Junior engineer handle most of the ground level projects like making a drainage in small locality to making footpath, road or even small govemenet buildings.
There is a massive corruption involved in this which starts from MLA to DM and then junior engineers.
They are responsible for passing of tenders to contractors, now to contractors bribe junior enginner to get the tender and than build poor infrastructure. This is why our infrastructure is so bad.
For the second part IES officers head several department DRDO, BEL, Rail Yards, NHAI etc etc.
It's an open loot in evey department tho it is better today than the Indra era.
bc, my heart breaks when i see the amount of corruption involved in our country. we would have been a developed country instead of a developing country, if everybody honestly pays taxes and every govt employee do their job honestly and every neta works for the country instead of filling their pockets.
let me tell you a secret. you either believe it or don't.
Andimuthu Raja, the brain behind the infamous 2G scam. he used to sell black tickets (scalping) outside chennai's pilot theater(now demolished) and sometimes outside batcha theater. my uncle told me, he himself bought black tickets from Raja, many times.
later, this chor (thief) joined political party (DMK) and went on to become fucking minister of communication and information technology. he lived up to his old stealing habits. like how he used to sell black tickets, he now sold black 2g license and filled his and his party coffers.
if you give a ministry level position to a chor, what do you think is going to happen? after all habits die hard and chor chor hi hota hai.. usko chori karne ke alava aur kuch nahi aata.
that's just one person. consider the level of corruption when put together all the MLA, MP, PUBLIC Workers like you said, POLICE, collectors, CMs, even PMs sometimes, political parties etc anal rapping our bharat maa
and because of this, we have one of the weakest performing currency in the world. sky high inflation, rich becomes rich and poor becomes poor.