have been evicted...

In Depsand Chinese have been coming to those areas especially since 2013..

what if CCP is telegraphing their intentions very clearly with their massive rapid military buildup(launch of 2nd Type 75 LHD is the latest example), and it's the rest of the countries including India who are unwilling to recognise this fact.

will it be too late for us, by the time PLA thinks it is ready to implement their next phase of military plans?

cereal killer

Most consumers have a defined budget.
Going out of that budget is impossible for many businesses and consumers. They can't spend 20% extra just on a whim.
Also Indian brands haven't exactly tried to make their mark on quality. The low quality Chinese components that you talk about come at high discounts as compared to rivals.
If you pay the same as rivals, then quality picks up considerably. Eg. Iphones from China.
Yep I still see labour class buying Chinese phones coz they can only afford them. With Economy already in doldrums, I don't see govt. will give any chance to increase inflation.
There are only a few areas where we can actually decrease our dependence on them & that we have already done.
I was reading somewhere that Chinese Tencent has 50 million $ investment in Indian Byju.
In pharma sector we export them raw material & import APIs which we use in HCQ tablets.
We need to appreciate the steps that GOI is taking on economic front but there is a limit to it that they can go.
I always believe key to hurt China is always in geopolitics.

Sehwag213

Economic retaliation will definitely work if carried out in a coordinated manner.

Many Chinese companies are in huge debt and they have excess capacity. If their export revenue dries up , then their profit will vanish and they would find it very difficult to pay back their debt.
Chinese economy of scale won't work if their products start getting banned from major economies.

US is a "guarantor" to India that Pakistan will not interfere in China-India. Their ulterior motive is to keep India away from G-B at all costs.

So expect no action on the Pakistan front beyond some Pulwama-level event being responded to by a Balakot-level retaliation.

On the other hand, if India can prove to the US that Pakistan has grand 2-front plans, then the US has no option but to coerce Pakistan or let India take some parts of PoK.

So other than some intel coordination with China, pakis will largely sit this one out, because that's the smart thing to do.

Chinese say - Dekh lenge...

The problem with China is that they tried to project a Macho image. India did not give any damn to china. Now Chinese people are raising the question on ability of Chinese army and Chinese decorator Xi. Now the biggest question is to convince the brain washed Chinese who have been fed that they are superior race. 15th June was a big shock for Chinese public. Now if they withdraw without and gain, they question raised will be for what this misadventure was done and 100+ Chinese soldiers were lost? A very very propaganda budget will not be able to cover Chinese incompetence completely. This time world is seeing the incident with a great interest. It will not be easy to cover this under Propaganda.

cereal killer

US is a "guarantor" to India that Pakistan will not interfere in China-India. Their ulterior motive is to keep India away from G-B at all costs.

So expect no action on the Pakistan front beyond some Pulwama-level event being responded to by a Balakot-level retaliation.

On the other hand, if India can prove to the US that Pakistan has grand 2-front plans, then the US has no option but to coerce Pakistan or let India take some parts of PoK.
Pakistan will definately try something in Siachen with China's backing. That should be our window to convince US that some sort of action is needed over Pak too. That's when we have to make a move on GB. Not saying we can take it entirely but we gotta cut Khunjeryab pass at all costs & make a dash To wakhan Corridor & then try for unilateral Ceasefire. We have to use China dispute to our advantage otherwise we'll never be able to take GB as US will never support that.

cereal killer

The problem with China is that they tried to project a Macho image. India did not give any damn to china. Now Chinese people are raising the question on ability of Chinese army and Chinese decorator Xi. Now the biggest question is to convince the brain washed Chinese who have been fed that they are superior race. 15th June was a big shock for Chinese public. Now if they withdraw without and gain, they question raised will be for what this misadventure was done and 100+ Chinese soldiers were lost? A very very propaganda budget will not be able to cover Chinese incompetence completely. This time world is seeing the incident with a great interest. It will not be easy to cover this under Propaganda.
Chinese local media has barely covered the issue so there is no issue to CCP what Chinese people think. They showed Modi's speech on repeat & told their people China was right. Chinese people perspective hardly matters now.

Pakistan will definately try something in Siachen with China's backing. That should be our window to convince US that some sort of action is needed over Pak too. That's when we have to make a move on GB. Not saying we can take it entirely but we gotta cut Khunjeryab pass at all costs & make a dash To wakhan Corridor & then try for unilateral Ceasefire. We have to use China dispute to our advantage otherwise we'll never be able to take GB as US will never support that.
let them try it will become their grave yard siachen is well defended and we are in absolute advantage there.

Chinese local media has barely covered the issue so there is no issue to CCP what Chinese people think. They showed Modi's speech on repeat & told their people China was right. Chinese people perspective hardly matters now.
well their high casualties is main reason behind their limited coverage otherwise they would have been jumping like anything.