India-China 2020 Border conflict

Cactus09

yes, but its also about weight distribution. arjun mk1a has low weight distribution per sq. inch on its track. the possibility of t90 getting stuck is higher when compared to arjun.
That is fine. But what do you do in mountains. And what about the bridges which are rated for lower weight. About 70% of our infra is not suitable to carry such a huge weight.

ganesh177

America must build a coalition to counter China’s accelerating aggression

U.S. should embrace a multilateral approach, encompassing eight key political forces: Australia, ASEAN, Canada, India, Japan, Korea, the U.K., and the E.U.
All ok but Canada is a pussy, does not fit in that list.

Dessert Storm

Quad of the level of NATO will provide enough weight. Both strategic and economic. Too many countries will lead to khichdi. That will be counterproductive.
Once the quad stabilises and 'objectives' achieved, it should open to other willing countries. After all they will be sharing some burden too.

Shashank Nayak

Once the quad stabilises and 'objectives' achieved, it should open to other willing countries. After all they will be sharing some burden too.
No it would degenerate like NATO has, its only US military power that deters anyone from attacking NATO homeland.. The Europeans have outsourced their security to US, and have stripped down their own militaries..

ThE BrOkEn HeArT

Quad of the level of NATO will provide enough weight. Both strategic and economic. Too many countries will lead to khichdi. That will be counterproductive.
Quad is gonna become the most powerful military alliance the world ever produced with 5 million front line soldiers, and with 5th Gen. tech airforce. But it need to bring into in real sense, not just on the paper.

LETHALFORCE

No it would degenerate like NATO has, its only US military power that deters anyone from attacking NATO homeland.. The Europeans have outsourced their security to US, and have stripped down their own militaries..
I don't think it would degenerate you have demographics in the QUAD that are much better
than EU . Eu has been on the decline for decades and in reality only a currency binds them . They
are all very different nations(many that don't like each other).

Dessert Storm

Every system degenerates unless it evolves. Yes NATO. Look at UN too. But it dosen't mean that there shouldn't be any system(s) at all.

yes, but its also about weight distribution. arjun mk1a has low weight distribution per sq. inch on its track. the possibility of t90 getting stuck is higher when compared to arjun.
Indian maal ke liye paisa nahi hai re baba. Nahi to we would have fielded more lch for high altitude warfare.

War ke liye babu log ke pass jigra nahi hai or south block is convinced no good outcome from conflict for us. Remember the result of status quo is IA deployed on freezing LAC for next 40-50 years. But I will repeat modi is most unpredictable w.r.t to miltary option among all politicians. Pehle border road thik kiya hai, after that 370 was revoked, they would have known what comes next but chinese surprised with pandemic.

saketkr

Let us look at the timeline.

Russia intelligence reports tell India that chinese are just having a exercise and we have nothing too worry about.

Russias wanting to stay neutral.

Delay of s-400

Russia wanting de-escalation.

Russian exercise with china and pakistan.

Moscow pact where we decide on the 5 point meet.

There is too much involvement of russia from the start almost as if the Chinese planned for this.
I wonder why GOI & MEA can't see what the folks here can see. I don't expect GOI to say this in public but their actions should reflect their understanding. We know that we are dependent on Russian Arms, half of the Indian Air-Force is Russian, 95% of Tank fleet is Russian, Nuclear Submarine development had Russian assistance. So they do have leverage on us but even China is dependent on Russia for frontline fighters usable in Ladakh.

We do have room for taking an independent position in national interest. However the Political class is scared of losing Russian support in case of all-out war with China. Russian Non-Alignment statement seems to be a veto to India's will to wage war with China. Now India will not wage war but only wait for China to initiate it. No doubt, Russians are complicit in this.

GOI, MEA & Defense Planners should understand that none of the Camps (US or Russia) is a security guarantee, Atmanirbhar Bharat is!!! State of the Art or Obsolete, our weapons should be made in India. Assured Supply Chain is the actual Veto power in the modern world order which should be a National Project. This is why we are seeing a flurry of war-fighting equipment orders going to Indian companies...even the series of missile tests conducted by DRDO is that messaging to our Russian 'friends'. Modi is preparing for War but he will choose the timing...mark my words!!!

Chandragupt Maurya

Indian maal ke liye paisa nahi hai re baba. Nahi to we would have fielded more lch for high altitude warfare.

War ke liye babu log ke pass jigra nahi hai or south block is convinced no good outcome from conflict for us. Remember the result of status quo is IA deployed on freezing LAC for next 40-50 years. But I will repeat modi is most unpredictable w.r.t to miltary option among all politicians. Pehle border road thik kiya hai, after that 370 was revoked, they would have known what comes next but chinese surprised with pandemic.
Does that mean China has sabotaged our POJK plan ? I feel China has done all this to prevent us from Capturing Gilgit Baltistan from where the CPEC passes through

Dessert Storm

Does that mean China has sabotaged our POJK plan ? I feel China has done all this to prevent us from Capturing Gilgit Baltistan from where the CPEC passes through
Taking back our territories is an objective too not just a plan. A plan can be countered (sabotage gives too much credit to the munchers) by certain actions. Those actions would result in a different course of action being taken by us. But our objective remains the same.
The loud silence that you observe from the top level of our government indicates pending action. Too much 'talk' as expected by so many, ends up complicating the mix. Neither Modi, not Trump are there just to burn money and earn some optics. They will go back with substantial gains. America, politically and economically. India, geographically and politically.

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
In fact these confidence building measures were in place when Chinese moved the LAC westward at a few places like Fingers area and in Despang. A firefight may be the solution.
Confidence Building my ass ! These MEA babus keep bandying this term around. The only confidence it builds is that of the enemy ! That we will never respond to his agression.

1 reason may be buy more time for POK.

2nd reason may be Article 370 also make ladakh UT and ccp sees it as change of status quo towards chinese side, possible claim on Aksai chin. This also means better funding in ladakh from GOI hence more control. They haven't clarified their perception of border so I am assuming they claim significantly more and wont be surprised if they claim all of ladakh internally. So we sometimes get this bits form CCP embassy that clarification of LAC will cause more bitterness between 2 countries. Jaishankar also clarifying 370 changes nothing w.r.t to china etc as though that will satisfy CCP. CCP was happy with status quo in J&K altogether with all attention on western border & them encroaching peacefully.

3rd reason: CCP is full of itself and is the main reason for all of this

^^ 3 is the main reason becoz nepal, bhutan, countries in south china sea did none of above 2 and still got similar responses from CCP :devil: