India-China 2020 Border conflict

He was the one braying about friendship with China non-stop for years.
Let's be honest here everyone was braying for friendship with china the past few years.

The whole Wuhan spirit and xi visit to India along with the so called bonding.

Chinese investment in India heck there were some talks about a bullet train project from Kunming to kolkata.

I think at one point the GOI was under the certain belief that we could be friends with china.

Suhaldev

New details:

this operation to reach the unoccupied heights took almost a month of careful planning — from the drawing board to implementation on the field.

Plans for such a move, a source in the security establishment said, had the political go-ahead from Delhi because there was realisation there that Beijing was not serious about completing disengagement of troops.

But by July 14, the fourth round of talks, it was clear that China was not pulling back its troops fully from Gogra Post and Hot Spring areas, and the ridges of the Fingers area on the north bank of Pangong Tso.
When the August 2 meeting ended with China not even ready to accept it had violated Indian territory on Pangong Tso’s north bank, the Indian establishment realised that military action to wrest some tactical advantage was the only option.

The final plan, the source said, had been ready for over a fortnight before the action. “Two weeks before it happened, the seriousness about putting weight on this particular action started gaining. Then the ground commanders came here to give presentations.”

Locations of tactical advantage were discussed. Strategies to achieve them were worked upon. Each and every move, to the last detail, was mapped. And just before the operations, reconnaissance was carried out.

“There were three forces at our disposal — the Special Frontier Force (SFF), the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) and, of course, the Indian Army. Units were specifically picked to take over particular heights with SFF commandos leading at many places,” the officer said.

Sources said the operation – it extended to the night of August 30-31 — helped India take positions on heights surrounding Black Top and Helmet Top. “The Chinese continue to dominate Black Top and Helmet Top, but we have surrounded them on heights around it. Though perceptions of LAC differ, we are still on our side of the LAC,” an intelligence officer said.

What has riled China, the officer said, is India’s positions around Rezang La and Rechin La. “The positions we have taken in the Chushul sector on heights such as Magar Hill and Gurung Hill has exposed China’s Moldo garrison and the Spanggur Gap, strategically very important to China,” the officer said.

there have been two instances of firing in the area – for the first time in 45 years along the LAC. While China reacted to an incident of firing on September 7, calling it a “grave provocation”, sources said the first shot was fired on the night of August 30. On September 7 too, the firing happened in the same sector for the same reason

The Indian Army denied it had opened fire along the LAC, or that it had crossed the LAC.

Read between the lines especially the last 2 paras.

I guess the numbers are bloated. As their salaries aren’t that good. Coming on rations and kerosene/gas they aren’t that costly. Ammo is something whose price I can’t say but rest of you see the company. In Ladhak temperature would be way below 0. Troops will need specialized accomodation, clothing, sleeping bag. Since they are there for long haul we will need everything in 2X-3X number. Along with that we will need to setup medical facilities. In remote mountain areas like Ladhak everything becomes costly because of transportation cost involved. We haven't spent on setting up infrastructure like roads, railways. In winters many things would need to be airlifted, that would added up to cost as well.

That was the reason that I mentioned that I might be wrong but still 16L seems far fetched as a number. I meant govt might be only spending ~2L. But people are scaring citizens by claiming its 16L so people start cursing army for the shortcomings. Army needs to be looked after in the best possible ways as a sovereign nation’s sovereignty is defended and maintained by army. Money shouldn’t be a problem as we have 560B in reserves. The winter kit will cost 350 crores alone. So the exact figures could be for a season.

Suhaldev

Which Report.. 1 billoon per month for 2 extra divisions is 16 lakh per soldier pwe month.. thats extravagant... and its not likely to be that costly..
Daily cost of maintaing a bridage in Siachen is 5cr, Eastern ladhak should be less, isn't?

