IAF MiG-21 shoots down Pakistani F-16

abhay rajput

1. They were the attacking party, the one who strikes first always has the advantage of surprise. PAF started the whole attack with lobbing long-range BVR missiles at our 2 X Su-30MKIs at CAP. They forced our jets defensive (Su-30MKIs started notching and taking evasive maneuvers, thus losing altitude). In this 2-3minute gap, their bombers quickly dashed forward and dropped their payload and ran away.

We could have chased the bombers inside PoK, but this was exactly what they wanted, and multiple F-16s were conducting BARCAP at high altitude to target any egressing IAF jet.

They indeed did,
  • They started firing BVR missiles while civilian air traffic was still in the air. Heard that one Indigo flight was a close miss.
  • They tried to target our military installation + they tried to target our jets in our own airspace (peacetime engagement violation).
And yes, Abhinandan indeed violated ROE, first by going alone & leaving his wingman behind, second crossing LoC to chase them down.
It's the duty of wingman to stay. Wingman heard controller while Abhinandan didn't

Sayaaf

Ask this swift retort guy why Pakistan took 1 whole year to come up with the serial number on R73 missile if it was lying just there? We released their AMRAAM wreckage with the serial number the next day.

It took india 2 months to show the MS Paint drawings of F-16 disappearing from a radar. So While you're at it, why not explain that as well?

Has Russia and India officially Denied the Serial Numbers that Pakistan has presented? Kindly show me 1 denial from both sides and we will end the debate right here that 4 Missile S/N are fake

Plus, Pakistan Invited the military experts even from India to come and inspect the missiles back in September 2019. Why didn't India accepted Pakistan Invitation and went to Pakistan to inspect the missiles itself. ?

India is not willing to engage factually and objectively yet continue to peddle baseless conspiracy theories that has no support outside India at all. Even The Russia doesn't support Indian claims et all. Talk about the reliability of IAF.

Sayaaf

1. Keep away Mi-17, 1971, books by Pakistani intellectuals leaking info, other wars, oh your daddy did this on that day. We aren't here to "judge" anyone. Stick to aerial engagement of 27 February 2019. Futher any such post, you will not be able to post in this thread.
  2. @Sayaaf You have hopefully said what you wanted to say on IAF's statement. Spamming thread with same screenshot isn't going to help you at all. Except first two, I'll remove all those repetitive screenshots.
Locked it as got even a dozen posts while typing warning alone.:facepalm:
I'm opening this thread once more expecting discretion from members instead of personal attacks. My response will be indiscriminately brutal to everyone after it.

Comment on Topic: @Sayaaf Both, separation of ejection seat as well as redundant reporting of pilot(s) can cause confusion in numbers. If you stop turning a blind eye, you'll find that in initial 50 pages, there have been reports of villagers of capturing two different pilots at distinct instances, and arresting of one while other shifted to hospital as per stated by DGISPR.

There is no sufficient proof (and not nil actually) that India certainly shot down an F-16. But there isn't other away round either. The Foreign Policy magazine report of Pakistani jet count by was itself a paid article deemed incorrect by Pentagon later.

Opened it!
Didn't Indian Media reported Su-30 Crash Initially as well No Jet has been crashed inside Pakistan and all the pilots are accounted for? This was claimed within the 3 hours after the skrimish

Videos of Abhinandan started to appear on twitter within 1 or 2 hours after his capture. In that state of stupor, if there was a second pilot, Don't you think the videos of 2nd pilot would have been instantly uploaded?

Villagers confused the parachute of ejection seat as 2nd pilot. Seat coming down with Parachute from afar certainly looked like a 2nd Pilot. Pakistan Army and Pakistan Airforce both clarified this point clearly. Pakistan airforce released the ejection seat with its parachute also.

If we want to take words of ignorant villagers as gospel, How about we start believing the words of Indian villagers who saw a second jet going inside pakistan and coming back while it was on fire and crashed somwhere in India. That video is also shared in previous pages of thread.

Villagers of both side made lots of claims. Why pick some and ignore some then? Just so Indian narrative requires some addition and deletion of some claims which makes the indian narrative biased.

Sayaaf

After reading it more questions pop to my mind
1. F-16 put the SU-30MKI on defensive, don't know
if odds would changed had they acquired novator
KS172 missile in time.

2. Why Pakistan got upper hand in information warfare?

My greatest disappointment was the Sukhoi on that day 😕😷

Information warfare is conducted when external sources start supporting your narrative.

