India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

Sanglamorre

I feel that the Chinese drop some strong sleeping pills into the chai of IA delegation at the beginning of the meeting... and the IA delegation packs up and leaves after 15 hours once they regain consciousness..
I seriously can't imagine 15 hours of talks. Like...what even. I have a feeling nobody really wants to talk so both sides just smoke and issue low key jabs because both sides know they are there to fight, not prem ki baatein Karna.

Shashank Nayak

since we are avoiding US and IS allies that would narrow down to zero
Alliance with US would be good considering the decrepit state of much of our military equipment..But, this should be only after US China confrontation crosses the point of no return, this would mean America bears losses on hundreds of billions invested in China, and after a considerable amount of US -China, decoupling happens..
Otherwise, we run the risk of being trampled by some deal between these two giant economies..
Till that time, I would like India to buy some F-21s to quickly beef up our squadron strength and increase interoperability with US military, without entering into a formal alliance.

Sehwag213

O Bhai mere, they're ready with next biological attack. Those black death, pneumonia reports weren't accidental. As soon as we come out of this one, they'll attack us with the next.
They're continuing their bio warfare against West by sending them spurious seeds.
We had all these years to choose from, but now we have run out of time. That bio warfare lab in Pakistan isn't going to sit idle.
Then we should also start preparing biological weapons. We should simply poison Indus river if Pakis get smart.

And considering that western countries have also been massively damaged , there should be combined attack on China.

LETHALFORCE

I seriously can't imagine 15 hours of talks. Like...what even. I have a feeling nobody really wants to talk so both sides just smoke and issue low key jabs because both sides know they are there to fight, not prem ki baatein Karna.
This is actually not the role of military commanders.

Sridhar_TN

Is it possible for the French to provide aircraft from their inventory at time of war. Highly possible. What else would those two Defence ministers keep talking about.

LETHALFORCE

Alliance with US would be good considering the decrepit state of much of our military equipment..But, this should be only after US China confrontation crosses the point of no return, this would mean America bears losses on hundreds of billions invested in China, and after a considerable amount of US -China, decoupling happens..
Otherwise, we run the risk of being trampled by some deal between these two giant economies..
Till that time, I would like India to buy some F-21s to quickly beef up our squadron strength and increase interoperability with US military, without entering into a formal alliance.
The biological attack using the China virus on USA is estimated to have costed USA 20 trillion dollars. What is a few billion more China will probably confiscate it anyway when USA sued them.

Sehwag213

How about this... we have all opinionated enough from an Indian perspective, Now let's look at it from a CCP perspective. what have they gained and lost so far?
Only gain I can think is that they are showing to rest of the Asian countries that if India can't attack us , you got no chance.

Loss there are many from economic to strategic.
Strategic loss is formation of QUAD may take place, other countries won't allow China a free ride in exports, they may face a combined attack in future.

How about this... we have all opinionated enough from an Indian perspective, Now let's look at it from a CCP perspective. what have they gained and lost so far?
1. Unrestricted market access of goods and services.

2. Lost access to investment opportunities in financial markets and probably startup funding too.

3. Lost goodwill of over 1.3 billion Indians.

Even among fairly urbane Indians who are pro-opposition parties. Even the hip, I don't give a fuk about anything crowd in their late teens and early 20's are pausing before ordering anything Chinese.

Its business as usual though in cost conscious B & C tier towns. This is where the Govt. needs to step in and do its bit to make it a lose-lose for both buyer and seller.

Shashank Nayak

Anyways, as you have mentioned, we need to be wary of alliances. With the muricans, there is no alliance, just subordinates. We will always be the junior partner no matter what. We need to understand basics and also realise who are our friends and coordinate (I won't use the term 'alliance' as its a cold-war'ish term, and irrelevant to the current day). The world built on alliances are falling, so just see with which countries do your mutual interests align and coordinate whatever you intend to do.
Formal alliance or not India will always be in a more subordinate role w.r.t US ( and thats fine..).. We were the same w.r.t .to the soviet union. To be an equal India would have to increae its comprehensive national power manifold and that would take another 50 years.. if ever..
So, India should negotiate a good deal, which minimizes the level of subordinationto the US..

nick_indian

Let's face it, at least in the short run and may be medium run, we have lost some area in Depsang and also lost F4 to F8.

There's going to be no war. India will also not to anything except for decoupling economically from China which is a welcome thing to come out of this event.

Cheran

Let's face it, at least in the short run and may be medium run, we have lost some area in Depsang and also lost F4 to F8.

There's going to be no war. India will also not to anything except for decoupling economically from China which is a welcome thing to come out of this event.
Also the stuff that is being bought could be used against our fav. whipping boy to the west.

LETHALFORCE

so why talk and put troops there? Let them take what they want and let pakis do the same.

Shashank Nayak

Obviously. Babus in GoI don't want to freeze their cushy bums and acclimatise to Ladakh as well as run the risk of actually sitting with Chinese to talk. If something goes wrong, they want to blame army. If talks fails, they want to blame army,
Without Modi's direct involvement.. there would be no substantial change on the ground. But, Modi has been humiliated by China's gambit, and is reluctant to pick up the phone and call Xi Jinping..

nick_indian

so why talk and put troops there? Let them take what they want and let pakis do the same.
Talks will happen and are happening, I am talking about military action.

Keeping troops there is just a mirror deployment that India has done in response to China's deployment. There was no other option but to match their build up.

When did we control it?