Need4Speed

Bombers are more of relic of that era when bombing accuracy was less and lots of bombs had to be dropped on target so that at least some of them would hit the target. Also they had more range than fighters . Now with modern strike aircraft having more accuracy in bombing and therefore less need to carry the extremely heavy load of bombs and also having greater range they are less necessary .
But modern bombers are equipped with long-range cruise missiles that vastly exceed what conventional fighters can carry. What bombers offer is the ability to take long-distance shots at the enemy, sometimes well within your own territory. Fighter jets simply cannot duplicate that kind of performance because they're not big enough.

Take the the Storm Shadow. It has a range of about what? 500 to 600 km? H6 bombers carry cruise missiles that can go up to 2000 km. They were designed to carry out saturation strikes against bases like Okinawa, Guam, or even American fleets in the Pacific, but they can easily be used to knock out air force bases as well. I've read that the Chinese have stationed multiple H6 bombers in Kashgar. Working in tandem, they could deliver a saturation attack against Ambala as soon as they get off the ground. The IAF would actually have little choice but to go after them, unless they're going to let the Chinese just take free shots at Indian forces. And going after the bombers would mean sacrificing other targets and opportunities along the way (and being vulnerable to Chinese counter-attacks).

Having a vast fleet of bombers could actually be a major advantage for China. I say "could" because it really depends on what a potential war looks like. If it's localized in a particular area along the Himalayas, then the bombers probably won't matter much compared to other critical assets. But if the war spreads out along the entire frontier and the Chinese decide to strike deep within Indian territory, then those bombers will be very useful indeed.

So in last page i read chenes apparently dismantling their camps in F4-F8?
As a part of the recent EAM Jaishankar-Wang "deal" in Moscow apparently?
Anything else is new?

I guess the numbers are bloated. As their salaries aren’t that good. Coming on rations and kerosene/gas they aren’t that costly. Ammo is something whose price I can’t say but rest of you see the company. In Ladhak temperature would be way below 0. Troops will need specialized accomodation, clothing, sleeping bag. Since they are there for long haul we will need everything in 2X-3X number. Along with that we will need to setup medical facilities. In remote mountain areas like Ladhak everything becomes costly because of transportation cost involved. We haven't spent on setting up infrastructure like roads, railways. In winters many things would need to be airlifted, that would added up to cost as well.

That was the reason that I mentioned that I might be wrong but still 16L seems far fetched as a number. I meant govt might be only spending ~2L. But people are scaring citizens by claiming its 16L so people start cursing army for the shortcomings. Army needs to be looked after in the best possible ways as a sovereign nation’s sovereignty is defended and maintained by army. Money shouldn’t be a problem as we have 560B in reserves. The winter kit will cost 350 crores alone. So the exact figures could be for a season.
Unironically send such people to Pakistan.
Army must be given the best equipment, food, tents, weapons etc they need to fight effectively in adverse conditions.We never asked for all this, the chinese intruded on our land.

DownWithCCP

Let's be honest here everyone was braying for friendship with china the past few years.

The whole Wuhan spirit and xi visit to India along with the so called bonding.

Chinese investment in India heck there were some talks about a bullet train project from Kunming to kolkata.

I think at one point the GOI was under the certain belief that we could be friends with china.
Xi spoiled it all, he could have turned it the other way but he did not because of his expansionist mindset. India and China could have dominated world market and military had we worked together, but it was never to come , there is no peaceful rise of China, the only major competitor for China in Asia is India and make no mistake they have always viewed us as a threat any extension of hands was immediately followed by treachery by their side now they are gonna pay for it be it economically or maybe even militarily.

Dessert Storm

New details:

this operation to reach the unoccupied heights took almost a month of careful planning — from the drawing board to implementation on the field.

Plans for such a move, a source in the security establishment said, had the political go-ahead from Delhi because there was realisation there that Beijing was not serious about completing disengagement of troops.

But by July 14, the fourth round of talks, it was clear that China was not pulling back its troops fully from Gogra Post and Hot Spring areas, and the ridges of the Fingers area on the north bank of Pangong Tso.
When the August 2 meeting ended with China not even ready to accept it had violated Indian territory on Pangong Tso’s north bank, the Indian establishment realised that military action to wrest some tactical advantage was the only option.

The final plan, the source said, had been ready for over a fortnight before the action. “Two weeks before it happened, the seriousness about putting weight on this particular action started gaining. Then the ground commanders came here to give presentations.”

Locations of tactical advantage were discussed. Strategies to achieve them were worked upon. Each and every move, to the last detail, was mapped. And just before the operations, reconnaissance was carried out.

“There were three forces at our disposal — the Special Frontier Force (SFF), the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) and, of course, the Indian Army. Units were specifically picked to take over particular heights with SFF commandos leading at many places,” the officer said.

Sources said the operation – it extended to the night of August 30-31 — helped India take positions on heights surrounding Black Top and Helmet Top. “The Chinese continue to dominate Black Top and Helmet Top, but we have surrounded them on heights around it. Though perceptions of LAC differ, we are still on our side of the LAC,” an intelligence officer said.

What has riled China, the officer said, is India’s positions around Rezang La and Rechin La. “The positions we have taken in the Chushul sector on heights such as Magar Hill and Gurung Hill has exposed China’s Moldo garrison and the Spanggur Gap, strategically very important to China,” the officer said.

there have been two instances of firing in the area – for the first time in 45 years along the LAC. While China reacted to an incident of firing on September 7, calling it a “grave provocation”, sources said the first shot was fired on the night of August 30. On September 7 too, the firing happened in the same sector for the same reason

The Indian Army denied it had opened fire along the LAC, or that it had crossed the LAC.

New details:

Reading it either ways is like pedalling the Chinese narrative on the forum

ataru09

Mc isse pehle vaale comment padne me faat rahi hai kya teri bc mujhe laag raha hai tu hi hai vo jo gandh faila raha hai
Daal hi de teri positive commentary padh loon. Khud ki phatke "so we lost land.......again 😭😭😭" karne waala doosro ko bol raha hai "negativity mat phailao".

etantra

remember his tweets when all of this mess gets over.
Traitor h ye bc
the reason we don't ask for april status quo ante is apparent.. we are in a better position.

if China wants April position , then it may be that + something else( cut off Pak/ SC seat maybe :) )

PS : new user, been lurking... am regular on reddit r/Indiandefense r/indiaspeaks
Got tired off not being able to call out fake arguments or add to key points, so registered.

the reason we don't ask for april status quo ante is apparent.. we are in a better position.

if China wants April position , then it may be that + something else( cut off Pak/ SC seat maybe :) )

PS : new user, been lurking... am regular on reddit r/Indiandefense r/indiaspeaks
Got tired off not being able to call out fake arguments or add to key points, so registered.
It's not that simple at all.

We are ready to return to the previous status quo too.

While we have occupied various heights you need to understand that china is in despang and gogra hot springs area too.

Also most of the heights we have taken are in our side of lac and inside our perception and previously not occupied as we did not want to look like aggressors.

We have no such compulsion now we can make camps once again after the status quo is achieved.

etantra

Do you think GoI will let IA evict Chinese off F4-8 if the Chinese don't come at us with guns blazing?

Right now, IA is doing everything it can and the GoI will let to defend what they've taken control over and to demolish Chinese if they seriously attack.

But an actual attack on Chinese held F4-8 bases or Moldo? That's not sure yet. Only time can tell.
2 tactics... by occupying the key points, IA makes it costly for PLA to maintain forces in F4-F8.

PLA has to beef up numbers or pull back. If they beef up and things turn bad in SCS, then these forces become roadkill as comms & supply chains break down.

if they pull back, we occupy posts to F8 and push further if things heat up in SCS...

PLA's best move now is to make big concessions to IA and trust IA to keep its word, so it can focus in SCS.

DownWithCCP

SC seat and cutting off Pak is a bit too much if you ask me, if the Chinese are willing to do that then it would mean the end of Xi and tremendous loss of face for China however it can happen if India wins a short war of sorts but just the actions on 29/30 coupled with a few economic sanctions is not going to move China that far, however they might just be willing for april status quo ante and the negotiations for not moving from the occupied heights might be on IA's cards and is probably being worked out, mind you this is just a speculation.