1. India claimed on 26 Feb without any evidence that they have destroyed a building and killed 300 Terrorists. 3rd Party Think thanks 3-4 days after the strike published High Definition pictures showing that structure was enact and Indians bombs missed the target. The Bomb overshoot.

All the world Believed those pictures and and stopped believing the words of Indian airforce who werent giving out any evidences. GoI and IAF reliability took a big hit.

Christine Fair further damaged the reliability of IAF.

2. Indian Airforce claimed they used Spice Penetrator version. The entire world and the diplomatic visit to Balakot saw that the structures and buildings at Balakot Madrassa was made of Tin roofs, weak concrete structures. IF 240 KG of explosives are exploded in such tin roof, weak concrete structure building. It will blow up the building and Very visible damage will be seen in Satellite images. Not a single person outside India believed about such 90 KG warhead theory.

Not USA, Nor Israel, Nor Russia. Nor European Union. Christine Fair Further damaged the reliability of IAF by questioning their claims

3. Abhinandan doesnt believe he shot down F-16, IAF cant proof they shot down F-16. Russia doesnt Believe India shot down any thing. Neither America Nor rest of the countries believe India. American reasled the counting report showing No F-16 shot down

India says that people has to trust their world. World doesnt run this way

Ask Christine Fair.

When you combine all 3 points and common denominator is Trust our word by IAF. Then Who the heck in the world actually trusted GoI and Indian work

3.5 India tried to attack Pakistan through Brahmos. Which made Powers to be in the world to support Pakistan narrative Because

- They released the identity of Minty Agerwal

- They released the identity of Abhinandan wingman

-They showed the videos of H-4 attacking India supply depo

- THey invited Americans, Russians, Australian and Arab defence attache to show them the strike package video

What has India did so far except Believe me just!

India has put 0 efforts in releasing evidences and yet want to win the information warfare just on heresay and imaginary analysis or what not

Sayaaf

As long as India relies on the Sameer Joshi, 2nd Guy theory, Bs Dhoana smugly claiming SAR imagery which cant be released. It will continue to loose the Information Warfare. As Even Pro India Analysts cant defend the Indian claims and She Called Indians liars on their faces. Then why do they expect that any Sane Analysts or countries will back their claims?

India Had a golden chance to Ask Russians to run reports in their own Print Media to discredit Pakistan and America like on RT Russian media that India SU-30 count has been done and found nothing amiss. Or India could have Asked Russia to debunk SU-30 Kill claim openly, why? Because Pakistan in September 2019 had a Gall to Invite Russian defense attache to Award ceremony where Squadron leader Hassan openly claimed killing a SU-30 and what was Russia Response? Silence

Pakistan released the Serial numbers of Mig-21 Missiles. Where is India and Russia Response on that one? Silence and Muted .

It is India Hubris that " World should belief IAF word" mantra that cost them Information warfare

It is India Hubris they underestimated Pakistan Electronic, Surveillance and BVR capabilities that cost them the Skirmish of 27 FEB.

As Long as Pakistan Narrative gets support/muted response from relevant quarters, It will continue to win Information warfare.

Hellfire

MKI's were in there Indian Air Space
They risked Civilian Airliners when they Fired Missiles
The last aircraft to land in Srinagar as ATC Srinagar was quickly clearing the airspace to prevent exactly that, was an IL-76 ex 44 Sqn piloted by their CO. After that the engagement took place. (Note how precise the information has been given. Can give more tidbits but they are not for publicizing)

Secondly, civil aircrafts 'squawk' aka emit signals off transponders which identify them as such. There were AWACS on their side too, to identify the 'targets' or 'threats' and provide them situational awareness. And the other side has its share of bright people too. Not everytime are they as dumb as one would like to make them out to be.

Hellfire

As long as India relies on the Sameer Joshi,
He can not be blamed for peddling nonsense in the immediate aftermath of the skirmish on 27 Feb 2019. There was a genuine misinformation within the top leadership of the IAF also as most were out of the loop and the operation, like all such operations, was kept very closely guarded. For the obvious reasons.

If someone relies on data put out by him in the initial stages of 'no AWACS' & believes the 'outgunned/outranged' nonsense, then they are bigger fools than those peddling these lines.

2nd Guy theory,
Well, there is no 'theory'. The same was confirmed by everyone in the Pakistani channel till as such time they realized the tremendous goof up. This is neither the first time, nor will be the last time that Pakistan will claim no losses. Just like Kargil, just like every few days along LoC.

It is India Hubris they underestimated Pakistan Electronic, Surveillance and BVR capabilities that cost them the Skirmish of 27 FEB.
There was no underestimation. Just because in his zeal, a pilot inadvertently crossed the LoC and was shot down, does not mean a 'massive' victory. Was the pilot wrong? Yes & No. Wrong because he broke the RoEs and risked changing Indian narrative of the previous day's strikes from antiterror operation to India-Pakistan military conflict and risked getting India painted as an aggressor had IAF crossed the LoC to engage the PAF. No, because as a soldier, he was supposed to hunt his aggressor (but again at fault here as at his service bracket, he should have known when to do precisely what).

The biggest takeaway from that engagement has that PAF has virtually vacated the forward airspace on their side as Indian ROEs were revised in immediate aftermath with IAF being given clearance to engage across LC, if hostile aircrafts make an aggressive approach in their operations in support of Indian Counter Terror efforts.

Hellfire

They indeed did,
  • They started firing BVR missiles while civilian air traffic was still in the air. Heard that one Indigo flight was a close miss.
Refer my reply earlier to WARREN SS will requote here:

The last aircraft to land in Srinagar as ATC Srinagar was quickly clearing the airspace to prevent exactly that, was an IL-76 ex 44 Sqn piloted by their CO. After that the engagement took place. (Note how precise the information has been given. Can give more tidbits but they are not for publicizing)

As for Indigo flight ... close miss? Who told you that?

They tried to target our military installation + they tried to target our jets in our own airspace (peacetime engagement violation).
For them their ROEs were changed by their leadership. This rationale does not hold.

The reason for strict limitations imposed on IAF with the ROE even after the strike on Balakote and knowing that Pakistan will launch a response as early as within 72 hours was to 'manage' the escalation wherein Pakistan is denied the opportunity to portray the previous day strike as an Indo-Pak confrontation over Kashmir thereby creating unnecessary diplomatic pressure and causing us to expend diplomatic capital on offsetting the repercussions.

All that was asked for from the 'uniformed services' was to do their job and not get carried away. Too many lives have been lost when 'excitement' of a kill leads a novice, yes a novice who has never seen battle, to take stupid steps.

To claim "unable to hear hence crossed" as a defence of undertaking a singular act which led to Pakistan almost getting in changing the narrative to Indo-Pak military confrontation over Kashmir, is farce at best as the officer should be questioned on this as to why he had no clue as to what his wingman was upto!

As long as India relies on the Sameer Joshi, 2nd Guy theory, Bs Dhoana smugly claiming SAR imagery which cant be released. It will continue to loose the Information Warfare. As Even Pro India Analysts cant defend the Indian claims and She Called Indians liars on their faces. Then why do they expect that any Sane Analysts or countries will back their claims?

India Had a golden chance to Ask Russians to run reports in their own Print Media to discredit Pakistan and America like on RT Russian media that India SU-30 count has been done and found nothing amiss. Or India could have Asked Russia to debunk SU-30 Kill claim openly, why? Because Pakistan in September 2019 had a Gall to Invite Russian defense attache to Award ceremony where Squadron leader Hassan openly claimed killing a SU-30 and what was Russia Response? Silence

Pakistan released the Serial numbers of Mig-21 Missiles. Where is India and Russia Response on that one? Silence and Muted .

It is India Hubris that " World should belief IAF word" mantra that cost them Information warfare

As Long as Pakistan Narrative gets support/muted response from relevant quarters, It will continue to win Information warfare.
Pakistan claims big.
1) It couldn't protect its airspace. I mean not one aircraft tried to intercept when India bombed in your airspace
2) It couldn't cross Indian boarder and lobbed bombs from across border and could not hit anything.
3) It fired multiple AIM 120's and still could not penetrate the Indian defenses.
4) A Mig-21 chased your aircraft in your airspace. It got shotdown fine... but it was in your airspace and we have our reasons to believe that we took out an F-16 of yours.
5) After this, Pakistan closed its entire airspace for 4 months!!! Thats how brave and capable you are :lol:

Defcon 1

Congrats to Pakistan for winning in Information war
Congrats to India for winning real wars.

scatterStorm

After reading it more questions pop to my mind
1. F-16 put the SU-30MKI on defensive, don't know
if odds would changed had they acquired novator
KS172 missile in time.

2. Why Pakistan got upper hand in information warfare?

My greatest disappointment was the Sukhoi on that day 😕😷
1. F16Ds had an altitude advantage. You crank at supersonic and fire Aim120c at higher altitude, you've imparted enough kinematic performance to missiles, essentially extending its range. Somebody mentioned here too.
2. MKI are an essential asset, confidential tech are onboard it, like avionics that support Brahmos and Astra Mk1.
3. Bakis are very good at info warfare, because they know they can't win in conventional one, few years after there useless army generals will write another book saying "we lost an F16 that day". Its there in there core doctrine. Can't help it.

Mission objectives for IAF were to defend then have an offensive posture. I've mentioned previously that Bakis thought we would be defensive, but Abhi went hot to there offensive plans of "shit retort". We learned some good lessons, lessons that will be very helpful when we go full scale.

scatterStorm

It's the duty of wingman to stay. Wingman heard controller while Abhinandan didn't
Who said that? When you about to go cold, but then logically you are still in the NEZ of an AIM120c, so if you turned back, there are chances of you getting shot down very high. So you haven't fired off your missiles, even if its within FOX2 NEZ and you've lost a jet with a man onboard, whose chances of surviving a seat ejection is slim, as not all pilots return to ground safely without injuries.

I had to say this, he had no choice too. Plus our comms were smudged by the PAF.

Absolut_Vodka

Quarantined Abdul
Refer my reply earlier to WARREN SS will requote here:

As for Indigo flight ... close miss? Who told you that?

For them their ROEs were changed by their leadership. This rationale does not hold.

The reason for strict limitations imposed on IAF with the ROE even after the strike on Balakote and knowing that Pakistan will launch a response as early as within 72 hours was to 'manage' the escalation wherein Pakistan is denied the opportunity to portray the previous day strike as an Indo-Pak confrontation over Kashmir thereby creating unnecessary diplomatic pressure and causing us to expend diplomatic capital on offsetting the repercussions.

All that was asked for from the 'uniformed services' was to do their job and not get carried away. Too many lives have been lost when 'excitement' of a kill leads a novice, yes a novice who has never seen battle, to take stupid steps.

To claim "unable to hear hence crossed" as a defence of undertaking a singular act which led to Pakistan almost getting in changing the narrative to Indo-Pak military confrontation over Kashmir, is farce at best as the officer should be questioned on this as to why he had no clue as to what his wingman was upto!
It was Indo-pak confrontation when a fidayeen blew bus of CRPF personnel. There wasn't any diplomatic effort needed because whole world including UN knows Pakistan sponsors terrorism.

Infact, I will say 27 Feb and aftermath was bigger deterrent for Pakistan to carry out such acts in India than 26 Feb balakot strikes. The fear of real war hanging over bakis head (potential loss of pok as well) really shook them in their boots.

Till date Indian drones fly freely over PoK and PAF is nowhere to be seen. Is it because of Balakot or 27 feb?

Sayaaf

Congrats to Pakistan for winning in Information war
Congrats to India for winning real wars.
1.Now it is time for India to wait for our response. The response will come at the point and time of our choosing where our civil military leadership decides, and, as a matter of fact, has decided.

"It is your turn now to wait and get ready for our surprise."- Asif Ghafoor on 26 FEB 2019

2. IAF strikes: India does not want to see further escalation, says Sushma Swaraj on 27 Feb 2019

What real war was won that you congratulating India for? India couldnt meet its objective, failed at defending their airspace, goofed up their information warfare. What single thing went right for India that you can claim your winning upon ?

Ultramarine

Its funny you would take all that Kaiser tufail said but dismiss what the serving ACM of the IAF said. Biased much?

The IAF is a professional force. Had it been hubris as you claim, the incumbent air chief would not have agreed that shooting down of the Mi-17 was a big mistake, neither the upgradation of legacy systems been given that coverage in the press. The air force undertook many lessons learnt and they are infact addressing them as we speak. The details are all over the internet. Had the IAF being concerned with all that Honor and dignity which you all are so concerned about, no such things would have come out in the press. Lest it remains unstated, India is a democracy and the govt runs the armed forces and not the other way round. Your minister refuses to give statement of people who have been killed in the LoC in the name of national security. Something like that in India would have been another huge scandal. You guys also claimed IAF as being unprofessional when planes crashed during routine flying. Now that the tempo has raised at the LoC please have a look at your air forces's crash rate too. Despite being smaller, you havent exactly covered you in glory. You guys harp upon Surya Kiran's pilots crashing, the Mirage crash at Bangalore but hey your top of the line CCS pilot too died while practising and took out an F-16 too. No one's laughing now.

Why is the onus on India to invite Russia to do a count of the Su-30's? Is it because you claim to have shot down one? Werent you crying out loud that the IAF pilot died in the road accident, then it became GS Luthra? Why dont you guys instead ask the USAF to do so for your F-16's? Ohh wait, because they dont really comment on that. So Russia's silence on your rock concert award show was a tacit admission of a Su-30 shot down while the USAF's refusal is not an admission of an F-16 shot down?

When the Mi-17 was shot down, the pictures of the airframe and the remains of the personnel were all over the internet and you say that your H-4 took out an ammo dump? This is Kashmir where the majority is not very appreciative of the armed forces and things like this make believe that you are taking about would have been all over the net similar to how the planes shot down over PoK have their so many videos captured.

This article below shows the restrictions still in place around Balakot. This is from BBC and you might need google translator for that.

Next about the seeker remaining intact, there are pics all over the net which show that this does not mean that the warhead failed to employ. Please google up the searcher-II UAV that was shot down and you will see many pics of the army standing with the seeker in their hands.

Christine fair called the IAF liars. But hey she also called the Pakistan army a lot of things too. Nothing to feel hunky dory about her. Are you implying the Pakistan army's incompetence since it came from her?

You guys fired off missiles from air space under your control. Took a guided media tour around Balakot, shut down the airspace for months. What exactly was stopping you guys? The retaliation from IAF perhaps that would now really liked to pay you back in your own coin now? The air force with hubris you say. While the air force on the other side, the best air force in the world, shutting down the airspace so as to have a better shot of identifying a bogey from this side.

You also say that spice would have razed the building and no ones believing the air force but hey not many have claimed to see the affect of the warhead too in person. There are many pics mostly from Syria, which may then interest you. Tin roofs. Weak buildings. Hit by bombs. Still standing and with nothing impressive to speak of inside. Spice is a fire and forget bomb and does not need to be guided all the way, unlike your H-4s that need to be guided by a comms aircraft.

What does it mean in the end? We suck at Info war and Psy ops. And this is the only thing worth agreeing with you. But here too unlike other depts of the govt beset with inertia, there has been some improvement in improving the Info war capabilities. Unlike ISPR, we had nothing. No longer so. No there remains much ground to be covered, we atleast have made a beginning. The recent video released by the Army of artillery pounding the Infiltration aids, shows we have come some way. And rest assured, this wont be an exception but a norm going forward.

Bask in the cocoon that you are in meanwhile.

Sayaaf

It was Indo-pak confrontation when a fidayeen blew bus of CRPF personnel. There wasn't any diplomatic effort needed because whole world including UN knows Pakistan sponsors terrorism.

Infact, I will say 27 Feb and aftermath was bigger deterrent for Pakistan to carry out such acts in India than 26 Feb balakot strikes. The fear of real war hanging over bakis head (potential loss of pok as well) really shook them in their boots.

Till date Indian drones fly freely over PoK and PAF is nowhere to be seen. Is it because of Balakot or 27 feb?
Bigger Deterrent for Pakistan? Then Why India has to take drastic steps of altering the status of Kashmir and still to date carrying out the artillery strikes?

Indians are not ready for war either. It is a two street for both Pakistan and India.

Ajax01

Dont engage with the troll. Keep putting relevant info in the thread. He is here to keep putting old info and he has no knowledge at all of defence. He said the same ludicrous claims of ejection seats having parachute of their own. And didn't know Pentagon was the HQ of DoD of US

Bigger Deterrent for Pakistan? Then Why India has to take drastic steps of altering the status of Kashmir and still to date carrying out the artillery strikes?

Indians are not ready for war either. It is a two street for both Pakistan and India.
India removed article 370A what Pakistan did? Nothing only cried we took that measures because we wanted to take them Pakistan was unable to stop us.
Few days back remember we released video tape showing destruction in POK. Indians are not ready for war? Few days back some gernail of Pakistani army died because of heart attack on LOC in fear of indian artillery 😂😂 shows who is prepared or not.
And india is bigger than Pakistan have more foreign reserves have more conventional forces have more money to rapidly create new infrastructure have backing from several western countries US france Israel to name a few what Pakistani have a master China? Which stayed quite in 1999 war which was one of the first country to recognize Bangladesh.

Even in nuclear war Pakistan is smaller than india which means it will be always have much more damage than india and india have nuclear subs for second strikes.